We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here mid May 2014 and would definitely stay here again.
The location is right on the harbour where the boat trips go from and you have free use of the boat over to the island where its sister hotel resides.
The hotel was very clean, staff were all very helpful and the food was varied enough and of good quality.
Behind the hotel is the old town of Porec so all the bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Traffic is limited onto the harbour front so you don't get loads of traffic going past.
There are great walks to be had on a mainly flat path in both directions along the coast.
If you take the catamaran trip to Venice it leaves almost right outside the hotel. All other coach trips leave from the bus station which is only 5-10 min walk away - if you have problems walking the hotel may take you in their mini bus.
I was there for a fencing competition and needed a taxi to a venue 3 miles away, when I asked reception to call a taxi they took me free of charge in the mini bus.
The only downside to this hotel is no pool, but you can use the pool on the island and at another hotel 10min away.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for value for money and Steve the holiday rep was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevefencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    158
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
360
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our stay at the Valamar Riviera Hotel was marvellous & right on the waterfront. Everything was as it should be at a top quality hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and spacious. We were staying "half Board" & the food was superb with so many choices for each course from the buffet or one could dine in the a` la carte restaurant or eat outside under shady umbrellas.
The local wines were very good and reasonably priced as were the local beers.
Porec itself is a lovely place to stay with so many good bars and restaurants to choose from and great views out to sea. Not at all expensive & much cheaper than Italy.
We will be back.

Room Tip: A sea view sounds good but the gulls can be noisy! We were too late to book a room with a sea view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietrojovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel and me personally, thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel and our town. It makes us feel really proud and happy reading your nice words. They are a proof that we are on the right way and I can promise you we will keep up with the good work in the future.

Best regards,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staff here were very professional - we were greeted by name on arrival before even speaking to reception staff. We booked one of the romantic rooms with a sea view, and indeed our room was huge, likewise the bathroom was also huge. With three large windows overlooking the water. The décor was plain but comfortable; overall the room was really spacious, clean and bright and comfortable. We would certainly stay again. With a few more indulgences with soft furnishings/décor it would have easily have been a 5star experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quirkirky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel, location of our hotel and great service we provide.
Words like yours give us the motivation to keep delivering only the best service to all our guests. The best reward for our hard work is to know our guests are satisfied and they wish to come back again.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bewdley england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

visited in may 2014 first time in Croatia. the hotel was very clean and the bedrooms also very clean.not much of a view walls and roofs but didn't really matter room no125.food very good and plentiful if you get in early people waiting to go in the diningroom at 6.45pm (german) .nice to sit in lounge after dinner but could have done without the many tables taken up by parties playing cards maybe better in a separate room.staff were superbly helpful friendly and polite nothing too much trouble.one of the few places I would return to

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelCole123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel, location of our hotel and great service we provide.
Words like yours give us the motivation to keep delivering only the best service to all our guests. The best reward for our hard work is to know our guests are satisfied and they wish to come back again.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great base from which my wife and I had a fantastic croatian holiday. As a hotel it is modern and new in feel. Immaculately clean, great service, excellent buffet food for meat and fish eaters (we were half board). I always had a good wifi signal from the back of floor 1 of 4 floors. The room was generally very quiet. We slept with the window open most nights with only the occasional loud seagul to disturb us. Can't really fault this water front hotel at all. We were glad not to have stayed on the other island valamar hotel that it faces because of being tied to a boat timetable for access to the amazing choice of restaurants and bars on the main headland of porec. Though the hotel's private beach is on the island itself which go every half hour or so during core hours. I did go for a swim over there though it wasn't warm in mid may and I did well to avoid the occasional jelly fish. The view of the island from the riviera is better than looking from the island hotel back at porec but the island is due to open new apartments in may 2015. The hotel itself steps out onto a multitude of boats moored up offering a range of great excursions. It is also next to the ferry port for Venice! A worthwhile but hectic trip. We took a great bbq boat tour south to rovinji one day. And our best excursion by far was the bus trip to lake bled in Slovenia. Well worth the 6 hour round trip. So many people staying here had been returning for years and years on end, all be it most of them are over 50. We're sure to return to this area again. Great hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I visit Croatia every two years since 2002, but never been on the West part of Istria Peninsula. This time we decide to visit Rovijini and Porec, so we stayed at Valamar Riviera Hotel. This hotel is very clean. modern, very comfortable, it is a well located, in front of the sea, near the marina, a lot of cafeterias, bars, and attractions in old town- in fact this was one of the reasons to choose this hotel. The beach is over the sea- it gets 10-15 minutes to reach the beach after a short travel (free of charge) over the bay, by a small boat, but the beach facility are really expensive( umbrella, bed and table) in my opinion. Hotel staff is helpful, friendly and kind. Our room was on the other side of main facade, on facade opposite the sea - it was on a peaceful,quiet, narrow street. (similar to Venice). Saturday evening they excuses for nosy wedding party, but we shut all the doors and we did not hear it! breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to my friends! I dislike the parking of the hotel -crowded -till you know what, where and how it takes some time ...I mean wasting time... Another thing, that I dislike it was the lack of facilities spa, massage!

Room Tip: Comfortable high standards rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaniaAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that your remarks will be considered.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Porec at the Valamar Riviera hotel. From the moment we arrived we were extremely well looked after with high standards of hospitality, catering and accommodation.

The hotel is well situated by the harbour and very conveniently located to see the attractions of this pretty town. Our room was extremely clean and had a very large double bed and a sea view. The efficient double glazing reduced all the sounds of the harbour area to a murmur when necessary.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and really added to the fantastic experience.
We took advantage of the comfortable lounge where we could sit and let the world go by.
And as for the food! It was excellent. It was always nicely cooked and presented with many choices. Chefs were available to cook specialities of the day if you could not find something you liked. This was complemented by a good wine list at reasonable prices.

You may wonder why, if the hotel is that good, I am only giving it an average rating. On the Saturday evening of our stay, there was a wedding reception in the hotel. The hotel managed this well although we had to have dinner in the reception area as the dining room was being used for the function. The main issue was the noise coming from the band. This vibrated through the hotel and went on until 0300. Having finally got to sleep, we were woken by the dawn chorus of the cleaners vacuuming the hallway outside our room at around 0730.This hotel really needs to decide if it is going to offer a superb service to its residents or let standards drop when it suits them. I was told that events of this nature normally take place in a separate building further down the road but on this occasion the other building had been booked. So why could not the volume of the music be reduced after, say, midnight? Having stayed in many high quality hotels around the world, I am most surprised and disappointed by the lack of consideration by the management on this occasion.

Overall this hotel is excellent but before staying there you need to be sure that they are not going to have noisy functions taking place while you are there.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian_from_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and we will do our best to objectify your suggestions in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#7 of 33 in Porec
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Property: Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing