We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in the Valamar Rubin for 2 weeks in mid August. The hotel is in a great location 5 minutes from the waterfront and beaches with cafes/bars and parks and other amusements for the kids close by. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into Porec along a lovely pine wood lined pathway.Its is just far enough away to escape the town if you want to, which can get quite busy and loud of a night ,but not as far as the hotels in the Laguna area which would probably take you a good hour at least to walk into the town from, the 'noddy train ' being the other alternative to access it.There is a bus station in Porec which makes it easy to travel around and see a bit of the country and there are plenty of boat trips which leave daily from the marina.
The hotel itself cant be faulted for a 3 star. The reception and bar area are smart. The rooms are fine with free aircon and safe and the cleaner came in every day.We had the added bonus of a balcony, which we were under the imppression you had to pay more for, and a pool view.
More than ample choice at the buffets for breakfast and dinner and the food was to a high standard.
Great pool area and my son had a brilliant time, despite there being no other English families and children for him to play with, he managed to make some lovely German friends for the holiday they managed to communicate through sign language Where theres a will theres a way!!
The staff in all of the areas were always pleasant and very cheerful and helpful and this was the case in Croatia in general.
Would definately recommend the country and you cant go wrong by choosing the Valamar Rubin if you're looking to visit Porec.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir T, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Nancy,
thank you very much for taking time to write a review and also for staying in our hotel. It makes me proud to read such wonderful impressions and glad to see how much you enjoyed spending time with us.
I am looking forward to seeing you again in Valamar Rubin hotel.
kind regards,
A.Tikveša
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    138
    62
    9
    3
See reviews for
92
113
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Huge room, looks like we had the honeymoon suite. Large balcony with a clothes line, only negative was the shower in the bath, it was a little slippery. Great buffets for both dinner and breakfast.
Large lobby area with plenty of seating on different levels.
When buying food or drinks in towns have plenty of cash as credit cards are most often not accepted.

Room Tip: A bit out of the city but a little train takes you to the centre. Request a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir T, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Michael,
thank you very much for taking time to write a review and also for staying in our hotel.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you next time in Poreč in our hotel.
till then,
kind regards
A.Tikveša
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Valamar Rubin was an exceptional hotel.
The food was great, the location perfect. It only takes 10-15 minutes to walk from the hotel to Poreč. The children had great fun in the pool.
The room service was ok, comfy beds.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diocletian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich,UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in early October having spent 2 nights at another Valamar hotel on the other side of Porec. This was a good hotel and I cannot understand how it is so low in the recommended hotels list for Porec. First and foremost it has AIR CON. That alone should put it much higher in the chart. First impressions were wow. The reception area is bright, lots of space, fantastic furniture and modern. It was only let down by a miserable receptionist who told us we would have to wait until noon to check in (even without checking to see if the room was ready). Once this jobs worth disappeared we asked a very helpful lady who checked our room and said no problem it is ready and gave us the key. The room was a “romantic room” which listed all sorts of extras which it didn’t deliver however it did have a safe and mini bar. The view was great and it was really well furnished and had the most comfortable bed. Sleep however is not an easy option as the hotel has the thinnest doors to the corridor so from 06.00 you will be woken up from doors slamming, people talking etc. We could even hear a young baby crying from 4 rooms away.
The food was fantastic and I would give the dinner buffet 5 out of 5. The breakfast was average and not restocked very often. The coffee was luke warm as is often the case when hotels insist on serving it from insulated jugs which clearly do not keep the contents warm. The hotel is in a fantastic location amongst pine trees and the view from the room is to die for. The walk into Porec is either along the promenade or you can take a short cut and it takes under 10 minutes. The pool area is large and there were no shortage of sun beds and chairs. All in all a well deserved 4 out of 5 and we will definitely come back (though with ear plugs).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I've been spending my vacations with my family in Hotel Rubin for at least 10 times in last 20 years - and it was always perfect! No matter the age of kids (from baby to 18!) the service was always good, rooms clean and spacy, and the food just according to my taste.
The hotel should only be awound around 1st of May each year, as then it is full of loud guests from Slovenia! But normaly it is quiet and suitable for family with kids or elderly pairs!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sempervivum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

One of a group of three hotels. Best position nearest to beach, pleasant walk by sea-shore into town of Porec. Whole resort is amazing lots of places to swim or just relax on the rocks or grass. Had a room overlooking sea and trees, a bit small and a fridge would have been good to keep water cold. Very efficient quiet air conditioning system. Good sized swimming pool, buffet food excellent and plenty of space around although we were lucky as still in term time!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eShuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This is a good standard, tourist class, 3 star hotel.What sets it apart is that it occupies a stand alone site close to the Adriatic in pine woods.No traffic noise,no late night discos,hotel bar that closes at 11.30.If this sounds like a retirement home then that would be O.K. with me and most of the other patrons .
The room was unexceptional but clean and serviced properly every day ,the bathroom was showing some age but again properly cleaned daily.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent and above 3 star standard ,most of the meat and fish dishes were cooked in small quantities at the buffet so were always at their best . This was good mediterranean style food cooked and presented well.
Drinks prices were about +50% up on Porec town prices but the Rubin isn't really a place for drinking so much that you'd go broke.
My only gripe would be the price of local wines ,sub spanish quality at 3x the price,to
be fair the same wines were not cheap even in the supermarkets.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomandpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#7 of 33 in Porec
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
2.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Rubin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Rubin Hotel

Property: Valamar Rubin Hotel
Address: Brulo 3, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Rubin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hotel in Porec with just the right blend of relaxation, fun and gourmet experiences! Elegant features like a canopy bed in the room, the water massages in the outdoor pool and the terrace buffet restaurant with its view of the sunset, all make the Valamar Rubin Hotel in Porec the ideal place for a romantic getaway. Surrounded by fragrant Mediterranean plants near Brulo Beach, the shade of its pine trees and just a pleasant ten-minute walk from Porec old town, this hotel allows you to explore the sights, experience superb cuisine in the buffet restaurant and enjoy complete relaxation by the sea and pool. The hotel is located in the Brulo tourist resort, so you can take advantage of the fantastic facilities in the two neighbouring Valamar hotels: an all-day entertainment programme in the Valamar Crystal Hotel, and the superb wellness centre and fitness facilities in the Valamar Diamant Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Valamar Rubin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valamar Rubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing