We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Jezero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jezero
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in the middle of the forest. ....it is rated as a 3 star hotel....so it is what it is....no a/c....super small showers....basic room....but it is what you would expect for a 3 star hotel......I prefer nicer but came here on a tour group...no choice! Very close for seeing the nearby waterfalls.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank miked3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    294
    353
    87
    35
See reviews for
148
365
74
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here in June as part of an Insight bus trip.

The stay was only for one night..

This large modest hotel was built during the communist ers and the hotel building and drab colour scheme refects that era. Nevertheless the hotel offers comfortable rooms with ours on the ground floor having a small balcony with nice parkland views.

There is no air con but it was not required and the sliding door to the balcony can be left open if you need a bit more air. There were no mosquitos when we stayed here.

There is a small fridge and mini bar. Our room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable. The tv was good. We had a small sofa and a chair in our room. Unfortunately there was no safe in the room which I think most travellers will find disappointing especially bus travellers with air tickets, credit cards and passports etc.

Our bathroom, whilst basic satisfied all our needs and the water was nice and hot. Unfortunately only one roll of toilet paper supplied and no tissues.

At night we had a set three course dinner (baked trout, fish soup,salad, hazelnut cake for desert and tea or coffee. A filling meal, but not inspiring, think 6/10). Our dinner was in the basement area which is where the big tourist dining room is - there must have been 300-350 people being fed so I guess the food was reasonable considering the large amount of hungry tourists having to be fed all at once. The waiters were good and working flat out.

Breakfast was the same, ok and buffet and fairly basic but acceptable choices, but enough to fill you, think 5.5/10

We found the staff friendly and helpful. Many tour groups stay here to visit the beautiful National park and on our night there were at least eight bus loads of travellers so its a busy hotel.

Because of the location I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for bells and whistles, this is not the hotel for you. As our brilliant guide explained: "It's a state property. They tend to overlook the updating." We didn't expect much, but really, the hotel is IN the National Park. Our room was clean, with a working bathroom with a hair dryer, and when we opened the window we could hear the roar of the falls. How cool is that?? We actually arrived at our hotel via a boat and climbed the stairs (slowly- I was with my Mum) to the hotel at the top.
The breakfast buffet is good, and offers something for everyone. You really don't come here for the hotel. You come here for the outstanding Plitvicka which surrounds you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently had a two-day stay at the Hotel Jezero as part of a bus tour of Croatia. The staff members were polite and efficient, and the room was clean and comfortable. There is a well-stocked souvenir shop within the complex, as well as an ATM. Being in such a great location, the hotel is a popular place for groups travelling by bus, and breakfasts and dinners are included as part of the package. There is a large dining area for the groups and a fixed menu was served for dinner on both nights. The food served was fairly typical of ‘large quantity cooking’. The breakfast offerings were adequate. Considering the volume of people staying at the hotel, things ran smoothly and good service was provided by the employees. I would recommend visiting in May or the ‘quieter months’, as the National Park would be an extremely busy place in high season. The location of this hotel is perfect for ‘escaping reality’. It was lovely to be so close to the lakes and to enjoy the stunning scenery and cool, fresh air. Plitvice Lakes National Park is certainly a spectacular place and definitely one to have on the ‘bucket list’!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill3216_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is brilliant for access to the Plitvice Lakes, which lets face it, is why people come here. You get the feeling they know this and that they therefore have a 'captive audience' so to speak. The rooms are very dated and basic and we found the dining room was not much better, catering for the masses, rather than trying to impress.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went in with low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. Pulling up to the hotel, it actually looks more modern than expected. Yes, there are tour groups milling around, but you are at a tourist attraction in the middle of nowhere. It's to be expected.

Front desk was helpful, but a bit slow at both check-in and check-out. We waited for them to copy our passport information because we didn't want to leave them at the front desk while we went to unpack. The staff seemed a bit put out that they had to immediately process the tourist registration.

The hotel is a number of rectangular buildings connected together, so there are several wings. we were on Level 4 in building C. Elevators weren't immediately apparent, so we hoofed it up two flights of stairs only to find out that, had we walked even further down the hallway, a second stairway also provided access to an elevator.

Room was adequate. We were impressed with the storage - a large wardrobe with some shelving, a piece of furniture good for storing an open suitcase, and a large spot in the entryway for hanging clothes and storing luggage. The bedspread and sheets were institutional but clean. Bathroom was small, and there wasn't a lot of counter space for items. And yes, the shower floods the entire bathroom floor, no matter how careful you are. The balcony provided nice views of trees.

The bar was filled with institutional furniture, but it was all functional. If there isn't a line, place your order, as a tour group returning from the lakes could descend upon the bar at any point in time . . . and then it's a free-for-all, elbowing your way to the front to place your order.

A la carte dinner was in what felt like a meeting room. We got the three-meat and veggie platter and everything was tasty. The pancakes (crepes) for dessert were good.

We didn't make it up late enough for the "nightclub" but it looked like yet another meeting room with a built-in bar and dance floor. When you're in a remote location, you work with what you have!

The property also features a gift shop and an ATM machine.

We were expecting a much more depressing, more communistic-looking facility. Sure, it could use an update, but it was fine for our overnight stay. The rooms are clean, the doors lock and they have food and drink. And the beautiful natural surroundings more than make up for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fo-n-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ended up staying here due to an issue with our original hotel booking. We were not impressed as we were meant to be staying at a small boutique hotel. However, we really had no choice, so we had to make the most of it. This hotel is full of tour groups. The hotel is in serious need of an update, the breakfast was terrible, the dining room was like a school cafeteria. There is no charm whatsoever. It is in a great location though. It was OK for one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
537 reviews
6.3 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
292 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Lika
Villa Lika
#3 of 101 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jezero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jezero

Property: Hotel Jezero
Address: Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jezero 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jezero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jezero Hotel
Hotel Jezero Plitvice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing