We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Campsite”
Review of Camping Korana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Korana
Certificate of Excellence
St louis, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campsite”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Korana Camping in September this year mainly because we were visiting Plitvice Lakes (as was everyone else on the campsite). At 25 Euros a night (camping car and 2 people) it is affordable. It is also huge. The toilets were clean and the showers really great!

We took the shuttle bus to and from the campsite to Plitvice - leaving at 9am and coming back at 5pm - we had to hang around a bit for the bus coming back; would have been nice to have one a bit earlier too but we cannot really complain.

Our plan was to cycle to the lakes but the lady at information advised us not to as the road is quite dangerous because of all the traffic and there is no cycle path. After seeing said road from the bus I am SO glad we did not cycle it!!! It is very steep, there is no room for bikes really and there is a LOT of traffic.

We ate in the restaurant on the last night we were there and I have to say it was pretty poor. I was really disappointed. Even the wine was average and Croatia makes some fantastic wine! I found it was expensive for the quality of the food and wine!

On our last planned day we wanted to go down to the river and have a picnic but when I asked how to get there the lady at the information desk looked confused then told me that there is no water in the river. Now I was confused; I thought that the definition of a river means that there has to be water.....but true enough there is no water in the Korana river at the campsite. There is also no water in the Korana canyon - we cycled about 5km to find it to discover it was as dry as a bone!!! Perhaps the website should not mention that the campsite is on the river, because a river without water is not really of interest!! Also on the website they say that entrance 1 of Plitvice is only 6km away from the campsite but it is definitely more like 8 or 9 km.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    85
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Wide camping very quiet and very very clean! Price abtenda 5€ for 2 persons with tent. Wifi only in market area.Satisfied!

ITA
Ideale.per visitare i laghi prezzo 25€ 2.persone con tenda bagni pulitissimi campeggio ampio e tranquillo! Consigliato

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepivels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This camping is located near to Plitvicka Jezera, in the middle of a nice valley, so it was a really good place to stay. The stuff was ok, prices were affordable, the bathrooms very always clean, the only thing that we had problem with, was the checking-out. Check-out time is until 11 am., we went there at 10 am and a huge line waited us, it took 30 minutes to leave the camping... So, if someone goes there, it's better to go as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofaguntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wow. There are not enough words to describe this campsite, it is an open plan set up with dips, Hills, trees.... Basically you enter then drive through and choose your own pitch, we found a fantastic little area where we had 4 big trees for shade, space for the car at the front of the tent, and 5 metres from the the power supply. (which are numerous and located everywhere on the camp) The facilities are top notch, supermarket prices are also very good, we had all of our own equipment for making our own food, but we used both the Grill and the Restaurant, both of them being tasty, yet nothing special. But, nice for a change. The restaurant had a duo playing live music... i think the mans specialty was John Lennon.... a little inventive with the words, but good none the less.

The Camp was more than safe for my 5 year old to even learn to ride his bike properly with all campers, cars etc respecting the speed limits....

Location is perfect, there is a free bus from the park to the Lakes every day leaving at 9am and returning at 1630-1700.

All in all, really, really happy to have found this camp.. We will return again some day!

Room Tip: Top Tip. Dont buy wine in the restaurant. Stick to the beer! :-) The same 1L bottle of wine in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernistItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed one night but I wish it would have been more! It's a very nice camp sight with its little hills and hollows and many trees which were very useful in august. The atmosphere is very calm, no noisy parties just mainly families and young nature loving people. Facilities are very good:restaurant, supermarket, souvenir shop, grill place many showers and toilets. Everything was very clean and enough for that amount of people in the high season.
Only negative thing is the check out: there was a huge line of people trying to do the payment around 10am and only two receptionist were working! It took us 40 minutes to get through it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoltan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very nice and quiet place to stay if you want to visit Plitvice Lakes.
It has a large meadow where you can put your tent and have beautiful views on the valley.
You have also places to eat your own food or if you want to have your food coked at the camp restaurant . You have also a shop and an exchange office.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalexion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The camping area is beautiful and surprisingly vast. Even in July's peak period, we could camp infront of the Woods, 30 meters from the next closest guests. The area is so large that you need to make sure you're not too far from the facilities (though there are 4 spread across the site). A marvellous place to let children go around with their bikes.
The free wifi covers only the area around the restaurant and the bar.

The address we got and set in hte navigation system actually drove us to a nearby village, while the right route arriving from South would have been straight through Plitvicka

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeOnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plitvice Lakes National Park
1.7 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.8 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bungalows at Campsite Korana
Bungalows at Campsite Korana
#13 of 57 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101.2 mi away
Polidor Camping Park
Polidor Camping Park
#1 of 8 in Funtana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
House Tina
House Tina
#1 of 14 in Grabovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rene House
Rene House
#4 of 14 in Grabovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Korana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Korana

Property: Camping Korana
Address: Catrnja bb, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing