We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will not stay there again.”
Review of Bogovic Apartments

Bogovic Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bogovic Apartments
Ranked #57 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Porec
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I will not stay there again.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed at Bogovic Apartments (located at Rajka Stipe 26, Porec 52440, Croatia) for a week. First of all - I am sorry to say but the host is unfriendly. I felt insignificant, unwelcome and policed. Don't be surprised if any request that will require any effort (how ever small) from the host, results in a door shut right in your face - it literally happened to me, and could happened to you.

Furthermore, the place is overpriced. No AC, so you will be sweating constantly, even during the sleep. Appliances are bad, the TV is a joke, the cutlery and such are incomplete at best, no freezer, pool is out of service. Towels are small and few, and "you are not allowed to take them to the beach, because grandma does not allow it". Apartment key is an issue, since you get only one, regardless how many you are.

Also, the yard entrance key is supposed to be accessible from the outside of the yard. If the keys are not where you expect them, because someone else misplaced them, you will be stranded outside, and then subjected to a lengthy discussion regarding where the keys are (duh!), before you are granted access - true story, happened to me one morning 05.00 am.

If you go to Porec, make your self a favor and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you go to Porec, make your self a favor and stay elsewhere than Bogovic Apartments (located at R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big-Bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbogovic, Manager at Bogovic Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately as I explained to you in person, no things can be borrowed from one apartment to another and out of our house. Those are simply house rules like you would have in any hotel.

We are proud of having some of the most affordable accommodation in Poreč - if you checked some other apartment offers in local tourist agencies, you would find out the price for such 4-person apartments are usually more than 80-100 € daily (even with no TV, free wireless internet, and miles away from the city center).

The pool is out of service because of the current water reduction in whole Istria, and that means we have to save on water. Sorry for that.

And yes, you have your own keys for the apartment AND the garden entrance. The key hanging near the entrance is for the owners, but we usually show them to everyone in the house. That's why you should be able to enter the house by yourselves at any given time - having two entrance keys at your disposal.

Hope you at least had a good night's sleep since, as you know, there are strict rules about keeping silence during night hours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Don't stay here if you want high quality accomodation. Service and customer relations ranges from bad to poor. No AC during summer. Only one key per apartment. Bad appliances. No freezer. Pool out of service. Look for some other accomodation if you want to stay in Porec.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBurstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbogovic, Manager at Bogovic Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Hi David! Can you tell me what appliances were broken? Everything is pretty much new so I'd really like to know because all guests after you had no problems with it.

We also have spare keys, we would have gladly given them to you.

Pool doesn't have any water since there is currently water reduction in Istria (because of no rain for the past two months). I'm sure you noticed there are no public showers on beaches too.

And I see you couldn't sleep at night? We have strict house rules so there should be complete silence during the night, as you know yourself, we ask our guests to follow them and react on time if someone is too loud.

Thanks for your review,
Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porec hotels

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Please, stay away from this, for your own sake! We had a horrible experience with this accommodation.

First of all the house is very old, and so is the furniture and everything inside. It is very likely that something will break, beacause of normal wear and tear. In our case it was a window knob, made of plastic, and the toilet which got blocked. We decided to tell the owner before we leave about this, because we didn't want the plummer and all the working crew working there in our absence (since we were away most of the time).

The bath tub is ancient and starts to rust. It doesn't look clean at all. We had showers in our flip-flaps, because we were staying very few days and decided we can live with this.

You have the right to ONE roll of toilet paper per stay, no more.

We have tried to check out at 10 am and we told Kristina, the daughter of the owner that we aim for that hour. We have started to carry our luggages to our car at 10:20 am. Before carrying all the luggage from the house to the car, the lady who owns the house busted into the studio to check out if anything was damaged and complaining that we checked out too late. However the tourist agency who booked for us told us that they booked the room for an extra day just in case, and we don't have to pay for that day. So I was absolutely positive there was no tourist coming the same day after us.

The old lady (owner) started to shout at us and was very, very rude to me and my wife, complaining that we were going to leave without telling her about all the damage we did to her studio. She kept pushing us to confess what else have we broken. I explained to her that this is not how to treat clients but she kept going on and on.

She wouldn't let us leave without paying for the labour 1 hour of the person who will mount the window knob, although again, this was normal wear. My wife doesn't have enough force to tear the knob out of the scews!!!

So my advice is stay away from this people! They want to earn money without moving a finger by making you guilty of all the bad things that happened in their old house and asking you to pay for it.

On their website they claim to have air conditioning. Don't be misled, there is NO air conditioning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Cookie294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.9 mi away
Hostin Hotel
Hostin Hotel
#26 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pical Hotel
Pical Hotel
#24 of 33 in Porec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porec
Hotel Porec
#21 of 33 in Porec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Pical
Apartments Pical
#30 of 33 in Porec
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogovic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogovic Apartments

Property: Bogovic Apartments
Address: Rajka Stipe 26, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Porec
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bogović Apartments have a perfect position in the suburbs of Poreč, making it easy to take a short walk to the beach or visit the cultural, historical and always alive old city center.Situated in the quiet street with families and a few people passing by, but also connected to the whole Istrian peninsula by a nearby important traffic route, these low budget and non-expensive Bogović Apartments offer great accommodation for vacation, leisure and a break from all daily worries.The estate is constructed almost 50 years ago, offering a touch of old Istrian stone architecture, with private green and spacious gardens surrounding the villa. You can freely use our stone grill and enjoy the accompanying garden environment.Bogović Apartments are open during the summer season from May 1st to September 31st every year, fully equipped to meet your everyday needs.We offer satellite TV & free wireless Internet connection in all our apartments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing