We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had originally booked the Hotel Zagreb in Porec for a week through Valamar Group but with a few days to go they informed us by email that they could not honor the booking and offered us various (initially unsuitable) alternatives. After a lot of emails we came up with an acceptable agreement to stay at the Zagreb for 2 nights and then move to another hotel (we had to pay the taxi to move across town!). The Zagreb is a good 3* hotel and we were happy with it. As we went late September we did not require air con but I can see that in hot weather the room would be unbearable without air con. The reception staff were very friendly as were all staff. The food was really good though meal times were a feeding frenzy if you got your timing wrong. The guests were mostly over 60 and on coach holidays and 99% seemed to be German. The background music played throughout the hotel drove me mad and it was like being trapped inside a lift for the duration of the stay. The pool was fantastic and was not sea water as others have stated. The room and all areas of the hotel were so clean. We had a junior suite which was a good size and the bed was huge and really comfortable but the furniture was so cheap and looked like it had been furnished from a Pound shop. The walk into Porec is about ten minutes and not quite as pleasant as others had said as It does involve going past a derelict factory and a bus depot (try the walk from the other side of town along the sea – now that is a nice walk in). That aside it is a good hotel and great value. We would stay again (assuming our booking is not changed) though I would have real concerns of the lack of air con if the weather was in the high 20s.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Valamar Zagreb Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Zagreb hotel for 3 nights in June. The staff were very helpful. We stayed full board and the food was very good. The position of the hotel was excellent about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Porec.

The room was quite spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the pool and sea. We stayed with our 10 year old daughter who also loved the hotel and location. Lovely swimming pool and grounds.

Room Tip: Family room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomberlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great hotel and staff. Incredibly large buffer with delicious food. Walking distance to town. Porec is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

**Read this first if you are thinking of staying here! If you are thinking of staying at this hotel and you are booking the hotel independently (and not as part of a package) then email Valamar first. They will arrange a free private return taxi transfer for you if you are booking a stay of 3 nights or more - we had found cheap flights to Pula but the transfers came in at £200 which seemed ridiculous, so this saved a lot of hassle!**

This was our first visit to Croatia and owing to both the location and the hotel we will definitely be going back. The journey from Pula airport brings you in through a very commercialised part of Porec and your first impression of both Porec and the Hotel Zagreb will be that neither of them are very pretty. Do not let this first impression disappoint you!

The hotel itself is definitely not pretty from the outside, but it is in a fantastic location with lovely views (especially if you have a pool side room which means you look right out over the bay to the old town - see the pictures.) The reception area is light and pleasant, with the reception desk, a smaller reception desk for booking excursions through Gulliver Travel (which I believe are part of the TUI group,) seating areas, stairs to the restaurant and the lobby bar, which in turn leads out onto a veranda area by the pool.

We had a room on the fourth flour looking out onto the pool (and over the bay.) The rooms are small and basic, the upshot of this is that with two of you in the room you have to keep your stuff organised and tidy as there is little room to move about. This wasn't a problem for us as we weren't there to spend the day sitting in our room. Everything you could need is there however and there is plenty of useable storage space. We had a room with a french bed, which was very comfortable, and a nice departure from the usual European two single beds shoved together offering. The bathroom doesn't have a bath if this is a problem for you - just a shower, which was small but perfectly adequate (but as someone mentioned earlier, there is no shelf in the shower for your shampoo and things - a minor point, but a bit of an inconvenience which could be easily rectified.) There was always hot water any time of day. The rooms were cleaned everyday - you can choose how often you would like your towels and bedding changed (although I think we got new towels and bath mat every day without asking!)

The main drawback as far as the rooms are concerned is the lack of aircon. The temperature was around 30 degrees everyday so there was no denying that the room got very warm. There are shutters covering the entirity of the doors and windows though so you can pull these over and this does help slightly. We slept with the balcony door and windows open each night - which was fine, but meant you couldn't shut out the noise from the pool or bar areas. There was entertainment most nights until around half 11 / 12 o'clock which was not a problem, but, one night a large group staying in the hotel came back from a night out around 4am and decided to hang out by the pool instead of going to bed - they were very loud and nothing was done about this - not great when you were leaving at 7am the next morning on a day trip!

Food - the food at this hotel is excellent! We tend to go self catering and eat out on holiday but felt we got better value going half board here and we were definitely not disappointed! Even the fussiest of eaters would do just fine here. As someone mentioned before, its standard 3* fare, and not haute cuisine... but then thats what you've paid for! There was soup, a pasta and pizza selection each night, plenty of different fish to choose from, a selection of cooked meats, ie grilled pork, chicken or beef steaks, a local offering (always a meat dish, like beef stroganof or similar) which was always the tastiest, different potato and vegetable accompaniments (yes, chips were available every night for the non adventurous amongst you!) and every variety of salad dishes imaginable. There was a cooked pudding each night which was always really good, and everything from ice cream to trifle to mousse. Breakfast was also just as good, all of the usual cereal, toast and cooked breakfast offerings as well as a vast continental selection, but, the best reason to come to this hotel (especially I imagine if you have kids!) is that they make fresh pancakes and doughnuts all the way through the breakfast service! We never once had to wait for a table or for dishes to be restocked at either breakfast or dinner, and the restaurant and kitchen staff are fantastic, especially Marjia who was just lovely.

The pool is not huge and this may be a problem when the hotel is full. Most of the sunloungers and parasols are gone by mid morning (the perpetual chuck your towel onto a sun lounger before breakfast regardless of whether you are going to use it or not is unfortunately an issue here too.) Having said this, the beach is only a few hundred yards in front of the hotel, and although this is mostly either pebble or stone bathing areas, it goes on for miles and there are loads of areas with sun loungers, and despite a number of disappointed reviewers, it is a nice area to go sit by. There are designated areas for swimming in the sea (which is beautifully clear) and there are steps and walkways so you do not have to walk over rocks to get into the water. There are loads of activities to entertain young and old alike along the sea front (we took a jet ski out around the bay and highly recommend it!)

The location of the hotel is fantastic - it has the best of being near enough the beach whilst still being a pleasant walk into town. The walk even at a leisurely pace takes no more than 10 minutes, and then you can wander round the old town and its beautiful streets or around the marina, where you can sit and watch the sun set. There are plenty of bars and clubs in town for anyone looking for something a bit more lively. If you don't fancy the walk, there is a tourist train which runs from the beach front into the town.

We spent a lot of our time around the old town - a visit to the Euphrasian Basilica is totally worth it for the views out over the town, but we also went on two day trips. Will review each of these seperately, but in short we booked with Kompass for a day trip to Venice on the Prince of Venice catamaran. This was a great trip - Kompass gave us the best price (299 Kuna) but then they try to add on loads of extras once you get on the boat - don't feel you need to do any of these, there are alternatives once you arrive! We also booked a trip to Slovenia with Gulliver Travel which took in the Postojna Caves (fantastic, definitely worth going to see!) and the Lipca Lipizanner stud, which was also really good (but go on a Tuesday, Friday or Sunday when they do classical riding school performances.)

The only real concern I have over the Zagreb may be unfounded, but might be worth checking if it is an issue for you - to get to both the restaurant and to the lifts you have to go up a short flight of steps. Twice we saw people in wheelchairs having to go up or down these steps - I'm not sure if there was an alternative to this so might be worth enquiring about before hand.

In all, I'd absolutely reccommend the Zagreb Hotel and indeed the Valamar chain. I'd highly recommend Porec as a destination - I know I will definitely be back there!

Room Tip: For a view of the old town, ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank In_My_Little_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb_hotel, General Manager at Valamar Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear In_My_Little_World,
Thank You very much for taking time to write such a comprehensive and objective review. I am sure many future guests will find it helpful. We will take Your advices and try to work out the issues You pointed out. We're all hoping to see You again soon. Kind regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I've just come back from a week in Hotel Zagreb with half board treatment and it's been great!It was me,my husband and our one year old boy,we had a nice,big room on th park,there was no aircon but there was no need,in the night we had to use blankets.There're beautiful beaches you can choose at a short waliking distance, there's the nice city of Porec at about 10 min on foot or you can take the train that runs every 40 minutes.The food was very good,the personnel trained and nice,music program every night,clean everywhere.Nice,nice,nice experience,surely worth the price!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtsCastelfrancoVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Brilliant hotel. Relaxed atmosphere. Quiet. All staff very helpful.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank chieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The rooms are small but tidy. Good choice of food every day, which was also very tasty. All the waiters were friendly and unobtrusive. It`s true that there is no air-conditioning but that wasn`t a problem in April...
For the pre-season price, Zagreb was more than excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kepa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.5 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.4 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
1.3 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Porec
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Zagreb Hotel

Address: Pical 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#9 Family Hotel in Porec
#9 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £90 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Zagreb Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great hotel in Poreč now with even more exciting features Already a firm favourite among Poreč admirers, the newly upgraded and refurbished Valamar Zagreb Hotel is located near the stunning beachfront in quiet surroundings, only a relaxing scenic stroll from the old town of Poreč. The tranquil Mediterranean parkland setting and recent extensive renovations that include an impressive show cooking restaurant with an even larger panoramic terrace, spacious rooms, innovative children's programs at the Maro Club and beach with unforgettable view of Poreč allow you to spend a carefree holiday at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing