We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Kastel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kastel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the only hotel that is actually in Motovun. Considering that, I thought the price was actually quite reasonable. The service was very friendly. The room we stayed in was quite small but certainly did the job and was clean. The trip up to the hotel was a little stressful since we drove ourselves (tiny one way road up a steep hill) but we thought it just added to the experience. The views were pretty spectacular around the hotel. There really isn't much to do in Motovun other than eat but oh man can you eat! I still dream about the meal we had at Konoba Mondo. Breakfast was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    98
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
116
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hi there. We booked this to be honest by accident. We saw it was recommended in the Aer Lingus magazine and booked it thinking it was near Pula. It wasn't - it was about 60km from Pula. However it was a nice surprise when we did find it. Its up in the hills, in a beautiful village of Motovun. Very historic place. Yes we didn't have air con and yes it was hot but to be honest it was hot everywhere. The service was very good and we really couldn't complain about anything. The wi fi was good and free and the food was very good. Breakfast also was very good. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank iggyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel Kastel's situation is hard to beat - at the very top of the medieval hilltop town of Motovun and fronting the square which also acts as an outside restaurant with terrific views from the tables at the far left from the hotel door. It is a lovely town in which to walk around the walls and explore the steep cobbles down to the lower town gate.
The room that we were allocated was very large and well equipped with airconditioning, which was needed in June, and a bath and shower. The room had good views over the square. There were comprehensive shutters which nullified any noise from below.
We found the reception arrangements not particularly helpful. Each time we went to the desk there was a different member of staff on duty and there did not seem to be much continuity.
The food, served in the attractive setting was good without being special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is really fantastic. This is a three star hotel but feels like more. They are right in the center of Motovun, with a nice pool, SPA services and staff that makes a great impression. We enjoyed staying there. Call the hotel to help you get there if you have heavy bags. Decent breakfast as well, not all things were fantastic, but kept us and the kids well fed. The location is the best in Motovun. I would certainly recommend the place if you are staying in Motovun or exploring the area - there are plenty good restaurants walking distance from the hotel and if you are into truffles, this is the place to be ...
Note: Motovun might be challenging with a small portable stroller.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaxun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in June in a standard double.
We had a few problems here. The room was too hot, there was no air con and the fan provided was loud and ineffective. Having the window open meant that we were then subjected to noise from outside. For example during the night we heard an electronic beeping noise. Reversing vehicle maybe?
There were also problems with the WiFi. When mentioned to reception this was quickly sorted though. In fact staff here were very helpful and friendly.
I personally think that you could give Motovun a miss. I just didn't get it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BestTravels2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisak, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent weekend here and have only good impresions. The location is great - the view is just beautiful, the staff is excellent - helpful and always smiling, the food was delicious, pool and terrace with loungers are made for relaxation. The hotel is located on the top of the hill and we had free parking place slightly lower but the hotel provided us with luggage transport from the parking to the hotel. we experienced just the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If person is looking for a quite place, excellent food, great choice of wine, very friendly and knowledge staff this is the place where you will be coming back, always. Once you are there you will the best position to visit the rest of Istra, or you can enjoy their swimming pool and wellness facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motovun
8.3 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#2 of 3 in Buzet
58 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
765 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
151 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastel

Property: Hotel Kastel
Address: Trg Andrea Antico 7, Motovun 52424, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Motovun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Motovun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaštel is a small exclusive hotel, situated in a 17th century old palace, on the very top of ancient medieval little town Motovun, in the heart of Istria.Almost every window of this fairytale hotel gives a marvelous view of central Istria’s scenery, the Mirna River valley and the famous Motovun vineyards. From dawn to dusk, a family atmosphere and a perfect view will comfort you. A Wellness experience filled with Istria's energy, its land, herbs, aromas, and tastes. Business meetings in an incredible ambience, with relaxation or activities in nature after work. Renowned Istrian cuisine in an authentic restaurant, in a magical garden, or on terraces with Istrian scenery. Hotel Kaštel offers accommodation in 33 rooms (Standard double rooms, Superior double rooms, Exclusive double rooms with balcony, hotel Suites) and we are able to accommodate up to 70 persons, 1 self standing Apartment house "Poli Kaštela", modern, fully equipped meeting rooms for organizing incentive and recreational activities in nature… Hotel is proud on his a là cartè restaurant and his creative kitchen based on istrian traditions and Istrian specialties, and will tell you the story about Teran and Malvazija wines from famous Motovun's wine yards, olive oil, truffles from the Motovun woods, and the unique istrian beef specialties (Boškarin) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kastel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastel Hotel Motovun
Kastel Spa Motovun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing