We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As friendly as it gets....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just back from a week in this gem of a hotel - our second wonderful experience of Croatia. Much to commend the hotel, resort & country so in no particular order:-

The room - clean and spacious - no sea view - please note that this was not a surprise as we didn't book one! Toward the rear of the hotel so very quiet (a good thing as there was an open air concert on the water front on our last night).

The food - very good selection of well cooked dishes - HELPFUL HINT 1 - make the most of (the wonderful) Jela and her recommendations for pasta/rice in the evening (and omelettes at breakfast). There is no real need to go a la carte but if you have a special event (or just love sea food) then book a table outside - HELPFUL HINT 2 (thank you Goran for pointing this out) if you go a la carte as a half board guest you will receive a 30% discount on the whole bill including drinks - for us this translated into the following - tuna carpaccio starter, fish platter to share (scallops, sea bream & sea bass (2 pieces each), 8 massive prawns & veg) coffees, grappa (the good stuff) and a bottle of quality dry white for £45 all in.

The staff - consistently friendly & helpful - in addition to Jela and Goran special thanks to Andrelina (sp?) who as a waitress brought us a lot of happiness (& laughter).

The clients - the lack of a pool (without a free ferry cross to the island hotel) dictated that there were very few families in the hotel (in the 1st week of the school hols) - the hotel is ideal for couples. Plenty of walking along the coastline and we also squeezed 3 excursions (including the day trip to Venice) into our stay and enjoyed them all.

Really good break - thank you Valamar Riviera.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at the Valamar hotel with my husband for a week in August 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay. The staff never failed to be friendly and helpful, the room was clean and with sufficient space (although the window perhaps a little small) and the bar/lounge area very pleasant, especially the outdoor seating area. We enjoyed both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks from the bar and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the omelettes. We ate one meal at the hotel restaurant which was enjoyable but generally preferred sampling the food on offer at one of the many local restaurants around Porec. Free wi-fi was available although reception in the rooms was intermittent; fine in the communal areas though. The location was ideal for exploring the town with the marina immediately outside providing excellent views. Overall, an excellent hotel that we would definitely be happy to return to should we ever go back to Porec.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed here from the 12/07 to 19/07 when we got to our room we were a little disappointed with the size of our window it was like one from a prison cell which meant even with lots of sunshine outside we had to put the room light on. The bed was huge and the room itself was a good size. Our view from the window was overlooking some crabby old roof tops and a walkway down below so not very nice and very noisy in the evening until late but with the air con being poor we had to leave the window open as the room would be stifling day and night, best of two evils. Although there is a control panel for the air con it is a waste of time as you can not turn it up or down power wise which meant it was barely blowing any cold air out, a money saving cost by the hotel i would guess. The food was good although some of it did seem to salty and the service was great, very friendly and polite. The position of the hotel on the harbour is perfect for getting around porec as you are right in the middle of everything so not to far to go.Overall an average hotel with some good and some bad certainly not perfect

Room Tip: judging by comments from previous travelers i think most rooms seem to have a few problems with over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.

Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in early July enjoyed Porec and the Hotel well worth a visit.
The Hotel is spotless the seaview room was worth the extra cost if a little smaller than you might expect. All the staff were friendly and efficient i have never come across a cleaner so keen to get on with her job. All the furnishings and fittings were of good quality and worked perfectly.
Location is good right on the quayside.
Only slight blemishes were the evening buffeft food somewhat eccentric and the signage was not always correct and was sometimes suprised at what ended up on the plate.
The location probably precludes it but a swimming pool would be benficial.
I would definately stay again .
i thought the prices at the bar were quite reasonable for a good 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank meadowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have just returned from 10 days at this hotel and while it is beautifully clean and in a central location it has major drawbacks. There is virtually no outside space to relax in; the ferry across to the island is fine but you have to pay to use the beds and parasols. You can use the Hotel Fortuna's pool free of charge but sunbeds are very cramped together with not enough parasols to go round. The food we thought was atrocious, overcooked and over salted and not much variety. At the beginning of our stay we weren't offered drinks until we'd finished our meal although this did improve towards the end.
Our room overlooked a brick wall which made it feel very claustrophobic and it was very noisy at night with people returning from an evening out.
If you're just looking for a base from which to explore the area It's probably fine but if you want a mixture of chilling out and days out pick one of the many other hotels around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Porec is a delightful resort, very unspoilt and clean with loads of great bars, restaurants and shops. You can walk along the stunning coast line for miles with parks and pine woods on the opposite side. With trees you'd expect to be bitten but it only happened to me once and I didn't wear repellant. It wasn't Luis Suarez either.

You get a lot of people from Germany, Austria and Sweden in Porec, I hope it stays that way, they are much more cultured than the typical British tourist, I find it embarrassing to be English abroad sometimes, I didn't see one Premiership football shirt all wee, which is a bonus.

The hotel is in an ideal location, everything about it is very good. I read some comments before I went saying the evening food wasn't up to much, that worried me a little. I think some people pay for four star half board and expect Michelin Star quality, they are living in a dream world. The is a good variety for the evening meal and I'd say it was of a good pub food standard, which is what I expect for the money paid, it was a lot better than the food in some four star hotels I've been to. It's well worth trying some of the local restaurants as well, some very good ones. All the staff at the hotel were great and it's very easy to get to the private beach.

Overall we were made up and will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Cannot praise this Hotel enough....Visited Porec for the first time and was enchanted! Beautiful place, very friendly people and the Valamar Riviera was quite literally the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Boutique style spacious rooms, excellent choice of food, friendly staff in a spot on location by the harbour....I would recommend this Hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polls_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarRiviera, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours,
Valamar Riviera Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.7 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#10 of 33 in Porec
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing