We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely small hotel - right in the heart of Porec - April stay a bit quiet for all the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mauro
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Porec is a summer community - so our week in Porec in April 2013 (for a fencing competition) was a quiet time in the town. Mauro is a great location - looks to be an older building TOTALLY modernized and made into a hotel with about 25 rooms. Bathroom fixtures etc. very high end. Very clean and neat with a modern feel. Yes, it is a hotel - not a b&b - not sure why it is listed that way in TA. Great service, great English, breakfast included and topnotch. If you want Dinner menu available at an excellent price for guests. (We ate one night and had a lovely meal - PLUS we found other restaurants more expensive than we had guessed they would be - check prices carefully.) So the season starts mid-May and runs mid-September. Don't expect crowds outside of this time. So the restaurants at night did not have a lot of people in them after the day trippers had left. But the shops are open. Nice amber jewelry from Baltic amber a standout gift to take back. Great local wines - try the Roxanich! Climb the bell tower of the church. Eat at the square tower restaurant. and drive around to the ports and LOVELY hill towns nearby. We definitely recommend this hotel to others And yes - you pull up to an electric and push the button on the buzzer to one of the 4 hotels situated inside - this will get you into the pedestrian section right on the water.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroHotel, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mauro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guest
Thank You very much for chosing Hotel Mauro and even more for such a great review,
We are glad You had a good time at the hotel and enjoyed our restaurant.
Hope to see You soon back in Croatia and in our Hotel
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Mauro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel Mauro is a modern hotel with very comfortable roooms and great facilities. The staff are very helpful. Porec is a delightful city, with a vibrant nightlife. The hotel is in a perfect location in Porec, right on the harbour and in the centre of the entertainment area. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneBigLongHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

It was hard finding this hotel at first because you have to go through the special gate along the marina and get buzzed in. And, there is no way to pull up and have someone help you unload because they have no driveway! But once you are inside the hotel, it is decent. We paid slightly more for a superior room to fit our crib. The room is modern and quite large. The bathroom had a slight musky smell...perhaps some mildew under the tiles? The breakfast was ok, but had the usual food (yogurt, cereal, eggs, pastries, coffee, juice, fruit). The service in the restaurant was always friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Once we had navigated the barrier controlled access to the pedestrian area wher the hotel is situated on the waterfront we were welcomed by friendly young staff with excellent English. You need to push the Mauro Hotel button at the barrier to access the hotel area. The hotl staff parked our car for us.
Half board available for €13 - good value. Rooms very modern and comfortable.
Right in the middle of old town. The Basillica is about 50 m away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were impressed with the modern decor and ample room size when checking into Hotel Mauro. Hotel parking was a treat being free and breakfast being included was also nice. I do get annoyed though when hotels take a lot of leeway in describing views. We primarily had a view of a building wall and if we cranked our head out one window we could see a couple of building robes of the city. Not a city view at all. The bathroom window has not privacy window and ordinarily with the building wall opposite it didn't matter until you stood in the shower when on an angle a building window has a great view!

Apart from those niggly things Hotel Mauro is a great place to stay and is close to everything in the old town. Miro at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with as well.

Room Tip: If you want. City room check on this when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendaayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Arriving on the ferry from Venice, we appreciated the hotel's proximity to the port. The room was stylish, yet comfortable (though a little too gadgety for my liking!) We were worried about the thumping beats from the club next door, but a combination of the sound proofing and air-con shut out the noise successfully.

The breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant both nights, finding the food varied and delicious (with great advice on wines, dishes etc... from the waiters). We also got 10% off the bill because we were staying at the hotel, which I thought was a nice touch.

The location is superb for the port, basilica and a wide variety of bars, restaurants and shops in the old town. I would not recommend people stay in the accommodation, stretching in either direction from Porec itself (linked by toy trains and taxi boats) because it seems dominated by very large, bland, characterless, old Eastern Bloc aparthotels. Also the small bays and sections of beach are crowded and not terribly good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We got the ferry from Venice to Porec and were able walk 100 meters from the boat to the hotel. The room was very spacious and the breakfast the following morning was amazing. A great find and a perfect start to our holiday in Croatia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.0 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.6 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mauro

Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range: £142 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Mauro 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Boutique Hotel Mauro Porec at the waterfront in the historic center of Porec. A new hotel, opened in July 2010. Just a few steps from the Euphrasius Basilica and close to town main square in proximity of many shops, bars. Hotel Mauro combines an historic exterior with modern interior and it offers free parking and WiFi to hotel guest. The romantic feel in the hotel restaurant makes Hotel Mauro ideal for couples. The menu is rich with local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing