We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good site, bit limited on activities and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Resort Lanterna
Ranked #1 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Porec
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good site, bit limited on activities and food”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights in a Eurocamp caravan.

The site was OK - clean and child friendly. There are a couple of supermarkets, one is far more stocked than the other and has a full butchers and bakers. There are a couple of bars by the pools and a large one by the entrance, which is right at one end of a very large site.

There were a number of places to get hot food - the bakery huts sold excelled bread and pastries, but the pizza restaurant was pretty low quality tourist food. The restaurant overlooking the sea was better, but still fairly average.

The kids pool is about 1 metre deep and a decent size and there is a second pool about 30cm deep with slides and stuff to sit on. Both were clean, sometimes crowded and other times OK. They were a bit on the cold side and a bit too chilly on the days that weren't really hot. The main pool is salt water, which neither us or the kids enjoyed as it stung their eyes and was also a bit too cold.

There are several kids playgrounds and we had a good game of mini golf, though inexplicably I only came second.

The Eurocamp caravan was OK, though 11 days with children and no TV ended up being a bit hard going. Despite it being cramped we managed OK - there is lots of storage space, big fridge, decent cooker and plenty of pans and utensils. You can park next to the caravan and there was plenty of space in front to play ball games. It came with a good BBQ and a decking balcony and 2 sun loungers too, so you could entertain yourselves there.

All in all, a reasonable place to stay, but with little in walking distance from the site, we found it would be better for a few days rather than a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy_WFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingLanterna, Manager at Camping Resort Lanterna, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of Camping Lanterna we would like to thank you very much for staying in our camping . We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.
Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings

Camping Lanterna Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    148
    48
    34
    11
See reviews for
223
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in a mobile home with Eurocamp - situated in a quiet area near the childrens pool. The campsite is huge, but we walked it ok with a 5 year old, a 3 year old, Daddy's shoulders and a stroller between us! Most places were a 15 min walk so not too bad - but it was on a hill so harder going back up in 35 degrees :)

The reception area has all of the more tacky stuff and due to being a Wi-Fi area, is always busy - we arrived at night and were put off by this, but it is actually fine elsewhere. The site caters amazingly well for the number of people - there are little bakeries scattered around, 3 restaurants, a couple of take away fast food places and 3 supermarkets. It really was well thought out.

The kids pool is fresh water and away from the sea, with a slide and several shallow pools and one deeper one - has a bar/fast food area and a nice grassy area with a small park. It was very pleasant and had everything you needed, including lovely fair value ice creams (on a cone with many flavours to choose), but was crowded and the deeper pool was over run with teens playing ball. But, it was august so nearly full, and still, it was ok. Near this area, was a nice enough play park.

The larger pool down by the sea front was sea water but nice, with a bar/fast food outlet and walls ice creams/lollies at twice the price! It also had a small kids pool and was again, fun to spend time there - certainly less riotous than other one!

The beach was ok - we were disappointed in the sea clearness on the actual beach as it kicked up mud/sand and being in the "pointed" end, it was not as idealic as other places. Our favourite beach was where you get the trip to Novigrad - by the sports centre and apartments lantern - here, the sea was very clear and it was just much nicer. All stones/pebbles so crocs a must.

The boat trip to Novigrad was worthwhile, as would be the one to Porec, but we stayed in Porec so didn't actually do it - but town definitely worth a visit - Novigrad is a VERY small version of it.

We also caught the land train which goes in a loop and it was interesting to do - certainly fun for kids, and an easy way to get to the further places.

Overall, the campsite was very well equipped and run, especially considering how large it is - the main pointer would be position - look into where you'd be staying as it really makes a difference. You could be on a "main" road through the site, or next to the loud entertainment, looking at the sea, or in a woody part - it really varies so much within the camp.

We actually booked through Eurocamp and don't have any complaints - the mobile homes are a little tired, but bound to be the same with whatever company - they do have some "new" Istrian homes (Olivia?) which are booked directly with campsite - Valamar, and they did look lovely. Else Roan looked very nice.

If you were bringing your own tent, the ground is very hard sand/mud and a bit stony - certainly not grassy so be prepared! Again, pitch size and position varied dramatically - do your homework.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingLanterna, Manager at Camping Resort Lanterna, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Camping Lanterna, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our camping.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our camping.
Thank you for your valuable review, with detailed information about your experience with us.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

We are looking forward to see you again and untill then, we are sending you lots of greetings from Camping Lanterna!

Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Camping Lanterna is an absolute gem in Croatia waiting to be found. A fantastic camp site with all the facilities you need, everything was super clean and tidy, a wide varity of food available including fresh bread and crossaints every morning (amazing). The price of food and drinks are expensive though not to bad considering what they offer. There are supermarkets where you can buy fresh meat for BBQing, fresh salad so eating out is not necessary. Two big pool area's, one specifically for children, which is quite a walk from the beach.
Our caravan pitch was about 20 strides from the sea, an excellent pitch which we have booked again in 4 weeks and again for next year.
The pitches are a little difficult to get onto, especially if you dont have a motor mover, but when we came and when we left we had offers of help from people walking by, which was great.
We were also in main season so the site was very busy though this was no problem for us, We had our pitch on the A side, which is quieter but a good walk from the main area and kids pool though it was a nice walk. The kids activities/club were a little poor (our kids 4 and 10) though there is one for older kids, maybe that one is better.

every morning people are running and cycling around the camp site, which is safe and relatively flat, Porec center not to far away either.

Our only gripe was that WiFi was a bit naff, its good in certain places but for us we needed to walk quite a distance to get it.

It was our first real caravan holiday apart from weekend trips and we loved it.
We would recommend it all day long...Superb!

Room Tip: A pitches w think are the best though you need to walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Resort Lanterna, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our camping.
Thank you for your valuable review, with detailed information about your experience with us.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

We are looking forward to see you again and untill then, we are sending you lots of greetings from Camping Lanterna!
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brum
Level Contributor
351 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were on a mini one week break and decide to spend time in Italy and realise Croatia is not that far...so we booked with Eurocamp and stay at Camp Lanterna and is one of the most biggest camp park I have ever seen.
The beach is nearby and had swimming poool, Restaurant, Bank Post office, own bakery,
information centre that happy to help with route and maps
Internet and many shops around even cafe and supermarket bikes hire and many sport equipment hire.
Everythings is on site.
More importantly the shower and toilet is extremely clean and lots of sink to do your washing up and it is very clean. The shower was power shower. Even had hairdryer provided.
Excellent campsite....Really very good and recommend it. We arrived nearly 11pm but they were there to let us in when they should have been closed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Eurocamp ready made tent on site with everythings we need inside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HungaryHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Resort Lanterna, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We can only say THANK YOU for this fabulous review.
We are glad that you intrusted us with your mini one week break and it makes us proud to read that you enjoyed yourself in our camping, that you liked the food offer and other amenities. We try really hard to provide as much as possible to our guests, because when our guests are happy, we are happy.

We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.
Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed a weeks holiday staying with company Roan in one of their new caravans. Our rep Daniel was extremely helpful and very professional. The site is massive and would suggest finding out where you have been sited as some areas need a car just to get to the entrance. Very clean park with excellent shower / toilet facilities for campers. Restaurant staff are very friendly and speak excellent English offering good food, restaurant at the entrance being the cheapest :) Not many English people at this park mainly German and Scandinavian people. Hired a car and visited porec and rovinj which were both beautiful. Also visited a place called Glavani park which was a great affordable day out for the kids. It was hour and half from lanterna but if you or your kids like ariel climbing and zip wires it's the place to go. Overall lovely week in Croatia and the weather was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nichola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Resort Lanterna, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Nichola F.

Thank you for taking time and for sharing such nice impressions about our camping site. We are glad that we meet your expectations and that you had a nice time here, enjoying our various gastronomic offer and surroundings.
It make us proud to read that you enjoyed yourself, and that you had a „lovely week in Croatia“
We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.

Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Fantastic, drove all the way down and back, staying with Eurocamp, I’m not one for camping but what a place super clean, very helpful team of staff, we will be booking for next year.

My only warning, this camp site is huge spread over miles, we visited early in the season and the site was not busy, if you visit in the height of the season this site holds upwards of 12000 people. But from what I have seen the site and staff would manage.

Room Tip: make sure you look at the site map before booking, some sites better than others due to the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Having been on a Key camp holiday befiore we knew what level of holiday we should expect. On arrival to Camping Lanterna we were shown to or mobile home which was right next to a very busy main road. It was so loud at night that we could not sleep. When we mentioned this to the rep we were told yes we probably should have booked soemwhere better!
On our retrun to the UK I contacted Keycamps and asked for refund for some of the cost of the holiday. They tol;d me that they could not do this and offered us 5% discount of our next booking.
Clearly we told them we would never book again as we could no longer trust Keycamps judgement on their pitches for their mobile homes and by comparison other self catering options are way better value.
A real shame on your family holiday that you have looked forward to for so long.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alfielennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porec
6.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
6.1 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.8 mi away
Polidor Camping Park
Polidor Camping Park
#1 of 8 in Funtana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
CampingIN Park Umag Mobile Homes
3.6 mi away
Boutique Camping Materada Beach
6.8 mi away
Camping Zelena Laguna
Camping Zelena Laguna
#9 of 95 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Resort Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Resort Lanterna

Property: Camping Resort Lanterna
Address: Lanterna 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Resort Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-deserved holiday with your family in the leading Camping Resort in Istria Treat your family to a holiday in the stunning natural surroundings of Camping Resort Lanterna, which stretches along 3 km of coast halfway between Novigrad and Poreč. You'll love the spacious pitches, wide range of modern mobile home themed villages, and exclusive glamping tents for families. Whichever accommodation option you choose, you'll enjoy peace and privacy surrounded by the shade of fragrant pines and oaks. While your kids have a great time in the family water park or children's Maro Club, you can relax on the sandy beach, have a refreshing cocktail in the bar, or enjoy an energising massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camping Resort Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing