We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very highly rated”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel would get a full 5 star rating were it not for the fact that it is plagued by what I term "absentee lounger landlords", those selfish, mean spirited people who lay a towel, tee shirt, piece of fabric or even yesterday's newspaper on a lounger (I actually mean up to 8 loungers, I counted them - watched a guy do it two mornings in a row) at 6.10 am and then appear at them again at around noon, leave at 12.30 for a spot of lunch, back for a lie down at 3pm then off again for a cocktail at 4.30......so needless and lacking in decency. Why not just turn up looking for a lsunbed when you want to have a swim or a lie down with your book? There would be plenty for everyone if it weren't for this practice of selfish greediness. I do think hotel management could sort the problem but maybe they see no need......

Right that grouse aside I now turn to the many pluses of this hotel starting with the grub, buffet food that is not just edible, it is delicious and the Gala dinner was a special treat. I am not generally a fan of this type of spread but if you have to eat buffet food this is definitely the way to go, plenty of variety, choice and flavours. Wine was reasonably priced, only house wine was available in the buffet restaurant but at 110 kn per bottle it was excellent value and palatable enough. We took the rose most evenings. The food on offer included several fish dishes, trout, salmon, bream, shark cooked in various ways, at least two pasta dishes, 4 + meat dishes and vegetarian choices as well. Desserts were numerous and their pistacio ice cream was brilliant. 9/10 for food then in our view, a superb score!!

Our room overlooked the sea through a veil of pine trees, so whilst we didn't have a stunning view we did have privacy on our balcony with a scent of pine cones. The room was well apppointed with masses of hanging space which is a rarity these days, well stocked mini bar, TV (never switched on so can't comment), a HUGE comfy bed, bathroom with drench shower as well as the normal hand attachment, towelling bathrobes and slippers, lots of towels - I mean lots, at least 2 bath sheets, 2 bath towels, 4 hand towels, a foot mat and flannels....all changed for fresh ones every day.

I liked the public areas and the pools were delightful - one fresh water and the other sea water. Down steps and through a gate led you to the sea, bathing platforms as well as a shingle pebble beach. The whole set up was spotless. There was a pleasant circuit you could walk in the evening, through the pine trees along past the gistening sea passing two or three restaurants and bringing you back to the main hotel entrance.

Staff were pleasant enough, most spoke good if not excellent English, and what they may lack in humour they make up for in effiiciency.

We would stay there again definitely.

Room Tip: Our room was number 242, a standard room but fulfilling every need we were aware of. This was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannahm843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank your for reviewing our Hotel Laguna Parentium here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you had problems with finding an available sunbed during your holiday, we do have to inform you this is a recurrent problem our guests refer to and we hope to manage it and find a solution by the next summer season.
On the other hand you enjoyed our other hotel services and facilities such as the food and drinks offer; the hotel’s position and cleanliness; the swimming pool areas and the efficient hotel personnel. All these positive feedbacks give us energy to keep on giving our best within our job.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    137
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
124
257
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I don't know how this hotel is not ranked higher! We stayed here 3 days in July and loved it. It is in a great location, on a peninsula which is slightly away from the other resorts (it did look worryingly close when driving in...). Though the hotel was fairly full it never felt busy and was not at all noisy. The pools were lovely and you could lounge overlooking the sea. The sunbeds were comfy and all had parasols which was a bonus. If you didn't fancy pool lounging you could take a wheely plastic lounger towards the beach or grassy area to be within sea-dipping distance.
I happen to wake early naturally and on glancing out of the balcony could see many loungers reserved with towels already (by 6.30am!) however this was totally unnecessary - you could rock up to the pool at any time and still have space as people were coming and going all day.
We witnessed a pretty terrific storm one afternoon and it looked like the pool area was devastated - cushions everywhere, umbrellas broken and flying around, pines in everywhere. However next morning there was no trace - a super clean up job!
This hotel was very clean, the rooms spacious with a good size balcony. I have never stayed at a resort type hotel before so would not know how to rate the self service style food, however there was ample choice and everything that I ate tasted good. The service to take drinks orders was quick however sometimes they did not arrive until we had finished eating!

One gripe which is not with the hotel but more with Expedia - we booked through Expedia and paid extra to upgrade to a sea-facing view. Being ignorant we assumed this meant we would be able to see the sea!! However on arrival, all we could see were pine trees. We went down to ask whether there had been a mistake but the receptionist pointed out that it was only sea-FACING we had booked. They never book out the real sea-view rooms through any 3rd parties. Luckily the hotel was not full and they were kind enough to move us at a small cost (6euros a day) but it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Go for Sea-facing view - the sunsets are wonderful. To do this book DIRECTLY through the hotel, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bewa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Laguna Parentium here on Tripadvisor. We are very glad and pleased you have enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services like the food offer, hardworking hotel personnel, hotel’s location and cleanliness. The good thing is you managed to solve the issues you had with Expedia.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at the Parentium but also other facilities belonging to our Laguna Poreč and send best regards until then.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel Laguna Parentium is located in Zelena Laguna, a resort village consisting of hotels, campings, vacation rentals, a marina, a small supermarket, souvenir stores and several bars and restaurants. Parking is at the hotel premises and costs 1 euro per night.
The center of Porec is about 6 km away and can be reached by car, by foot, by a little train (20 kuna per person, 1 way - approx 20 minutes), by bus (price unknown) and by water taxi (25 kuna per person, 1 way - 10-15 minutes). Just outside of Zelena Laguna are large grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc.
Many excursions leave from Zelena Laguna by bus or by boat (Plitvice Lakes National Park, Venice, Brijuni Islands, Postojna Caves, Fish Picnic, ...). Nearest airport is in Pula.

We immediately loved the spacious, airy lounge area with comfortable seats and relaxing colors. There was an incident that involved a much delayed check-in but this was solved in a fair manner by the hotel manager. Our nicely decorated rooms were located on the third floor and both had full sea view with a good size balcony. Both room and bathroom were very clean and spacious with lots of space for clothes. The beds were super comfortable and the air conditioning could be regulated for a perfect temperature.
The pool area was perfect! There are 2 outdoor pools of very good size, at least 3 hot tubs, a pool bar, lots of sunbeds both near the pools (with plenty of umbrellas) and on the lawn under the pine trees and near the sea. Pool staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept immaculately clean! The whole area breaths luxury and relaxation and all staff go out of their way to make it perfect for the guests.
Animators organize some activities (Croatian lessons, Zumba, dance, yoga,..) in the background, one is not obliged at all to participate.

Breakfast and dinner are served buffet style in the hotel restaurant. Wide selection of cold and hot dishes for breakfast.
Dinner buffet has many different cold and hot dishes, and many of the dishes are cooked on the spot. However, the quality was not always very good and food tasted a bit bland at times. The buffet at gala evening (Friday) was of a much higher level and was truly 4 stars.
Note that instead of eating dinner buffet style, one can get a voucher to be used toward dinner at Bacchus, the a la carte restaurant. We very much enjoyed the wine dinner at the Bacchus restaurant and we highly recommend it! Wine Dinner takes place on selected dates and can be reserved at reception. We loved our evenings at the hotel, sipping from a nice glass of wine and listening to wonderful live music.
All in all a wonderful hotel with a relaxing atmosphere and pleasant and helpfull staff.
We will definitely return and we highly recommend the Parentium.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Parentium as your holiday destination and especially for recommending it here on Tripadvisor. It is certainly a great pleasure to get to know you have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and you are thinking of coming back another time. Direct feedbacks of our guests help us to improve our services and that’s why we seriously take into consideration not only your compliments but also your critics (in this case about the food offer).
We are looking forward to seeing you again at our Hotel Laguna Parentium or any other facility we manage.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buadpest
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a 3 day weekend. Recommended by a friend, and ha was right, perfect location, sea all around, service nice, not too many people around. Nice bar in the pool:) We took a private boat to Porec. Very nice small city, with restaurants and little shops. We will come back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite, nice view, and value for money, big space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
What a short and lovely review! It is our pleasure to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our various services such as the location, the sea, pool bar and our town Poreč.
Hoping you will also spread the word with your friends just as your friend did by recommending us to you we would like to welcome you again any time soon in this or other hotels belonging to our company.
We are looking forward to your next visit and send our best regards until then!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is in a lovely position on a peninsula surrounded by pine trees with gardens going down to a very clear blue sea. The pool area was fabulous with two outdoor pools and one in door pool which was attached to the spa area. Loads of very comfy sunbeds and plenty of parasols which were definitely needed as the temperature topped 37 degrees when we were there. It was a bit of a pain having to 'bagsie' a couple of sunbeds each morning but it seemed that the whole hotel did this so if you can't beat them.........However it isn't really necessary as there are plenty to go around and there are fairly large grassy areas with the shade of the pine trees if you fancy getting away from the pool area. It was school summer holidays when we were there and lots of children in the pools but they were all so well behaved and a joy to watch. Our room was nice enough with a fairly good sea view and a large balcony. I was a bit disappointed to see that we only had a shower in the room and not a bath as I wasn't aware that there were rooms without baths. Very comfortable beds and good air conditioning. Corridors are a bit 'holiday inn(ish)' with very long boring corridors and unimaginative basic décor.

Our greeting on arrival could have been a bit more enthusiastic. I don't expect a fan fare but it would have been nice to have a bit of a smile and a hello. My husband thought that check in was very efficient as we were done and dusted in 5 minutes and he much prefers this to the usual prolonged check in that we have been subject to in many other hotels. However I would have preferred a little more warmth or even just a smile would have been nice!

I had a fabulous treatment in the spa and highly recommend this. It is all very professional and spotlessly clean. In fact the whole hotel is spotless. I don't know how it will age in years to come as some fixtures and fittings look as though they will only have a very short shelf life, such as the white canvas chairs in the a la carte restaurant and the shag pile carpet in the bedrooms so it will be interesting to see.

The hotel is 4 star and this is about right. Many of the areas of the hotel could definitely pass for 5 star but the main issue that lets it down is the quality of the food. We were on a half board basis (you can't swap dinner for lunch by the way). There is no problem in the quantity of the food but the quality does need to improve in my opinion. I would rate the food at 3 star in the main restaurants. There is an a la carte restaurant on the lower ground floor and we had lunch there each day and dinner there one evening. It was much nicer and I would recommend you try it. If you are on half board you can get a voucher which gives you 75 kuna per person towards the cost of the meal at the a la carte restaurant.

The hotel did make an effort with evening entertainment and at the very least there was a pianist in the main reception area. The animation team try their best also to get holidaymakers off their sunbeds with some success. We had a lovely relaxing holiday which did everything we expected it to.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room. The inside rooms do not have a view. Try and get a sea view room on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and especially for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to get to know most of our services satisfied your expectations and you managed to enjoy your holiday time. We do however have to thank you for your critic about our very busy and “not always smiling” hotel personnel during check in; we are aware of the fact that it is very difficult to please everyone but when it comes to that we do hope things can get better by the next summer season. Hoping to be able to welcome you again in this or any other hotel belonging to our Laguna Porec company we send you our best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A re-visit after a break of almost 40 years. This area has had a dramatic makeover in the time we have been away.
This hotel has had a recent complete makeover. Some of it good, some of it not so.
Reception is in a large lounge area. This was our first surprise. To sit on a very low armchair with the receptionist sat on a higher seat behind a desk was not a happy feeling. We were initially surprised at the lac k of a welcoming smiling face. Just a grim look was all we got!
We had read the reviews so asked for a sea view room (at an extra cost of 10 Euro per day) This was, quite frankly a waste of money. All rooms, except for those at the front of the hotel had similar good views. We had a limited sea view, but were above the restaurant with cooking smell invading our room at meal times.
The rooms are good sized, with fully carpeted floors. Good sized bathroom with walk in shower. All areas of the hotel are kept VERY clean by the hotel staff with carpets vacuumed daily.
There are 2 large swimming pools, pool towels provided by a ‘towel card’ Although there are more than enough sunbeds and parasols, these are reserved by towels from 0630 hrs! Even at 1000hrs, sunbeds are easily available.
The lounge area has been spoilt by the uses of the dreaded ‘Interior designers’ All of the seating is most uncomfortable. The seat bases are twice as long as normal with a low seat back. The only way to avoid lying down on the seats is to use 4 or 5 cushions at the back. There are numerous standard lamps, a curious design with arching stands. These are positioned so that it is difficult to sit or stand up from the seats without colliding with them. They also have long, trailing cables which make terrible trip hazards.
Although the signage says there are 2 restaurants, these are connected so you can choose from both menus. The choice at breakfast is always the same. Continental style, meat cheese etc. Fruit, although the fruit salad is tinned. Very fatty bacon, horrible sausage and partly cooked eggs. Unfortunately the dinner menu was not to our taste. If anyone would like to know the menu choice, please contact me via Tripadvisor. I would not wish to insult those who thought the food acceptable.
One other thing, why does no-one here smile? This must be one of the most unfriendly hotels in Europe? Representatives from hotel management are constantly walking around, why do they not interact with the guests?

Room Tip: Any area except those at the front. Ask for a outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Parentium. We are glad to get to know you have chosen it as your holiday destination and appreciated its cleanliness and various facilities like for example at the pool area. Your critics about unpleasant feelings with our hotel personnel and their grim smiles and no interaction will be taken as constructive and as a basis for an improvement for our future guests.
We do hope this wasn't your last visit to our Hotel Parentium and send best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Spacious, newly refurbished with wonderfully comfortable beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful and they gave great service. Any minor question / concern was resolved within minutes. When we arrived, we found we had been allocated rooms which looked over an internal sort of atrium - not what we were expecting from a holiday hotel. When we asked if a room change was possible, it was organised within minutes and we ended up with a lovely outlook over the lagoon.
There are two good sized swimming pools and a free towel service- the only concern about the pool was the temperature! It could be a bit bracing! There are however 5 jacuzzi dotted about which were much warmer. The ' beach' is just across a path at the foot of the garden. Typical of most of Croatia, there is no sand but paved areas with ladders to help you access the water. Much nicer than that sounds! You can sunbathe on loungers at the pools, on others beside the sea, or on lawn areas under trees.
The food was good with a wide variety - one whole area was devoted to fish dishes, while there was always a big selection of meats and pastas on offer too. Very good scrambled eggs at breakfast made fresh for each guest as required.
Although 5km from Porec, there is a coastal path which was a really pleasant walk in - but there is also a tourist train, a bus service and an hourly ferry service. The whole area is really pretty, beautifully maintained and scrupulously clean.
Although a good sized hotel, it was really quiet and peaceful - perhaps too much so for some! But there are livelier bars, restaurants and shops just a few hundred metres away.
We had a wonderfully relaxing time and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for an external facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Hunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate the time you've taken to write a review about our Hotel Laguna Parentium but we are certainly glad you did so especially because we found out your experience was a positive one and you thoroughly enjoyed our local food and drinks offer, our hotel's location and environment as well as its cleanliness and hard-working personnel.
As you already said you would happily return we would like just like to add we hope this will happen soon!
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.4 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
0.9 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
1.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Parentium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Parentium

Property: Hotel Laguna Parentium
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#4 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laguna Parentium 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istria and Porec are worth seeing at any time of the year, and whenever you come to Hotel Laguna Parentium you will find open doors, comfortable rooms and excellent service. Located on a green peninsula, it offers numerous amenities: two pools, wellness center, fitness, gourmet delicacies...The newly renovated Hotel Laguna Parentium offers through all the year a modern Mediterranean ambient for guests that are looking for special holidays. This hotel, with the longest tradition in the region, is located on a small green peninsula in fairy-tale natural surroundings, ideal for walks by the sea, tranquil lounging on the beach or sunbathing. Two new pools with massage and whirlpools in the terraces are exceptional experiences. You will be delighted by the variety and excellence of our gastronomic offer, which combined with SPA experiences, numerous sports and entertainment activities, will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laguna Parentium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parentium Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing