We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that makes an effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2009

First a word about the resort - if you're bothered by wasps this is not the place for you! We travelled with Balkan Holidays and this seemed to give us the room with the poorest view in the hotel! The Diamant tries very hard to be a good quality hotel, it has a decent gym and spa centre with indoor and outdoor tennis courts and other sports facilities. Food was a good variety, good quality and very well laid out for a buffet, using circular stations rather than a long line. Bedrooms were fairly average, balcony and bathroom were tiny and cramped which let it down.

Holiday overall was spoilt by our last night, hotel was hosting a private function of some sort so we were rushed through dinner, entertainment usually finished around 11pm every night but this night it was right below us in the restaurant and having to get up at 5am for our flight were most displeased to find on calling to recepetion that it was due to go on until 2am that night! We complained and were moved up to a higher floor at the front of the hotel, though we didn't see much of it it was a far superior room.

Entertainment at the hotel and sister hotels was ok, more for background noise than something to watch. The walk into Porec takes about 10-15 minutes and is pleasant enough. Porec itself is very beautiful with a few bars and restaurants, though everything does seem to wind down early.

Trips out and about, we went to Venice for the day which was great, took advantage of the restaurant lunch organised by the boat. Also went on a Lim Fjord cruise on the boat Kristian which was a lovely relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessLightSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed for 1 week in September and had a very good experience. We booked the superior room with balcony and sea view, and we were very pleased with the room - it was very comfortable and we had all the space we needed. The hotel looks great on the inside - you need to look past the outside concrete blocks!

The food was great, there was plenty of choice for both the breakfast and the dinner buffet, and some parts of the buffet changed every day, so it didn't feel like it was always the same kind of food. There were plenty of healthy food options too.

The staff at the Diamant were super friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and they all speak good English.

At the start of our stay we had a couple of days when it rained pretty much the whole day, so it was great to have the indoor swimming pool, wellness centre and relaxation area.

We really liked the location of the hotel as well - it's a bit outside of the centre of Porec, so it's a bit more quiet, yet the walk to town only takes about 15 minutes. It's a really pleasant walk along the seaside, but if you are feeling tired, there's a also a mini-train that goes between the hotel and the town.

Overall we had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel. In fact, I'd recommend probably just about any hotel in the Valamar group - so far I've stayed at this one in Porec, the Castor in Rabac and also the Koralj on Krk island - and they were all really good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Diamant. We weren't happy with the first room that we were allocated as there was a constant noise coming from a plant room. We asked to be moved the next morning and the staff found us a much better room despite the hotel being full. The staff are very polite and helpful - the hotel group has a credo that nothing should be too much trouble for the staff and that although they are grateful for tips the service should still be of a high standard regardless. We went at a very busy time so it got a bit hectic in the dining room. There was always plenty of choice unless you went just before closing.

The grounds and public areas were very well kept and the walk into Porec along the coastline was excellent. I cant walk very far and there were benches every few yards for a quick perch. Being mid October meant that some of the local facilities were closing for the winter - notably the little train (Noddy) that runs into Porec and along to further flung hotels. The water taxi stopped running on the same day. (October 12th).

There are some fabulous trips to go on. Brioni island, Cruise to Lim canal and a fish picnic. Pula and Rovinj.

If you have an early start and need to skip breakfast the hotel will make you a packed lunch. You need to order the night before.

I hope to return someday soon.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FoofooEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Just returned from this super hotel. Great ....food excellent, nothing too much trouble for the staff, and when we return to Porec, which we hope to do very soon ,we shall certainly be coming back to this hotel. A big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Hotel as described but rooms and staff where excellent fascilities good and pool clean and well laid out ,poolside paving a bit uneaven and smooth concrete at access gate to pool very slippy,Poolside bar not to expensive and food good,walk to town well shaded and no cars takes 20min amenities good drinks in hotel resonable priced for a 4 star
took bus to Pula from Porec to site see very easy dont bother with a trip do it yourself and have some fun,
Food in restaurant was good but fairly bland dont expect anything spicy ,salads good and vegetarian seemed okay if you dont like what you have chosed get something else, orange juice at breakfast could be better but choice is overwhelming.
staf in restaurant where very good., dont go down first as we found eating later gave us access to sitting outside every day let the rush die down and go in the second hour there was always plent of food regardless of time you went down to breakfast or dinner.
porec very pretty and basilica and roman remains worth looking at the, area isnt that developed yet and still retains its basic charm.
the other valmar hotels along side this looked good and pools where larger and more for swimming than playing in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KetteringFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The three of us (two adults + our six year old daughter) visited Porec for three nights on our trip of Croatia and Slovenia. From the reviews on this site we already knew that the outside wasn't that appealing, so that was not a factor. Check-in went smooth and efficient. Front desk personnel was very friendly.

When we went up to our room , we found out that the lights in the corridor went on after entering it. At first our daughter was afraid of walking into a dark corridor, later on it became a game. They also put out lights in the lobby/restaurant area which made it a quite dark and less inviting. Energy conservation is great, but in this case it was definitely not improving the experience.

The room was excellent, although the bed of my daughter was not taken care of. Reception was very helpful in getting this done. The reason the hotel gets only a "poor"-mark was that one of the doors of the shower cabin was loose and could have fallen onto our daughter. This is basic safety and we cannot imagine how someone cleaning the shower has not noticed this. Reception was again very helpfull and the problem was corrected the next day.

For a buffet style restaurant, the food was very good with a lot of food that was prepared on the spot and well seasoned. It was lovely to sit outside for breakfast and dinner.

Both the outdoor and indoor swimming pools were great. At night most of the evenings they had some form of entertainment. For some people trying to sleep the loud music outside might be disturbing. From the hotel it is about 500 metres to the beach where they also have trampolines and some other small atractions for childer.

Porec itself is a nice little town where you come for sun and sea. but doesn't have a whole lot of sighseeing highlights except for the Basilica which was fine but not spectacular. Rovinj 30 minutes by car is the real highlight in the area. We also visited Pula which has a very nice amphitheatre.

All in all, the hotel in itself could have gained a four star status with its nice rooms and restaurant except for the unsafe situation with the shower cabin, not having prepared the bed for my daughter and the experiments with the lights in corridor and lobby. These problem couldn't be too hard to solve and will make the Valamar a real nice place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Diamant is a great hotel to stay at. The staff are all friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Things didn't get off to a great start when we arrived at 11.30 a.m. and our room wasn't ready. I guess that was a little early as check out is 10 a.m. Our initial room wasn't to our liking as there was a big air conditioning unit right outside the window and no view to speak of. However we were moved straight away when we said we were unhappy. Once moved, our room was great and very quiet. The restaurant cannot be faulted at all. The choice of food for breakfast and evening dinner was wonderful. We stayed a week and very few dishes were duplicated, apart from the salads, ice creams etc. The grassed area at the rear of the hotel is great for a quiet spot of sunbathing if you do not want to be around the pool area. Alternatively a short walk down to the sea will not only afford you lovely views but also some great spots for sunbathing. The coastal path into Porec is a lovely walk and why not try the train that runs every 35 mins. Better still hire a bike - it's great fun.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haloftermtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
1 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
1.5 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Diamant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Diamant Hotel

Address: Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 Family Hotel in Porec
#2 Best Value Hotel in Porec
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#6 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £66 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Diamant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second to none for sports and relaxation in Porec Valamar Diamant Hotel is only a 10 minute stroll away from the historic centre of Porec. Surrounded by pine forests and pristine beaches, it offers the right balance of recreation, relaxation and exceptional buffet dining, including dietary meals. The Hotel’s recreational activities are second to none, especially when it comes to biking. It features a sports hall, outdoor pool, heated indoor pool and a wellness and beauty centre. During summer, guests can relax on nearby Brulo Beach or by the outdoor pool, walk by the sea, or take the tourist train to the centre of town. After a cycling tour, tennis match or diving lessons, a superb dining experience awaits you on the terrace of the hotel's show-cooking restaurant. When the weather is not too hot, it is the ideal time for sporting types to train. Guests can work out in our fitness centre with 40 modern machines and then relax in the steam bath, jacuzzi and large pool with geysers and waterfalls in our wellness centre. Whichever type of holiday you choose, our friendly and attentive staff will make sure you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Diamant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Diamant Porec
Hotel Valamar Diamant
Diamant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing