We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Osijek, wonderful Waldinger!”
Review of Hotel Waldinger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Waldinger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Osijek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

You probably won't get any better value in all of Europe, particularly for this type of opulence. We stayed in a suite for one night - pity we couldn't stay for longer!
Staff were kind and helpful. The suite was huge and contained a fantastic bathtub - if only we fully understood how to operate it! Breakfast was scrumptious and the room it was held in was incredibly ornate - I felt like royalty!
The only negatives were;
a/ our T/V wouldn't operate
b/ parking was a little precarious - we had to go up and down the main street a few times before we realised you need to enter the establishment through a set of pillars that create a rather narrow entrance
All in all, a lovely hotel in a clean and tidy town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieCatAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

Definitely recommended to everyone staying in Osijek, very cosy old building in the centre, nicely decorated. Beware of room 108, it's next to the dining room and noisy from 5,30 am.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Hotel Waldinger is a fine, small hotel located in the heart of Osijek. Because it is on the edge of the pedestrian area, it is a little difficult to find if you are driving, but it has convenient, gated parking when you do. (We were guided by a local we stopped, who hopped into our car and pointed the way since we didn’t speak Croatian.)

Rooms and common areas are well appointed. Our room was quite quiet, even though it faced the street in front of the hotel. Breakfast was robust, with a wide selection of choices. We were told that the hotel’s restaurant, which is just across the parking area, was the best in town. Indeed, it was superb, serving one of the finest beef steaks I have had anywhere in the world.

I recommend the Waldinger to any business or leisure visitor to Osijek.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank tulkas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank SpadeST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorana S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Waldinger, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janez1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vladimir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osijek
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osijek
Hotel Osijek
#1 of 4 in Osijek
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#4 of 4 in Osijek
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Drava
#3 of 4 in Osijek
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Lug
Hotel Lug
#1 of 1 in Bilje
29 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Lenije
Hotel Villa Lenije
#1 of 6 in Vinkovci
16 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Lav Vukovar
Hotel Lav Vukovar
#1 of 2 in Vukovar
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldinger

Address: Zupanijska Ulica 8, Osijek 31000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Slavonia > Osijek-Baranja County > Osijek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Osijek
Price Range: £77 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldinger 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Waldinger**** is a first 4 star hotel in Osijek and surroundings. Hotel is established on 2004. As a small business and city hotel in the center of Osijek city. Centenary building of the hotel is one of the most beautiful art nouveau buildings in Osijek and also a protected monument of Republic of Croatia. Hotel is named after the famous painter Adolf Ignjo Waldinger. Hotel Waldinger**** setting high standards in the hospitality industry which were recognized by many institutions that reward hotel with numerous awards for excellence and quality: 2010., 2011., 2012. And 2013. Hotel Waldinger'' awarded by '' The Tourism Flower - Quality for Croatia'' for the second Place in the category of small and family continental hotels 2010., 2011., 2012. Hotel Waldinger awarded with Diploma with a gold plaque at Novi Sad Fair for high standards in the hospitality industry 2009., 2012., 2011., 2012. Restaurant Club Waldinger listed among the 100 best restaurants in the choice of Good Restaurants of Jutarnji List, and 2013. Announced as the best restaurant in Slavonia and Podunavlje region But the real crowning glory came in 2008. When the Waldinger hotel voted as the best small hotel on the continent in the world under the Trade Leaders' Club. Received award International Tourism Trophy is an international award for excellence in tourism, hospitality and catering industry. As a part of the Hotel Waldinger there is multipurpose hall equipped with all technical equipment (laptop, projector, projection screen, flip chart, microphones and sound, wi-fi) which is suitable for organization of different workshops, seminars, presentations same as different banquets and celebrations. Also, there is two restaurants, Restaurant Club Waldinger which is, in a last few years, one of 100 best restaurants in Croatia and for 2013. The best restaurant in a Slavonia and Podunavlje county and national restaurant Gradski podrum which offers wide range of traditional Slavonian meals. In every day's offer of the restaurants there are daily menu's with very attractive price (6,5 up to 10 €) but also respectable offer a la carte menu's. Cafe Waldinger is also part of the Hotel. Cafe Waldinger is designed as a classical Wien's cafe and it has become a synonym for socializing with coffee and excellent daily fresh pastries from our own production. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Waldinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing