We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had booked 3 nights at the Valamar Ruben Hotel but they had over booked, so we were given an apartment at the Valamar Diamant instead. We were hot and tired and thirsty when we arrived and were a bit annoyed about it. Also the car park near the apartments is on a rough slope and not suitable for motorbikes so we had to park it by the hotel.
The food is brilliant. So much choice and fresh and tasty. I could not fault it at all. It was very easy to get a sun bed around the pool because the pool area opens at 9am and they do not allow reserving of beds. We got to the pool area between 10am and 11am and there were still spare beds. Another good point is they provide pool towels free of charge, Handy when travelling. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. This is a hotel complex that is brilliant for families,
so much for them to see and do. There's a lovely walk along the coast to the main town with its bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope_pit_stop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear penelope_pit_stop123,

First of all we want to thank you for the positive comment you wrote about the Valamar Diamant Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the overbooking inconvenience. We are sorry you could not stay in the Valamar Rubin as you booked, but we are also really happy to know that even though we were not your choice you enjoyed your stay in here. Your feedback about the service, staff and food makes us feel proud and rewarding.

We hope you will visit us again in one of the Valamar Hotels & Resorts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    220
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
120
280
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drachten, Friesland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from a two weeks stay at the Valamar Diamant Hotel in Porec / Croatia.

The good things of the area and hotel are definitely:
- Everything very, very tidy and clean
- Gardens, swimming pool area, rooms, restaurant, lounge, all neat and tidy
- Breakfast and dinner, wide variety of choice, quality ok
- Staff members in the restaurant and bar, friendly and helpful
- Location of the hotel is perfect, close to beach and walking distance to Porec
- The way the sun beds are organised, really great to see that only at 9 a.m. the pool area opens
and that saves you from getting up around midnight to get a sunbed...great !
- Area, landscape, sea trips, all great

What we found less positive:
- Staff members at reception showed indifference and seem in some cases absolutely not
informed and/or qualified.
My husband had an accident, we needed to go to first aid hospital to get some stitches, the
receptionists reaction when asked for assistance and directions was "it is only a finger...."
Quite strange attitude after being told my husband is a cardiac patient taking medication for
keeping the blood thin and standing there with blood dripped bandage....
- Information on sight seeing or trips available in the vicinity of the hotel is poor and not easy
assessable. You'd have to ask the receptionists, and you can guess what answers / info you
get....
Two trips where arranged and in both cases the appointments made wrong causing a
non present ticket and place on an excursion not being available.
In both cases the restaurant and bar staff did all their best to compensate and were very
friendly in sorting things out.
- Entertainment during the day and evening is shared with the both other Valamar properties
(Rubin and Crystal). Although available, not much of the residents seem to join in when some
show or activity was held.

In general, we enjoyed a great holiday, Croatia is indeed a beautiful country, the Valamar Diamant Hotel is definitely a good place to stay. We would not advise this hotel for couples with children (either very little or teenagers). For the smaller ones, the lack of sandy beaches and
the fact the sea is immediately deep is not so comfortable. For the teenagers, we saw most of them being at the hotel during our stay, being bored and playing around with I-Phone's in the public area with the very slow wifi...

For couples, wanting a quiet holiday, reading, walking, taking a boat trip, seeing old towns like Porec, Pula, Rovinj and perhaps the trip to Venice, it's great.
For us, this hotel just lacks the "wow" feeling, can't really determine what that is, probably we more tend to enjoy the cliffs and mountains like in Portugal, Madeira, Mallorca, and Canary Islands, matter of personal interest we guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at one of the highest possible floors, seaside view Enclosed the view from our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaHuisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear MargaHuisman,

Thank you for your detailed comment and the time you took to point out some important issues you noticed during your stay.

Your compliments about the cleanliness, organization, location and other are really appreciated. Thank you so much for the kind words.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience regarding the reception staff members. It is unacceptable that these kinds of mistakes and miscommunications happen, and we are very sorry that you were unable to fully enjoy your holiday because of that. You are indeed right about the way we should communicate with our guests.

It is nice that you told us about the problems right away, so we were able to compensate at least something. We always do our best to make the stay of all our guests enjoyable as much as possible. In addition, we can assure you we took this really seriously and we have immediately added into our training-program the customer service quality in order to develop our service and courtesy up to your better future satisfaction in case you decide to visit us again.

We hope you will give us another chance so we could rebuild your confidence and provide the “wow” feeling you missed this time.

Kind regards,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a very good hotel, the staff are excellent, everywhere is very clean and tidy; the food is good too with a wide range on offer. Snacks and beverages are reasonably priced. Air con in the rooms worked well and is very quiet. The Wifi in the rooms is poor and quite slow in public areas.
It's only a couple of minutes walk down to the sea where there is a cafe and a bar plus entertainment for children and bike hire. There is also a tourist train that takes you to Porec centre or Laguna in the other direction, cost is about £1.10 each way. It takes 15 to 20 minutes to walk to Porec along the seafront path.
Nearby Rovinj is worth visiting, there is a regular bus service from Porec bus station, takes about 50 mins and costs about £5.50 return. Pula takes about 2 hours by bus but it's not as nice as Rovinj or Porec.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Chris W,

Thank you so much for the kind words and compliments.

Our food offer and quality are for sure something we are really proud of. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the sightseeing of Poreč and Rovinj, of course they are worth of visiting with their historical parts and many touristic attractions. We took into consideration your opinion about the WIFI and we will do our best to improve it.

We are already waiting to welcome you again in the Valamar Diamant Hotel.

Greetings form the sunny Poreč,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, about 45 minutes transfer from Pula airport. It is about 15 minutes walk by road into Porec, (or 20-25 minutes if you choose to take the scenic route through the hotel grounds and the sea-front). Porec is a historic town, largely unspoilt by tourism - no signs of irish/english/german themed pubs, but plenty of bars and restaurants on offer.
No sandy beaches in this area of Istria- its all rocks , or shingles,but the coastline around the hotel has long areas of paving/ terrace, and steps into the sea, so you dont have to clamber over rocks to go swimming. Beach/swim shoes are useful,as the sea urchins on the rocks are bad to step on.
Food, as most people agree, is very good. ( you can buy dinner for about £15 per person if you are only on B and B). Soft drinks arent cheap : bottles of coke etc cost about £2.70, house wine is a similar price.
We ate outside for every meal- lovely. Our only criticism of the hotel, would be that none of the large outside dining areas are designated for non- smokers, so at many mealtime, we would be downwind of someone lighting up between courses.

The hotel pool is fine( freshwater), but not as deep as the (saltwater) pool at the adjacent Crystal hotel- the grounds and facilities are shared, and the pools are only a few metres apart. The hotels share large grassy grounds for relaxing, with mature shady trees providing a cooler environment, if you dont like the baking poolside. The grounds slope down to the sea- maybe 5 minutes walk.

There is a really well equipped gym at the diamant, but most of the sports/activities are based at the crystal. We joined a hotel bike ride and spent 3 hours on a guided easy/moderate ride along the coast and back, with an ice-cream/drinks break in Vrsar. worth the effort, and great value- it just cost about £13 to hire the four bikes from the hotel.

We did a Venice day trip( £45-£55 per person, depending on the agent you use). During the Adriatic ferry crossing, the tour staff will offer you a sightseeing transfer from Venice port to St Marks Square ~£13, lunch~£25, glass factory tour( free!!), gondola ride~£25, and finally a taxi-boat from St marks Square,down the Grand Canal back the port at the end of the day~ £30.Or you can just buy the street map and guide book for ~£9, and do-it-yourself. Venice is unique, but not cheap.

Everything in the hotel, from restaurant , lobby, and bedrooms looked newly furnished- there were no tired/shoddy areas. The outside images of the hotel don't look great, but the inside is all 4 star. Our rooms( 301/2/3/4) had quite small, but adequate bathrooms, good sized balconies, and a partial seaview. higher floors would see more over the trees.
chefs/dining room and reception staff were all brilliant, without exception.

would we recommend it, and go back- definitely.

Room Tip: small double rooms may only have a small window. book double/twin option to get a balcony. upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ali_b_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear ali_b_b,

Thank you for such a detailed and nice comment.

As you wrote our environment and the lovely sea side promenade which heads directly to the historic city of Poreč are perfect for relaxing and peaceful walks. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Venice, one of most popular the Mediterranean Beauties. Our hotel staff always tries to do their best to create lasting memories and make your stay as pleasant as possible, therefor thank you for recognizing all of that.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we will be happy to welcome you again but until then we wish you all the best.

Many greetings from the sunny Poreč,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United KIngdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've just returned from the Valamar Diamant. We had never been to Croatia before and loved it. The hotel is in a really good location, a 5 minute walk through the grounds to the sea. The trees in the gardens surrounding the hotel give much needed shade during the middle of the day, and make the setting really pretty. We tended to use the sun beds under the trees rather than sit by the pool, but it was easy to pop in and out to the pool for a swim or aqua aerobics. We preferred the pool at the Crystal Hotel (1 minute's walk away), although it seemed more salty than the DIamant hotel. The showers were warm as well. The showers at the Diamant were cold.
It is also easy to swim in the sea, They have created concrete platforms by the rocks, with steps down into the sea, (and diving boards at some of them) all along the coastline. There are showers at intervals as well. You don't need beach shoes if you just go down the steps into the deep water, but if you enter at a shallow area then you need to watch out for sea urchins.
The walk into Porec takes 15 mins through the trees and along the road, or slightly longer around the beach path.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for the reception
staff in particular.
We really enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Pizza was made freshly in the pizza oven every night, (and I think some of our party ate pizza EVERY NIGHT!) Lots of other choices, some Croatian national dishes, lots of fresh fish, pasta, vegetables, fruit...the list goes on. We found that we needed to arrive at the Restaurant around 7pm when it opened, to guarantee an outside table. Although the restaurant was busy, there wasn't really any queuing for food. The staff were very efficient. Our only criticism was that there was not a designated area for smokers. Quite a few visitors did smoke, so sometimes it would drift across to our table. We commented on this fact in our review to the hotel, so perhaps they will make a change.
We had fun participating in the aqua aerobics, didn't manage the aerobics - it was too hot!
We went on the hotel animation team's bike ride to Funtana. This only cost about £3 each for bike hire and we all enjoyed a fairly easy cycle along the pretty coastline.
We used the gym facilities quite a few times, and were very impressed with the equipment.
All in all our group of adults and teenagers were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and staff and would not hesitate in recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pools get the sea view, the higher the better, some trees block the view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Kizmo,

What a great comment! Thank you so much for all the compliments and for taking in consideration so many parts of our broad offer.

Our staff is thrilled about the nice words you said about them and our property. The beds under the trees are great for some relaxation and enjoying in peace the sunny days in here. Our beach which is awarded many years with the International Blue Flag is for sure worth of visiting and even though you need to watch out for the sea urchins they are a symbol of clean and healthy sea water so they are also “welcome guests” of our surroundings. We are sorry for the trouble with the smoke, we took into consideration your point of view and we will discuss the possible solutions in order to ensure all of our guests are satisfied. It is great to know we meet the expectations from the whole group.

Hopefully you will visit us again as soon as possible.

Thank you once again for the kind words and recommendations.

Kind regards,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The sercvice is very good, we had excellent time. Food is more than good, pool and wellnes as well. I suggest to all people who want nice and peacefull time. Also, for people who like sports, this is right place. You wont need nothing more. The gym is very good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nikola P,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad your stay at our hotel was so pleasant since we are very proud of our food offer and of our staff who do their best to make every guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible. And as you noticed Poreč and Valamar facilities offer something for everyone. Since you enjoyed your stay at our hotel we hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed last week in June 2014, I'll not go into realms but would agree with all positive reviews already posted.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in excellent surrounds and pampered by excellent staff without exception.
Cant think of any negative issues, our stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Gary L,

Thank you for such a positive review.

We are happy you were so satisfied with our staff because they are the very heart of our hotel. We are also glad you liked our hotel and the town.

We are looking forward to seeing you again and in the meantime wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Valamar Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#6 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.9 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Diamant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Diamant Hotel

Property: Valamar Diamant Hotel
Address: Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porec
#2 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 Family Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#6 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Diamant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second to none for sports and relaxation in Porec Valamar Diamant Hotel is only a 10 minute stroll away from the historic centre of Porec. Surrounded by pine forests and pristine beaches, it offers the right balance of recreation, relaxation and exceptional buffet dining, including dietary meals. The Hotel’s recreational activities are second to none, especially when it comes to biking. It features a sports hall, outdoor pool, heated indoor pool and a wellness and beauty centre. During summer, guests can relax on nearby Brulo Beach or by the outdoor pool, walk by the sea, or take the tourist train to the centre of town. After a cycling tour, tennis match or diving lessons, a superb dining experience awaits you on the terrace of the hotel's show-cooking restaurant. When the weather is not too hot, it is the ideal time for sporting types to train. Guests can work out in our fitness centre with 40 modern machines and then relax in the steam bath, jacuzzi and large pool with geysers and waterfalls in our wellness centre. Whichever type of holiday you choose, our friendly and attentive staff will make sure you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valamar Diamant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Diamant Porec
Hotel Valamar Diamant
Diamant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing