We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in the Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Hotel Mauro
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A week in the Sun”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Agree with previous reviews on high standard of the Hotel and, we "Seniors," wish to endorse the great location, for a more relaxing break. Centrally situated for a stroll into the the old town or, stepping on to a boat , for cruise down the coast, which included a fish picnic,this Hotel is ideal for the less "able".
Having also enjoyed dinner al fresco ,and admired the varying breakfast choice, we were slightly disappointed that our "English cooked breakfast" was always look warm.
Would add, our balcony room was excellent for "boat and people watching" and, night life sounds were no distraction.

Room Tip: Second floor has two rooms with balcony,worth extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    52
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
89
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited Porec in May 2013 as part of our holiday around Istria. My partner and I spent a lovely few days here. The hotel was well decorated. The receptionist kindly upgraded us from the classic room which we had booked, which was a nice surprise. The hotel and rooms were decorated to a very high standard with lovely attention to detail. The staff were excellent throughout our stay, friendly and helpful. The standard of customer service was very high. I have to say the buffet breakfast was excellent, probably one of the best array of choices we have had during all the holidays we have taken. As a result of this we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner and again the food and service was excellent. I tried the tuna in a wine and herb sauce and my partner had the steak we also had some lovely istrian wine. It was such a nice meal we decided to eat at the hotel the next evening as well. If we holiday again in Istria I would definitely look at staying at the Hotel Mauro. Also I will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and family if they are considering visiting the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjicrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroHotel, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mauro, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear mr Crawford,

First of all We are very glad You chose Hotel Mauro for Your stay in Poreč.

We are very pleased to heare that we have met all of Your expectations, and very lucky You recognized our try to make the best of Your stay and are spreading the goodwill and recomanding us to others.

If You are planning to come back We would be happy and honored to acomodate You again.

Best regards from sunny Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Porec is a summer community - so our week in Porec in April 2013 (for a fencing competition) was a quiet time in the town. Mauro is a great location - looks to be an older building TOTALLY modernized and made into a hotel with about 25 rooms. Bathroom fixtures etc. very high end. Very clean and neat with a modern feel. Yes, it is a hotel - not a b&b - not sure why it is listed that way in TA. Great service, great English, breakfast included and topnotch. If you want Dinner menu available at an excellent price for guests. (We ate one night and had a lovely meal - PLUS we found other restaurants more expensive than we had guessed they would be - check prices carefully.) So the season starts mid-May and runs mid-September. Don't expect crowds outside of this time. So the restaurants at night did not have a lot of people in them after the day trippers had left. But the shops are open. Nice amber jewelry from Baltic amber a standout gift to take back. Great local wines - try the Roxanich! Climb the bell tower of the church. Eat at the square tower restaurant. and drive around to the ports and LOVELY hill towns nearby. We definitely recommend this hotel to others And yes - you pull up to an electric and push the button on the buzzer to one of the 4 hotels situated inside - this will get you into the pedestrian section right on the water.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroHotel, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mauro, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear guest
Thank You very much for chosing Hotel Mauro and even more for such a great review,
We are glad You had a good time at the hotel and enjoyed our restaurant.
Hope to see You soon back in Croatia and in our Hotel
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel Mauro is a modern hotel with very comfortable roooms and great facilities. The staff are very helpful. Porec is a delightful city, with a vibrant nightlife. The hotel is in a perfect location in Porec, right on the harbour and in the centre of the entertainment area. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneBigLongHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

It was hard finding this hotel at first because you have to go through the special gate along the marina and get buzzed in. And, there is no way to pull up and have someone help you unload because they have no driveway! But once you are inside the hotel, it is decent. We paid slightly more for a superior room to fit our crib. The room is modern and quite large. The bathroom had a slight musky smell...perhaps some mildew under the tiles? The breakfast was ok, but had the usual food (yogurt, cereal, eggs, pastries, coffee, juice, fruit). The service in the restaurant was always friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Once we had navigated the barrier controlled access to the pedestrian area wher the hotel is situated on the waterfront we were welcomed by friendly young staff with excellent English. You need to push the Mauro Hotel button at the barrier to access the hotel area. The hotl staff parked our car for us.
Half board available for €13 - good value. Rooms very modern and comfortable.
Right in the middle of old town. The Basillica is about 50 m away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were impressed with the modern decor and ample room size when checking into Hotel Mauro. Hotel parking was a treat being free and breakfast being included was also nice. I do get annoyed though when hotels take a lot of leeway in describing views. We primarily had a view of a building wall and if we cranked our head out one window we could see a couple of building robes of the city. Not a city view at all. The bathroom window has not privacy window and ordinarily with the building wall opposite it didn't matter until you stood in the shower when on an angle a building window has a great view!

Apart from those niggly things Hotel Mauro is a great place to stay and is close to everything in the old town. Miro at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with as well.

Room Tip: If you want. City room check on this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendaayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.0 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.6 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mauro

Property: Boutique Hotel Mauro
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Mauro 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Boutique Hotel Mauro Porec at the waterfront in the historic center of Porec. A new hotel, opened in July 2010. Just a few steps from the Euphrasius Basilica and close to town main square in proximity of many shops, bars. Hotel Mauro combines an historic exterior with modern interior and it offers free parking and WiFi to hotel guest. The romantic feel in the hotel restaurant makes Hotel Mauro ideal for couples. The menu is rich with local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing