We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of May. The weather was not overly warm but the room became stuffy at night and we needed air conditioning as there tends to be too much street noise with the balcony door open. Over the 4 nights the management never did get the air working; lots of different excuses given. It seemed to have been a common complaint from other guests.

Everything else was great; friendly staff, excellent breakfast selection, nice room (not generous in size), great location. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel - too many other great choices in the town.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms (only on the ocean side) are the way to go for a pleasant stay but the street can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LnCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel and me personally, thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel and our town. It makes us feel really proud and happy reading your nice words. They are a proof that we are on the right way and I can promise you we will keep up with the good work in the future.
We are also sorry for the problems that you had with the air conditioning. We will do our best in our future that mistakes like this don't happen again.

Best regards,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Brief notes from our holiday at this super hotel.
Position was excellent on see front with old town a step away.
Staff friendly, professional and extremely helpful.
Food was very good lots to choose from and always being refreshed.
Our room although at the back of the hotel had good views over the roof tops to the church, and was spacious clean and had a superb comfortable bed.
The free shuttle ferry to the island was excellent.
I have never been to a resort as clean as Porec, I did not see 1 cigarette but or 1 piece of litter anywhere, UK has a lot to learn.
To conclude we enjoyed this break so much we will probably return to the same hotel to see more sights next year.
Riviera, thanks for making our break one to remember ,for the right reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marty228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel, location of our hotel and great service we provide.
Words like yours give us the motivation to keep delivering only the best service to all our guests. The best reward for our hard work is to know our guests are satisfied and they wish to come back again.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Valamar Riviera with my wife where we had a wonderful break.The location could not be bettered right on the front facing the sea among the cafes and bars with the old town immediately behind you,the food was excellent,the hotel spotless and best of all the staff.From the reception desk to the bar and restaurant staff,to the ladies who cleaned the rooms and made your breakfast bacon and eggs freshly for you they could not have been nicer or indeed more helpful,nothing was a problem and they made our visit to the lovely town of Porec so memorable.Note to the manager;please make sure your staff know how valuable they are and what a wonderful impression they made and to anyone who is thinking of visiting Porec look no further than the Valamar Riviera.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a room with a balcony ,front facing as even the de-luxe rooms are not particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 45william45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel, location of our hotel and great service we provide.
Words like yours give us the motivation to keep delivering only the best service to all our guests. The best reward for our hard work is to know our guests are satisfied and they wish to come back again. Also thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Valamar Riviera on a half-board basis, booked through Thomsons. The location of the hotel is excellent, overlooking the harbour and very close to the old part of Porec. We paid extra for a sea view room - it was bright and airy, with two large windows giving us a good sea view. Yes, we could see the three bins that so offended a previous reviewer, but without them Porec wouldn't be the cleanest and tidiest resort we've visited. Needless to say we didn't let them spoil our holiday. The room itself was very clean, furnished to a high standard and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious, with a large bath and shower over - it sometimes took a long time for hot water to work its way through the system, but it did arrive eventually.

The staff were all friendly and professional. We had a small issue with our bill at the end of our stay, but this was resolved quickly and without fuss. A number of items that were not ours had been billed to our room from the restaurant - there didn't seem to be a consistent procedure for obtaining signatures in the restaurant, which is something they need to tighten up.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and eggs or omelettes cooked to order while you wait. The dinners were a little disappointing. There was nothing wrong with them as such and there was always a wide choice, but we just didn't find them particularly appetising or flavoursome. They were all rather bland.

Had we stayed bed and breakfast only, we would have given 5/5. But we didn't, and neither do many of its other guests, so it has to be 4/5.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 68UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Best Regards,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here mid May 2014 and would definitely stay here again.
The location is right on the harbour where the boat trips go from and you have free use of the boat over to the island where its sister hotel resides.
The hotel was very clean, staff were all very helpful and the food was varied enough and of good quality.
Behind the hotel is the old town of Porec so all the bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Traffic is limited onto the harbour front so you don't get loads of traffic going past.
There are great walks to be had on a mainly flat path in both directions along the coast.
If you take the catamaran trip to Venice it leaves almost right outside the hotel. All other coach trips leave from the bus station which is only 5-10 min walk away - if you have problems walking the hotel may take you in their mini bus.
I was there for a fencing competition and needed a taxi to a venue 3 miles away, when I asked reception to call a taxi they took me free of charge in the mini bus.
The only downside to this hotel is no pool, but you can use the pool on the island and at another hotel 10min away.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for value for money and Steve the holiday rep was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevefencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our stay at the Valamar Riviera Hotel was marvellous & right on the waterfront. Everything was as it should be at a top quality hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and spacious. We were staying "half Board" & the food was superb with so many choices for each course from the buffet or one could dine in the a` la carte restaurant or eat outside under shady umbrellas.
The local wines were very good and reasonably priced as were the local beers.
Porec itself is a lovely place to stay with so many good bars and restaurants to choose from and great views out to sea. Not at all expensive & much cheaper than Italy.
We will be back.

Room Tip: A sea view sounds good but the gulls can be noisy! We were too late to book a room with a sea view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietrojovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel and me personally, thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel and our town. It makes us feel really proud and happy reading your nice words. They are a proof that we are on the right way and I can promise you we will keep up with the good work in the future.

Best regards,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staff here were very professional - we were greeted by name on arrival before even speaking to reception staff. We booked one of the romantic rooms with a sea view, and indeed our room was huge, likewise the bathroom was also huge. With three large windows overlooking the water. The décor was plain but comfortable; overall the room was really spacious, clean and bright and comfortable. We would certainly stay again. With a few more indulgences with soft furnishings/décor it would have easily have been a 5star experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quirkirky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel, location of our hotel and great service we provide.
Words like yours give us the motivation to keep delivering only the best service to all our guests. The best reward for our hard work is to know our guests are satisfied and they wish to come back again.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.7 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#10 of 33 in Porec
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#3 Best Value Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £63 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing