We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairly ‘ordinary’ hotel, but the location is amazing”
Review of Hotel Jezero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jezero
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently had a two-day stay at the Hotel Jezero as part of a bus tour of Croatia. The staff members were polite and efficient, and the room was clean and comfortable. There is a well-stocked souvenir shop within the complex, as well as an ATM. Being in such a great location, the hotel is a popular place for groups travelling by bus, and breakfasts and dinners are included as part of the package. There is a large dining area for the groups and a fixed menu was served for dinner on both nights. The food served was fairly typical of ‘large quantity cooking’. The breakfast offerings were adequate. Considering the volume of people staying at the hotel, things ran smoothly and good service was provided by the employees. I would recommend visiting in May or the ‘quieter months’, as the National Park would be an extremely busy place in high season. The location of this hotel is perfect for ‘escaping reality’. It was lovely to be so close to the lakes and to enjoy the stunning scenery and cool, fresh air. Plitvice Lakes National Park is certainly a spectacular place and definitely one to have on the ‘bucket list’!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill3216_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is brilliant for access to the Plitvice Lakes, which lets face it, is why people come here. You get the feeling they know this and that they therefore have a 'captive audience' so to speak. The rooms are very dated and basic and we found the dining room was not much better, catering for the masses, rather than trying to impress.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went in with low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. Pulling up to the hotel, it actually looks more modern than expected. Yes, there are tour groups milling around, but you are at a tourist attraction in the middle of nowhere. It's to be expected.

Front desk was helpful, but a bit slow at both check-in and check-out. We waited for them to copy our passport information because we didn't want to leave them at the front desk while we went to unpack. The staff seemed a bit put out that they had to immediately process the tourist registration.

The hotel is a number of rectangular buildings connected together, so there are several wings. we were on Level 4 in building C. Elevators weren't immediately apparent, so we hoofed it up two flights of stairs only to find out that, had we walked even further down the hallway, a second stairway also provided access to an elevator.

Room was adequate. We were impressed with the storage - a large wardrobe with some shelving, a piece of furniture good for storing an open suitcase, and a large spot in the entryway for hanging clothes and storing luggage. The bedspread and sheets were institutional but clean. Bathroom was small, and there wasn't a lot of counter space for items. And yes, the shower floods the entire bathroom floor, no matter how careful you are. The balcony provided nice views of trees.

The bar was filled with institutional furniture, but it was all functional. If there isn't a line, place your order, as a tour group returning from the lakes could descend upon the bar at any point in time . . . and then it's a free-for-all, elbowing your way to the front to place your order.

A la carte dinner was in what felt like a meeting room. We got the three-meat and veggie platter and everything was tasty. The pancakes (crepes) for dessert were good.

We didn't make it up late enough for the "nightclub" but it looked like yet another meeting room with a built-in bar and dance floor. When you're in a remote location, you work with what you have!

The property also features a gift shop and an ATM machine.

We were expecting a much more depressing, more communistic-looking facility. Sure, it could use an update, but it was fine for our overnight stay. The rooms are clean, the doors lock and they have food and drink. And the beautiful natural surroundings more than make up for it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fo-n-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ended up staying here due to an issue with our original hotel booking. We were not impressed as we were meant to be staying at a small boutique hotel. However, we really had no choice, so we had to make the most of it. This hotel is full of tour groups. The hotel is in serious need of an update, the breakfast was terrible, the dining room was like a school cafeteria. There is no charm whatsoever. It is in a great location though. It was OK for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in the best location to see the lakes. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. Rooms were adequate. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent. And food at restaurant was very good. Very good value for the money. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Less than expected for the price paid
Poor breakfast.
Aging equipment and rooms
location very good
Friendly staff
Good a la carte restaurant for dinner
Visited with family
A fair deal only if the price have been lower

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Avihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

No doubt if you are staying here you'll be visiting the Plitvice Lakes, which are stunning and well worth seeing. This hotel is the closest you'll get to staying near entrance 2 and therefore I will try to be objective with my review.

This is not a private hotel but Government run. That said, the management team were very helpful with issues that we had during our stay.

We had taken the coach from Zagreb and there was much confusion on where we should get off. There are bus stops on either side of the road, a short walk from car park 2. Look for the sign showing the direction of the hotel, situated on the opposite side of the road (if coming from Zagreb, or same side of the road and in front of bus stop if coming from opposite direction). We actually missed this sign as the coach was obscuring our view plus it was raining heavily. It is about a 500m walk along the busy main road (walking downhill) but we found the traffic to be mindful of our plight. Take a left turn to the hotel and walk through the car park until you reach the hotel entrance.

Our first impressions were not great.

As previous reviewers have already mentioned, this hotel caters for large coach parties staying overnight and it looked as if these formed a large percentage of the guests. Therefore don't arrive expecting 5* luxury or peace and quiet.

I will now try to cover major points:

Rooms - basic with very badly positioned showers over the bath. The chances are that you will leave a wet floor every time you use it. Water was hot however. Plenty of cupboard space but lacking in electric points. Only the top floor on the lake side had balconies.

Bedding - definitely not Egyptian cotton and the pillows leave a lot to be desired. Bring your own if it's important to you. I wish I had done so.

Breakfast - Adequate but not terribly inspiring. You may want to take your own tea bag however as we found theirs to be very weak. A buffet service and if you arrive after 8 am there is more chance it will be after the coach parties have left.

Dinner - as with breakfast, this is taken on the lower floor in main dining area. This area is divided in the evening. One part for the coach parties and a smaller part for the independent travellers eating from the a la carte menu. There is a wide choice available at reasonable prices and the food was better than we had expected. Arrive after 7.45pm for a better service.

Reception - not particularly helpful on arrival but on the whole this improved during our stay. I guess that they have such a large turnover of guests that they forget about customer service!

Facilities - they do have a fitness room, a sauna, a small pool and massage facilities on the same floor as the dining area. In addition they have a separate building close by housing table tennis, snooker and ten pin bowling. None of these are promoted by the hotel which is a shame.

To sum up - this is the closest hotel to entrance 2 but there are definite areas for improvement. Enjoy what you came to see as it's the star attraction.

Room Tip: Room 206 is on the top floor and has a view of the lake. From what we could see, most of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOL150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
578 reviews
6.3 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
342 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#7 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
136 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tourist Centar Marko
Tourist Centar Marko
#8 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jezero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jezero

Address: Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jezero 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jezero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jezero Hotel
Hotel Jezero Plitvice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing