We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but sort the sunbeds out please.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but sort the sunbeds out please.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in Croatia and have to say it is one of the most beautiful places we have seen. The hotel is spotless and the cleaners and waiters work really hard cleaning and clearing tables. They are all very polite too. The restaurant can be chaotic but that is mainly due to the ignorant people using it!! The British people all queued and got a sensible size plate of food, I ate what I wanted and went back for more, but our German & Russian visitors were so rude and greedy it was untrue!! The got about 5 plates of food and left half of it, they took all the fruit and put it in their bags so they could eat it by the pool!. We saw one family making sandwiches and filling water bottles with the free wine!!! These people spoil it for the rest of us.The food is nice, and we always found something we liked, people need to remember that they are in a foreign country and chicken, beef and other meats are cooked differently. There were always 2 kinds of soup, and plenty of salads, so I am suprised when people complain about it. It was exactly the same as the places we ate on a lunch time in the town. The sunbeds were always taken early morning but they never came to sit on them till mid afternoon, so the one hour rule of reserving a sunbed is a bit of a joke. I must admit by the end of the holiday I found myself putting my towel on before breakfast, I bet it is really bad in peak season. Our room was ok because we had a balcony, but the ones without seemed really dark because the shutters didn't open so I am glad we paid extra for a balcony. The entertainment was ok and even though the groups were not english we all had a good time and got up to dance. The little train is brilliant and well worth the 20 kunars each. Other people have said the walk to town is about 20 mins, but its more like 40 minutes steady strolling. The town of Porec is really lovely, but make sure you ladies take flat shoes because the cobbles are lethal. We had a brilliant time, met some lovely people and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony, the rooms at the back seemed bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank coconutjoBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to show our gratitude for having found the time to write and send a review about your stay at our Hotel Laguna Mediteran especially because it is a super positive one! You brought extreme pleasure letting us know our services (food and drinks, hotel personnel etc.) were up to your expectations.
So please do not hesitate to come back again!
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    199
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
134
294
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from 10days at this hotel with Thomson.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and well appointed in the main areas but the dining room is chaos. The design of the food service areas is poor and bottlenecks are created when selecting food thus creating ill tempered people. It is also difficult to appreciate the food offered as you reach the point were you can't be bothered with the queues so you just eat whatever does not have a queue by it.

We had a front bedroom with the louvre shutters which did not open even the small square of open space which could not be called a balcony had a shutter in front creating quite a dark room. The rooms with balcony's were the same size but appeared much bigger because they were lighter and had the outside space to sit we could only sit on the bed. The rooms also need drawer space.

The pool area is not large enough and some sunbeds were 3 deep to fit enough around the area and pool towels were not provided. The coffee shop only served cheese or ham or ham and cheese sandwiches at lunchtime we could not understand why a more comprehensive menu was not put on because people would have stayed by the pool and not gone out for lunch.

I have to sat that all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We will return to Porec but not to this Hotel

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a sea or side sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giraffefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,
We are very glad you have chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran as your holiday destination. Your direct feedback (with both your critics and compliments) will help us a lot when it comes to changes and improvements to be made before the next summer reopening.
As you already pointed yourself we would like to invite you to visit us again soon in another structure belonging to our Laguna Poreč
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was the first time at this hotel and WOW!! Everything was spotlessly clean, modern décor and beautiful outdoor areas Our room was overlooking the sea and pool which was fabulous. Good size room complete with sofa and coffee table. Modern bathroom with large walk in shower. This was home from home for me and could not fault the room at all. Everything at this hotel was first class I havnt really anything bad to say about it other than a lot of the parasols round the pool area were broken, you had to go hunting for one that was ok but not really a problem. The food was very good with lots of choice and free drinks during the dinner time. You could sit out side to dine if you so wished but it was a little dark in the evening not lit up enough. Waiters and all staff were excellent. Entertainment was held outside every evening and was very good which was a surprise. Would I go again - MOST DEFINATELY!

Room Tip: We had room number 153 this was on the first floor and overlooked the sea and pool, excellent positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay at our Hotel Laguna Mediteran. It is our immense joy knowing our services such as the food and drinks offer, hotel's location, hotel personnel and everything else managed to entirely meet your expectations .

We are also most definitely looking forward to hosting you again any time soon.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Laguna Mediteran is in a fantastic location and you can be on your own if you want, in the many small coves and rocky "beaches" in the area. Porec is a great place to visit and there are many other places to see from here.
The restaurant in the Laguna Mediteran left a lot to be desired. The food was plentiful and varied, but much of it didn't look very appetising. That said, I have has worse in other hotels and thankfully I was not ill!! There are free drinks at meal times.
The is a large queue for the outside seating from about 6pm (the restaurant opens at 6.30pm), so I ate mainly in the "canteen-type" area inside.
The cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional, as was the security. I witnessed security guards patrolling on a couple of occasions, although I did not expect there to be any problems in the area.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, although I did notice a couple of people were not happy with some elements of the hotel.
The pool was clean and there are plenty of sunbeds, if you need them.
Overall the hotel somewhat belies its 3 star rating. I would rate it at least 3 and a half or more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Laguna Mediteran and especially for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor! It is our great honor and pleasure to get to know your time spent in Poreč was a lovely one.

Your critic about the restaurant will be taken into consideration and we hope to be able to improve our food and drinks offer until the next season's reopening.

We would therefore like to invite you to visit us again and send our warmest greetings until then.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Laguna Mediteran the last august week with halfboard. Our expectations were high because of the positive reviews on this site. Maybe that's why we were a little disappointed with the food. There's lots of it, it's true, but not very healthy. The meat was most of the time fried in oil and so were the cooked vegetables. There was always pizza and pasta, but it wasn't exquisite. I liked that they had lots of fruit for dessert. I would have wished for more dinners with a theme like I had on other trips and which I personally liked very much. There was only once a croatian dinner with roasted suckling pig, lamb and seafood, but that was all.
I liked the surrounding of the hotel very much. It is situated in a pine forest and it is amazing to wake up with the smell of Christmas in your nose and then go 100 meters and feel the sea breeze. A great combination. For people trying to avoid the sun it was great to lie down in the forest between bathing sessions. The road to the town center of Porec was also through this forest and very beautiful. The only thing that bothered us was that pedestrians had to share the road with the bikers. There were a lot of bike-taxis which drove very fast and we had to be careful not to be run over by them. You can also get to town by a small train, it costs 20 kuna.
There is not much to do in Porec. The shops are filled with the same stuff. We once went minigolfing, which was fun and we took a ride with the 5D machine. The boat trip to Venice which we planned turned out to be to expensive for our budget (60 Euro/person). Instead we visited Pula and the cave in Postojna (Slovenia).
Back to the hotel. We parked for free at the parking lot there, without announcing the reception that we were travelling by car. I understood that else they do charge you 3 Euro/day. So we saved us some money. The reception staff was ok, but try not to change euros into kuna there, because they charge 3% commission, which is a lot. There are banks in the town and they don't charge any commission.
The pool was ok, but much too cold for my taste. The sea water was warmer. I would have liked a pool with normal water, instead it was as salty as the sea water. There were enough sun beds for everyone.
The room was huge with comfortable beds and they changed the sheats every 3 days. The bathroom was very big too. The only thing missing in the room was a fridge, which you could get for 3 Euro/day from reception.
They had aquagym twice a day in the pool and animation at night.
It was a pleasant stay and we would go back some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sib C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to read your positive comments regarding your stay at our Hotel Laguna Mediteran. We are very glad to know most of our services were satisfying and managed to meet your expectations.

Therefore we would like to invite you to visit us again any time at this or any other Laguna Poreč facility.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked through thompson for me and my partner, and the hotel is based in a beautiful place. absolutely love porec, the hotel is smart and clean. we booked a half board as it was a good deal.
The room was smart, we booked a standard room and as long as it is clean i am happy. i have no use for a balcony as we spent very little time in the room. Our maid was faultless, she had a challenging job each day servicing our room but she did a grand job.

The pool was freezing, to the point where i couldn't stay in it for too long. some days it was just ridiculous. they did aqua aerobics, every day, started to get a bit tiredsome after 6 days to be honest, same music each day.
the bar was lovely and the evening entertainment was well thought of, although we went out most nights.

the restaurant however irritated the life out of me, they said that dinner was served 6.30-9pm. It was sit yourself and help yourself, and i was not impressed at all, you spent half your time looking for a table, then you had to get up in turn to get your food so the table didn't get taken. no service what so ever, help yourself to drinks. Couldn't even get a gin and tonic as it was help yourself to soft drinks or beer or wine. literally nothing more.
it was heaving no matter what time you went, it was carnage and a constant battle to get a meal, children wandering around with bowls of hot soup desperately trying to fight the over flow of people.
It was awful and i was so annoyed id paid for it.
On the last night we walked into the restaurant at 8.50pm. (it shuts at 9) at 9.10pm they started taking food in!!!! we were completely rushed and there was no desserts left out as they had taken them in. and i wasn't the only one who had been disappointed by this rush as several people who saw the food been taken in started piling their plates high with food in order t make sure they got fed! At 9.40pm one of the clearers came over to us and told us the restaurant was closed and we had to get out. my partner was still eating and i still had a glass of wine! i couldnt believe how rude he was! we were doing no harm siting there as he had plenty more tables to clean before having to "kick us out."

i really was disgusted with the carnage that they called dinner. Eat out!!!!! there are beautiful restaurants in porec and lots of them!

hotel clean and facilities brilliant. based in a beautiful place. just avoid dinner!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: im sure rooms with balconies are lovely, but completely unnecessary for busy people like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran as your holiday structure in Porec. We are glad you have managed to spend some quality time within our place even if you had gone through quite a hassle with the restaurant during dinner time. We would like to inform you this critic has been already taken in consideration and used as a constructive one in order to see if there any possible solutions to solve this issue.

We hope this problem won't be the reason for you not to visit us again.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here as a part of a Thomson holiday. I must admit I was a bit anxious about our room having read the reviews as I knew we had a room with no balcony. However, our room (A258)was NOT "dingy" and " dark ". It was on the small side but very clean and comfortable. It reminded me a bit of a Travelodge room but with better furniture. The bathroom was fine with two showers to choose, a monsoon and "normal" shower head. The hairdryer is one of those "on the wall , with plastic extension tube which hinders movement when drying your hair. It provided a bit more than a puff of air though so I managed. (If a strong flow of air and a long lead are important to you take your own!). Our daughter had a single room which turned out to be a small double with a balcony overlooking the gardens (only one shower head) but this was more than adequate for one. This was room D233.
It is a 3 star hotel ( I think) and I would go along with that rating. The hotel is large but the service is good and there are plenty of staff, all spotless in their uniforms. Some of the staff in the restaurant at dinner are rather over zealous in their enthusiasm to clear the plates but it is rather harsh to criticise that aspect.
We arrived on Tuesday 27 August but the hotel's welcome drink was on the Monday following which was also the day of the themed dinner. There was a good selection of welcome drinks and you didn't seem to be restricted to one drink. There were also nibbles and some "traditional" singers who were rather good. The themed dinner was "the fisherman's dinner" but there was enough choice for the meat eaters/vegetarians too.
The buffet aspect for meals was a concern for me having experienced rather poor buffets in the past and not liking to queue for my food. However, the food here was rather good, so much choice and it really didn't matter if you came late on in the dinner service as the food is replenished and is on the hot side of warm. It was never lukewarm. Plates are hot or cold depending on what you are going to choose. The selection and quality of the fruit, salads and veg were excellent. There was always a choice of meats, fish, pasta, rice veggie options and local cuisine. There was on occasion, however, the feeling of being continually rushing to eat, often there was a queue for certain things (eg pizza, ice cream, certain fish/meat) and then you could be jostled by "over eager" people. This latter behaviour was rude and certainly not justified as there was enough food and space for all. If you want to sit outside though you will have to get there early and yes, probably queue at dinner for that. I would not say the dinner experience was always relaxing which was a little disappointing and was the only downside to this stay. However, that is a very subjective comment.
There is aqua aerobics (rather genteel) and evening entertainment. The walk to Porec town is lovely. We did however do two water taxis back to Brulo harbour from town . One in the afternoon and one late at night. Ok it was a treat but worth it and great fun - love the speed. Blankets were offered for the night trip as it was a little chilly which I thought was sweet. Hotel well placed for trips, buses and cycling to the nearby towns of Vrsar and Rovinj.
I did note that if you need a wheelchair or can't walk very far, this is probably not the best choice for you.
Staff are helpful and friendly.
It seems to be a good place for young children too.
Clientele mainly Germans and Russians with a few Italians , so, great to practise your language skills.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool will have a balcony but may hear the entertainment from this hotel and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran and for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure getting to read most of our services were up to your standards and expectations.

On the other hand we must also say your critics have already been taken into consideration in order to try and improve some of our services for our next summer season.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon either within this or any other Laguna Poreč facility we send our best regards.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.8 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#6 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Property: Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Address: Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porec
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Mediteran is only an easy 15 minute walk away from Porec. It is surrounded by a natural forest of cedar and oak trees, and the newly renovated hotel rooms provide a comfortable shelter after days and nights filled with numerous activities. A vacation your family deserves - Hotel Laguna Mediteran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing