We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location along the marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mauro
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

It was hard finding this hotel at first because you have to go through the special gate along the marina and get buzzed in. And, there is no way to pull up and have someone help you unload because they have no driveway! But once you are inside the hotel, it is decent. We paid slightly more for a superior room to fit our crib. The room is modern and quite large. The bathroom had a slight musky smell...perhaps some mildew under the tiles? The breakfast was ok, but had the usual food (yogurt, cereal, eggs, pastries, coffee, juice, fruit). The service in the restaurant was always friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Mauro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Once we had navigated the barrier controlled access to the pedestrian area wher the hotel is situated on the waterfront we were welcomed by friendly young staff with excellent English. You need to push the Mauro Hotel button at the barrier to access the hotel area. The hotl staff parked our car for us.
Half board available for €13 - good value. Rooms very modern and comfortable.
Right in the middle of old town. The Basillica is about 50 m away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were impressed with the modern decor and ample room size when checking into Hotel Mauro. Hotel parking was a treat being free and breakfast being included was also nice. I do get annoyed though when hotels take a lot of leeway in describing views. We primarily had a view of a building wall and if we cranked our head out one window we could see a couple of building robes of the city. Not a city view at all. The bathroom window has not privacy window and ordinarily with the building wall opposite it didn't matter until you stood in the shower when on an angle a building window has a great view!

Apart from those niggly things Hotel Mauro is a great place to stay and is close to everything in the old town. Miro at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with as well.

Room Tip: If you want. City room check on this when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendaayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Arriving on the ferry from Venice, we appreciated the hotel's proximity to the port. The room was stylish, yet comfortable (though a little too gadgety for my liking!) We were worried about the thumping beats from the club next door, but a combination of the sound proofing and air-con shut out the noise successfully.

The breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant both nights, finding the food varied and delicious (with great advice on wines, dishes etc... from the waiters). We also got 10% off the bill because we were staying at the hotel, which I thought was a nice touch.

The location is superb for the port, basilica and a wide variety of bars, restaurants and shops in the old town. I would not recommend people stay in the accommodation, stretching in either direction from Porec itself (linked by toy trains and taxi boats) because it seems dominated by very large, bland, characterless, old Eastern Bloc aparthotels. Also the small bays and sections of beach are crowded and not terribly good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We got the ferry from Venice to Porec and were able walk 100 meters from the boat to the hotel. The room was very spacious and the breakfast the following morning was amazing. A great find and a perfect start to our holiday in Croatia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location, just beside the port. It is a 2 min walk from the basilica. There are loads of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was really good and the staff were so helpful! I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reviewtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We were traveling by bus from Trieste to Pula and had a day to kill on the way. After debating which of several popular cities accessible by bus to stop at, we thought Porec sounded the most intriguing. The Hotel Mauro is a fairly easy walk from the bus station, even for seniors. We opted for, and regretted, taking a taxi, which was quite expensive for a three minute ride. We walked back to the station the next morning. The hotel is very close to the Basilica of St. Euphrasius, the main attraction of the city and a real gem. The seafront is just across the street. Our average-sized room was clean and modern and had a small balcony. The breakfast buffet was well-supplied with a large variety of dishes. The staff was amiable and helpful. I highly recommend visiting Porec, with its charming historic town and spectacular Basilica. There are also walks to be taken along the colorful marina and various boat rides. There are many hotels in the vicinity, but we were quite happy we chose the Mauro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.0 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.6 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mauro

Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range: £145 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Mauro 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Boutique Hotel Mauro Porec at the waterfront in the historic center of Porec. A new hotel, opened in July 2010. Just a few steps from the Euphrasius Basilica and close to town main square in proximity of many shops, bars. Hotel Mauro combines an historic exterior with modern interior and it offers free parking and WiFi to hotel guest. The romantic feel in the hotel restaurant makes Hotel Mauro ideal for couples. The menu is rich with local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing