We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many tables for the kitchen to cope with.”
Review of Konoba Aba

Konoba Aba
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Too many tables for the kitchen to cope with.”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We visited this restaurant on the basis of good reviews on trip advisor, but it was not a happy dining experience.
The outside tables are in a claustrophobic back alley, and our table appeared to be an add on, located next to a shop window. On the next table another couple were eating their starter when we were seated. From the time it took for the drinks waiter to arrive we suspected a long wait for a meal, so passed on the starter. However, the 50 minute wait for food was far longer than we expected.
While we were eating there was a foreign language altercation between the couple next to us and the waiter, presumably because they were still waiting for their main course, and they settled their bill and left having only eaten a starter.
Our main course was good but not exceptional, and there was no way that we were staying for a dessert.
This restaurant has too many tables for the kitchen to cope with, and there are better options available in the town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    302
    57
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Porec”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Read about this restaurant before leaving the UK. (Thought I had read about it on a different website but sorry Astrit it was Tripadvisor!) Found it on our second night and never looked back.
The outside setting creates a superb ambiance, the food is wonderful, the brothers waiting are so very friendly and helpful, and the cost is excellent value for money.
If you go to Porec you must pay the Aba a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TED024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porec, Croatia
2 reviews
“ottimo consiglio”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

abbiamo seguito il consiglio di tripadvisor e non ce ne siamo pentiti. 1 piatto di calamari fritti e una grigliata mista per due persone, mezzo litro di malvasia una bottiglina d'acqua 368kn. la frittura di ottimi calamari era servita con patatine fritte e una salsa penso a base di maionese, la grigliata era spettacolare: un'orata, un branzino due scampi due calamari e una montagna di cozze arrostite, si avete capito bene : cozze arrostite, fantastiche...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CARM_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem in Porec”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Family run restaurant, very charming in the old Porec - owners are lovely people, fish really good and price extremely honest! Strongly recommended!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food at great price”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Nice find, thanks to previous reviews on trip advisor.
Nicely tucked away at the bottom of a little alleyway.
Very relaxed with good food at reasonable prices

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Aba also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Aba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing