We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Slavonian dishes at reasonable prices”
Review of Slavonska KuCa

Slavonska KuCa
Ranked #10 of 42 Restaurants in Osijek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Typical Slavonian dishes at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Been to "Slavonska kuća" twice and really liked the Čobanac (Gulash) and Fish Paprikaš (Typical Slavonian dish-a type of spicy fish stew). Great location within the Osijek's old city walls with traditional Slavonian interior design. Pleasant service and affordable prices. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Filip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Legnano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really typical”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This restaurant, situated in Osijek old quarter, is a good example of typical cuisine of Croatian region of Slavonia. The atmosphere is very nice and most of the clients were locals, which is a good sign. The waitress could barely speak some German, but we managed to understand each other. She offered just 2 fish and 2 meat alternatives, and we went for a beef stew with gnocchi and cheese. The dish was very good and we really enjoyed it. The only minus has been the wine who wasn't the best for us. Nevertheless we enjoyed our dinner and also the bill was acceptable. Really a place to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ziopelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osijek, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good cobanac and wine of the house”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Cobanac (Sheperd's stew) was good, even if it could have been a little hotter for my taste. Red wine, while a bit too strong, complemented the dish perfectly. The waiters were attentive, but did not disturb us during the meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Typical Slavonian Cooking”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Located in the wonderful Fortress area of Osijek this unpretentious restaurant provides typical dishes of the region. Substantial sopska salad, perkelt (venison stew, or with catfish if preferred) served with homemade pasta topped with a mild cheese are very popular. Inexpensive, it is not a large restaurant, and as it is frequented often by locals, time your visit for early evening to get a table.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Traditional Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon and wished to try the fis parikas (spicy fish stew), famous in the region. We wanted to try a few more things, but are told that at this time, (almost 3pm), they only make two portions, not one, especially for us and will take around an hour. Well, we ordered 2, waiter and were not disappointed. The river fish is tender, fresh and very fatty. The pot is huge and come with noodles. The fish, the soup and noodles are exremely filling. We didn't know the bread was charged separately (although it's only 4kn).

Service is great. Although there is no English menu, the staff are friendly and helped to introduce their specialties.

The restaurant is small and cozy and its like an antique shop with all the treasures, which is fun to check out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariayAdley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slavonska KuCa also viewed

Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
 
Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
 
Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
Osijek, Osijek-Baranja County
 

Been to Slavonska KuCa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing