We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Osijek
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stay in this hotel each year because of it's location. My single room is too small and very dated and the bell tower of the church next door is directly outside my window. The bell ringing is very loud. The bathroom is tiny, actually smaller than tiny. The biggest problem I have with this hotel is that there is no elevator and no one to help you drag bags up a massive curved staircase. Check in is fine and the breakfast is fine but the room is small. The internet is iffy.

However, the location on the main square can't be beat.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christmas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the station. Excellent location on the square (which is actually a triangle) with plenty bars, shops atm etc.
Breakfast is OK, but for a nice hotel 46 euro for a single room is a good deal.

The train station deserves a review of it's own really, enough to say here that it's an eyeopener when you're used to the UK, stand behind the yellow line etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had two rooms in the Hotel Central, Osijek: one was a single room for my father; the other was a triple room for my two daughters and me. The triple room was possibly the best-located room in a very well-located hotel. The room looked out onto the main square in Osijek. Considering the location of the hotel and the overall quality of the comfortable and well-appointed bedrooms, it is surprising that the hotel is rated only as two-star. The breakfast was of a good standard; fried eggs and scrambled eggs were available as well as the usual continental fare. The car park is behind the hotel and is a little difficult to find. Once parked, however, the city can then be explored by foot. All the main sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel. Osijek is a lovely city. People usually think of Dubrovnik and the Dalmatian Coast when they think of Croatia as a holiday destination, but the Osijek area is also very interesting and the city itself, with the majestic River Drava, is lovely. I recommend a visit to Osijek and I recommend the Hotel Central for a stay right in the very centre of this charming city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelandmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is ** , but considering the staff´s friendliness, the great location and really spacy, rather vast rooms, the hotel can only be recommended for a visit to Osijek.
The berakfast is acceptable, the rooms are clean, the staff inviting just as the perfect location
for spending a prolonged weekend in town.
A reservation via internet is absolutely no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TintiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stay in this hotel every now and then. It's a beautiful old building facing the main square in Osijek (so it's the best location there is!), a very modest and simple hotel that wasn't renovated in...centuries ;) But the staff makes up for all no-luxury... Helpful, kind, informative about what's going on in the town... Real professionals. There is a small library at the reception with english books, etc. They are really trying...better service than in many 4 or 5 stars hotels...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

As there were no reviews on T/A regarding this hotel we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was huge, with an adjoining lounge area. The bathroom also very big. It was in the central town square overlooking a lovely fountain which lit up at night. We had some problems trying to find their car park which was at the rear of the hotel, due to one way streets.
Breakfast was very adequate in a pleasant dining room.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobozek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osijek
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osijek
Hotel Osijek
#1 of 4 in Osijek
140 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Lug
Hotel Lug
#1 of 1 in Bilje
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Drava
#3 of 4 in Osijek
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Guesthouse Maksimilian
Guesthouse Maksimilian
#1 of 23 in Osijek
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Guest House Talas
Guest House Talas
#14 of 23 in Osijek
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Silver
Hotel Silver
#7 of 23 in Osijek
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Trg Ante Starchevica 6, Osijek 31000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Slavonia > Osijek-Baranja County > Osijek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Osijek
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location, friendly staff, the charm and cosines of the hotel is just some of the things which this hotel can offer. Visit Osijek, it will be one unforgettable journey. Cultural treasure, charm of Slavonian plane, flora and fauna, gastronomic delights, warmth and kindness of domestic people will put mark to your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing