We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kastel Hotel Motovun”
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kastel Hotel Motovun”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a privilege to stay in this medieval town,in a 17th century castle but to have all the comforts of modern day living!! We had wonderful service from all members of staff,who could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The food was wonderful too, with delicious Istrian dishes available.The whole region is full of fascinating cultural ,historical and artistic delights, with breathtaking views in abundance. Kastel Hotel is a lovely place to return to after a busy day exploring.... to relax with a swim in the lovely pool or to indulge in a spa treatment. .Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    92
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
113
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Motovun is one of those truly unbelievable spots. Since it's a small mountain in the middle of a plain, the light is incredible. And it's a beautifully picturesque medieval town on the top of a beautifully picturesque mountain, with a canal at the bottom and a trail of olive trees wending up the approach with you.

The hotel is considerably more ambivalent, though. On the one hand, our room was a bit cramped, but nicely modern with a beautiful view across the valley - in spite of the obvious flaws in the paint job and the poor lighting in the closet area. The bed was super comfortable even if the covers were inadequate, standing in contrast to the sofa which was not comfortable to sit on. The bathroom had great ventilation and fantastic hot water but the toilet barely flushed.

The service was equally variable. When we found our room, they'd been told it was our honeymoon and they'd put together a lovely display of swan towels, rose petals and sparkling red wine. The guy who drove us to Kastel hotel was about the nicest and very perceptive, managing to be exceedingly helpful in spite of us having no Croatian and him having no English. Gretchen, at the front desk, was clear and useful and it was easy to make ourselves understood to her; she had good suggestions for us. In contrast, the other two people on the front desk seemed to be distractable and hapless, when they weren't downright short with us. Our waiter was very sweet but not helpful - didn't know the food, stuck us in a back room facing an abandoned (broken?) baby's high chair instead of putting us at the available talbe in the main room, did not check on us regularly.

The food at dinner was average - there was a very nice appetizer with three meats that I liked, but my husband disliked his white-truffle-and-pork 'special' main dish so much I had to switch with him. No loss; the greaseball 'vegetable' pasta I'd gotten was far too heavy for me to eat anyway. There was a chocolate and vanilla parfait with pears in wine that was remarkably good, but then the next night we stopped in for a second round of desserts and disliked them both. Breakfast, in contrast, was very good - except for the eggs, which had about a pound of salt per serving; most of the rest was grease.

The only unmitigated good part was the wellness centre. The pool was glorious, and while it smelled of chlorine it wasn't overwhelming, more comforting in its cleanliness. The views were subtly lovely and the pool had jets! and stone pipe waterfalls! The water temperature was just right. I loved the pool, but the sauna was even better - well kept, great temperature, well laid out, exceedingly peaceful. The massage was good and very restoring after two days of walking 15 km a day.

So overall, on days where I don't need a wellness centre, I look back on this hotel with something less than fondness; on days when I do I recall Shangri-la.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Built in a Medieval hilltop castle with stunning views over the surrounding countryside. Helpful, friendly service, comfortable room. Quiet, undisturbed by any other residents. Excellent standard of food in the restaurant, at a price but worth it. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice hotel at the top of picturesque Motovun. Modern amenities include a pool in the basement of which we took advantage. The management kept the pool open late for our group. Breakfast was nice in a room toward the back of the main floor. Our room was in the front and if your window is open there is a little chatter from the outdoor restaurant seating, but it was not troublesome. The benefit is that you may hear klapa singers practicing in their 2nd floor room in the neighboring church courtyard, or even better you may hear the guys after their evening practice giving in impromptu concert under the gate facing the hotel in the dark with wine glasses in their hands and a very lucky audience. Overall, the hike up the hill is worth it. Oh, and the post office is directly in front of the hotel door, but even with three people working there, expect to spend 10 to 15 minutes getting postage for your postcard. The hotel is in the center of a 20 minute evening stroll around the wall that surrounds the village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Our room smelled like an ashtray when we entered. When we conplained and kindly requested another room the receptionist told us that the entire hotel was smokefree and fully booked, so he could not help us. Finally he gave us An airfreshner to soften the pain. During our entire stay the room smelled like a bar. We booked a room with A/C and all we got was a fan. The staff was unfriendly. Breakfast was ok (still unfriendly staff). Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The Kastel is one of those rare places that is unique. Sitting on top of a hill in Istria with amazing views all round, this place remains to be discovered by the tourist hoards. The hotel seems to be family run and the staff reflect that in their friendly service. Food is good, try the chunk of steak covered in red wine and onion sauce...delicious! Swimming pool is fun and attractive.

Only downside...there was no air con in our rooms which on a hot night made things rather sweaty!

Overall. Go! This place, both hotel and village have CHARACTER!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin2011186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ultimately, recommending this hotel - as I would - is about recommending Motovun itself, as this is really the only hotel in town. We stayed here as part of a cycling holiday (although cycling up to the town is certainly not for the faint-hearted!) and would certainly recommend it. The hotel room that we had was rather dated in decor but was reasonably sized and perfectly clean. What made the hotel great for a stay was the setting in the centre of town (but quiet) and the gardns with superb views out over the walls and over the stunning surrounding countryside. The breakfasts were very good (both in choice and quality) and the staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is well set for the choice of very good restaurants in town, we did eat in the hotel one night and the food was good and reasonably priced. Overall, a very nice hotel but the town is simply stunning - if it was in Italy it would be overrun by touists and tacky gift shops, so take advantage of its unspoiltness while you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
17.0 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
559 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
721 reviews
10.3 mi away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
231 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,309 reviews
18.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Property: Hotel Kastel
Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing