We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE”
Review of Villa Mukinja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mukinja
Reviewed 2 October 2012

For once, a place that wanted us because thats their job. Unlike so many where its just money and what do you want for £xxx a night.
No fuss, no rush,,yet everything happens when it should. You ask for the hot tub,,he say's just a minute and thats it,,a minute,,not an hour later when he can be bothered like so many places.
The place is'nt littered with rules like GB hotels. Your expected to use your brains. Most refreshing.

The food is more than ample and we eat a lot. Its a meat eaters dream,, NOT 2 ozs of meat and then loaded up with rabbit food like so many places.
Cleanliness was NOT a problem. Loo's,,rooms,,restaurant,,hot tub,,sauna,,CLEAN!

Helpfull,,,100% amazing,,,my CF card reader broke first day,,(grr),,next day a new one WITH THE RECIEPT,,no top up,,no charge!!!! The guy travelled miles to get this for me.

No bull feather excuses,,if it was wrong,,it was fixed ,,PROMPLY!

The place is right in a World Heritage park. For three days we did'nt touch the car. Thats worth a fortune in petrol and parking.
Night life is "zero" but I would doubt if you could boogey the night away after walking countless miles of the most stunning countryside in Europe.

If your the type that whines at every little thing and want to snap your fingers and say,,"hey waiter", then maybe give this place a wide berth.
Bottom line,,I wish there were more places that had the quiet, easy feeling of this place.

If you travel, down the D1 (Zagreb airport,Kovalack) you travel though Slunj (grand Slunj),,there is a bridge. Over the bridge, go right. Amazing little spot. Great cafes and VERY pretty.

If your driving,,,keep to the speed limits. Its easy to go quick and the coppers are everywhere.
50 kph through the villages.

Make sure you have a DETAILED map of the area.
If you travel the D1,,,from Slunj go about 15 km there is a large bridge,,from the bridge Mukinje is about 5 k's up the mountain,(go slow)..look for a large dark wooden bus shelter,,,Mukinje is there on the right. Keep right at a fork. Travel round and look for a small busted little road on your left that takes you to a car park. Your there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed for an overnight at Villa Mukinja and found the property clean and location convenient to the Plitvice Lakes. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for how to best appreciate the park, also with directions for our next destination.

The meals were very good, the trout delicious and the local ham was a highpoint. We would recommend the property to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdskolars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I came very late at about 9pm and guess what. They were waiting for us to cook our dinner??? Lovely feeling when you had a long journey and someone really looking upon your arrival.

Went to the tavern and smelled like every where is grilled fish but still the feeling is very personal with the lady staff being nice And cheerful. Boss was nice and willing to communicate with all the guests.

After being introduced to our room, guess what? Small toilet, rough bed sheets, floor feels dirty. bugs flying in the room and balcony as there is no air cond, and you definitely need the window opened.

The feeling of home became a contradict of what priced I paid for and the commercial instinct camed in. Arh.. Try this if you like the personal touch. Cheers

Lastly slightly far off although we drove.

Room Tip: Choose Lower floor as no elevator No tv on the highest room. Not sure about the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jervis_shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

There are many mixed reviews about Hotel Mukinja - ours was awful. We were not shown or told about the sauna or hot tub (we didnt use them), the room had no air con or fan, the TV didnt work either. When we mentioned this we got told 'the guests always mess with it and I am no good with technology!' The food is average at best and the breakfast did not include the local 'porridge' and the local apperitif was only offered on one night. (Even though this is half board there is no dessert or coffee). The park is about 25 mins walk away and on the way back it is a steep incline. Hugely, hugely over priced - we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahSh695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

When visiting the Plitivce lakes, we stayed at Villa Mukinja for two nights.

We had trouble finding the place initially. I am under the impression the GPS-information on booking;com does not correspond to reality.

Considering this is a B&B, the rooms were OK. Rooms are basic, bathrooms are rahter small... but you get by... it would not be fair to compare this to a 4-star hotel. Rooms do not have AC, but they were surprisingly cool considering the outside temerature and hot weather!

Dinner is fresh (to say the least). The cook goes to the market in the morning, you get to choose your dinner.

The staff is very friendly, but be aware.
Although the euro has not been introduced as an official currency in Croatia yet, staff mingles prices in Kuna and Euro at will. We thought the price of the wines were in Kuna, turns out they were in Euro. Quite a difference, and this made the win (25euro / bottle) way to expensive.

Overall: a good stay. I would stay at another B&B next time: I am sure there are some far less expensive some kilometers down the road (further away from the national Park)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidierF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first time staying in a Sobe (like a bed and breakfast) in Croatia.

The staff have excellent English and German, are very friendly and helpful.

The board includes breakfast AND dinner.

Whilst not haute cuisine, it was great solid home cooked meals and plenty of it.

It is located close to one of Plitvice park entrances. You walk there via a local supermarket where you can stock up on picnic items for lunch in Plitvice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redshoes3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Staff (apart from young girl) was aloof and not overly friendly. Given it is a "homestay" and not really a hotel it would have been nice for the staff/owner to be a little friendly..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
7.0 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
342 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#7 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
347 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tourist Centar Marko
Tourist Centar Marko
#8 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mukinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mukinja

Address: Mukinje 47, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53230, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range: £88 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mukinja 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Plitvice lakes-the most beautiful natural park! Villa Mukinja is private mansion, with the best offer and service in this area. Villa Mukinja offers high accomodation quality, cuisine locale and relaxation in the Finnish sauna. Enjoy the real nature, visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Mukinja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mukinja Hotel Plitvice Lakes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing