We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nearly 30 yrs ago I visited Croatia (then Yugoslavia) with my parents and had a fabulous holiday staying in Umag. With my own daughter, I wanted to return and saw Jet2Holidays flew from Newcastle so booked for our family to go to Porec as Umag didn't seem to be as popular as it was back then.

Drive to the hotel MUCH quicker due to new toll road! Reception staff efficient and quick which was great as our daughter (aged 3) was tired from travelling all day. We had a room on the ground floor facing towards the road but did have a balcony. Room was large enough for 2.5 cases (trunki plus two normal sized bags). Shower rather than a bath which my daughter didn't like much but it was spotless clean. Most of the TV channels in German / Italian etc - though Dora the Explorer pretty much works in any language ;)

Restaurant had a good selection which meant my daughter could try different things in small portions. Yes, it's a bit of a free for all at times but arriving early or late and it was usually quiet and all the food was piping hot. There is a fish theme night one night a week with white linen, candles etc which was lovely.

The kiddy pool is FREEZING...like truly BALTIC COLD (and that was the end of August / start of September). After 10 minutes, my daughters lips were going blue...yes, THAT COLD. It's salt water which is fine but please, please, PLEASE can it be heated?!

The hotel is surrounded by cedar trees and the walk to Porec takes about 20 minutes though there is a little "train" that stops at most of the hotels and is every 20 minutes or so. Directly outside the back of the hotel is a small play park (big hit with daughter).

Porec is a pretty town but the shops are hit and miss - too many have cheap Chinese products rather than local produce which is a real shame. There are a few gems (leather bag shop with hand made bags - expensive yes but good quality...but there are also other "bag shops" that have pleather at the same price as leather in the UK!).

Ice cream is to die for!! One word - YUMMY!

Day trips
Lipica and Postonja Caves. Had visited as a child and wanted to see again. Caves stunning but disappointed by Lipica. Tour was rushed and missed half of it having to be back at the bus for a specified time. Lunch is included as full day tour

Best of Istria - all day tour that takes in Pula and some of the countryside. Lunch is included and is at a farm. Gives a good overview of the area and history.

Rovinj
Very pretty town (we travelled by boat from Porec) but again, suffers from the Chinese buying issue.

Croatia had just joined the EU and there seems to be a lot of development going on (no McDonalds...yet!) with an Aqua Park due to open in 2014. A large shopping mall was also meant to open in 2013 but was still a hole in the ground and I'm not holding my breath for it being open in 2014 either.

With Slovenia just a stones throw away, would be nice if the buses were a bit more reliable / frequent as getting about not as easy (difficult to get to Portoroz and Piran as a day trip and NOT offered as part of the Jet2 tours - this would be a nice option).

If you're looking for a quieter family holiday with small children (without the lager louts) then this is perfect. We're going back again this year (same hotel as well) and already looking forward to it...perhaps one day my daughter will take her own family there with fond memories of when she was a child....

[we visited August 2013 flying Jet2Holidays for Newcastle. They now also fly from Scotland and offer Free kids places for selected dates]

Room Tip: Many of the rooms to the front of hotel have metal shutters and no balcony. Rooms overlooking pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for this lovely review! You have given to our future guests geat tips regarding the surrounding and nearby places to see. We are happy to hear that you spent a nice time and were satisfied with our hotel Laguna Mediteran.

Thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff on which we are especially proud. We would like to take advantage on this opportunitiy and inform you that have taken into consideration your suggestion regarding the children's pool. Also, we are happy to inform you that the building of the Aqua Park nearby is going very fast.

We are glad to hear that you already booked you stay by us for this summer and are waiting for you to provide you one more great holiday. Best regards!

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

A lovely hotel in a beautifu area. Very comfortable and clean, in an ideal location, within walking distance of beautiful Porec.Lovely walks along the coastal paths with stunning views. Beautiful clear sea for swimming even though no beaches. The pool at the hotel was icy cold, you had to be very brave to take a dip .....the sea was warmer ! ! The thing that we were dissapointed with at the Mediteran was the organisation of the dining room. The food was lovely but the atmosphere was like a school canteen with many people filling their bags for later in the day at breakfast time and also filling water bottles with wine !! The staff obviously knew this was going on but seemed to ignore it.Porec is a beautiful place and the hotel is lovely,such a shame about the dining experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family4cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel Laguna Mediteran as a destination of your holiday. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice time in our resort and have enjoyed in the 'sea atmosphere'. The reviews of our guests are of high importance for us, it's always heplful to know the guests thoughts and opinions.

On this ocassion we would like to inform you that you suggestions regarding the organization in the dining room are already taken into consideration. We are looking foward on hosting you again in Laguna Poreč and sending our best regards!

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed for a week half board at the mediteran what alovely hotel we stayed in room 150 and had a great view our first visit to Croatia but certainly not our last porec is wonderful little cobbled streets with plenty of shops and bars we had a perfect stay even took a trip to venice on the boat . hotel is spotless and clean and the food is first class everything you need to make it a relaxing holiday well done staff keep up the good work and hope to see you in the future .

Room Tip: room 150 is the best the room is grand and the bed is massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review about your stay at our Hotel Mediteran. We are extremely delighted getting to know your stay was pleasant and you managed to enjoy our facilities and services such as food and drinks offer, cleanliness and hard-working hotel personnel.

We would like to wish you all the best in 2014 and hope to see again soon at our marvellous Mediteran!

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We returned from this holiday feeling refreshed the hotel is great, good food helpful staff
and our Rep (Jet 2) was great . Everything clean Hotel and outdoors impressed also with Porec
itself lovely historic town with everything to offer for the perfect holiday both for couples and families

Room Tip: make sure your room as a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel Mediteran here on Tripadvisor! It is our pleasure reading positive reviews and direct feedback of our guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at this or any other facility belonging to Laguna Porec.

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely 10 day stay at the Hotel Mediteran. I would rate this hotel as higher than 3 star. It has been refurbished to a high standard, all clean modern lines with lots of glass and chrome. Unfortunately when designing the dining room, no thought appears to have been given to acoustics. Removing fabrics has led to an increase in noise, as people have previously said, it is like eating in a canteen. We were able to eat outside for most of our stay and found this a much more pleasant experience, although there does need to be more outside lighting. We enjoyed the food and found there was plenty of choice both at breakfast and evening meals. Having free drinks was a real bonus and saved us quite a bit of money. At this time of year we also found no difficulty getting to the food and no evidence of people taking food out of the dining room. There was no need to be early, as food was replenished at regular intervals. At the end of September the clients tend to be mainly couples with very few children in evidence. We had a superb room on the first floor Level B. We had not paid extra for a sea view and were pleasantly surprised to have such a wonderful view over the pool and sea with the evening sun making it a pleasure to sit on the balcony before going to dinner. The hotel is in a superb location with lovely walkways/cycleways along the coast and easy access to the sea. The pool is heated at this time of year but more salty than the sea!
The little train is an easy way to get into Porec or the opposite way to the Laguna area. The quick way to walk into Porec is through the trees and not along the front - this takes about 20 minutes.

We last visited the Istrian Peninsula 33 years ago and found the trips to be more or less identical, so opted to do local visits instead. Who wants to spend 4 hours in a coach getting to Lake Bled? (fantastic place - but go there on another holiday). Cycling is by far the easiest way to get about. The Information Centre will give you cycle maps and info. If you want to cycle a distance then go to the cycle hire near Porec (if you're going that way) or get the little train in the opposite direction to Zelena Laguna and hire a bike from there. Cycle hire is around 80 Kuna for the day. We cycled to Funtana, Vrsar and onto the Limski Canal. The cycle hire nearest the hotel has quite basic bikes and no assistance if there are problems! (fine if you're not going far). Do try the local buses but do make sure you ask and ask again to make sure you know when and where the bus is going from. We found the ticket office in Porec to be less than helpful. The signs are not always correct and the destinations on the buses do not always reflect all the places they are going to. Many buses do not run at the weekend.
Novigrad (about 20 mins away) is a lovely place to visit with a small old town, beautiful church and walkway around the harbour and marina - lots of pleasant places to eat and drink. The bus going there is the one to Umag but coming back the bus did not have Porec on the front and if we had not asked, we could have been stranded.
Rovinj is well worth a visit and you can get there by local bus but not at the weekend. Rovinj is part of the 'picnic' boat tour but if you want to spend longer than 2 hours then do go by bus.
Pazin, in the interior is an interesting place with a castle and gorge. For thrill seekers, the gorge has a new zip line.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on B level get the late evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank YAG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing our Laguna Molindrio and returning to Istria after so many years :) We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel with most of our services being satisfactory.
Big thanks for compliments about rating it more than three stars!

We are looking forward to having you again as our guest and send our best regards until then.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel the last week of season, 28th Sept 2013.
The hotel is impressive with glass walls looking out to the swimming pool & forest, lovely contemporary design, very clean & modern. The hotel is in a beautiful & peaceful location, around 20 mins walk along the coastline to the gorgeous town of Porec. Or you can take the tourist train for 20 kuna per person - £2.00 from the front of the hotel.
However, there's room for improvement, as listed below.
GOOD:
The decor & ambience of the hotel are lovely.
Set in a lovely peaceful location surrounded by forest & near the coastline.
Food - a lot of choices & at a good standard.
Hotel is clean, comfortable & relaxing.
Drinks both soft & alcoholic are INCLUDED at breakfast & dinner. Tea both regular, herbal & fruit, coffee, chocolate, water, fruit juice, fizzy drinks, white & red wine, & beer.
The bar - cocktails were great & reasonably priced.
2 lovely lounge areas as well as lovely outdoor seating available.
Heated swimming pool in "winter" = beginning & end of season.
Near beautiful Porec, either walking or take the tourist train.
Near the local supermarket.

FOR IMPROVEMENT:
The dining room - if you don't know the 'system', it's confusing. Thankfully we read reviews before we went. The 'system' is that you help yourself to drinks & use these to reserve your table. Then you help yourself to the buffet provided. Finding a table can be tricky at busy times, you may have to share a table for 4 with strangers if you're a couple. There can be queues to help yourself to the buffet or live cooking. The dining room staff are only there to clear or set up tables. They all look miserable & aren't friendly or helpful. Frozen vegetables are used apart from the salad section. The person 'greeting' you as you enter the dining room isn't friendly or welcoming. You're required to give her your room number before you enter both @ breakfast & dinner! She doesn't even smile!

The reception - unfriendly & very business like.

Double bedrooms without sea view - at the front of the building with no balcony. Windows don't open & have permanent shutters. You can open a door to a postage stamp size area where you can look out to see what the weather's like. Luggage rack is tiny, very awkward when you have 2 large cases! We were given 2 small & 2 medium size towels between us daily if wished. We managed, but it would be better if there were large towels as well.

Fridge & safety deposit box - you have to request using them & you have to pay a daily charge.

Sun beds - very hard plastic loungers. Not comfortable at all. The hotel should provide padding or replace them entirely.

Swimming pool - is salt water & very high in salt, so quite difficult to swim in. Would be better if it was chlorinated. Also pool towels not provided.

Bar snacks - ok quality, so if you want a nice lunch, going into Porec is a must.

Entertainment - it was ok, but if you want something more lively, you're in the wrong hotel & resort!

THE HOTEL IS TOTALLY UNSUITABLE FOR WHEELCHAIR USERS or anyone with walking/mobility difficulties, as there are steps everywhere.

Having said all of the above, we had a lovely holiday & would certainly go back again. Plus, if you want to go, go in 2014 before the Euro comes in 2015!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for this very detailed review about your stay at our Laguna Mediteran! We see you definitely are a very careful person and are glad we managed to meet up to your expectations in at least half of our offered services within this hotel.

Both your negative and positive comments will be seriously considered in order to improve for the next summer season where necessary.

We are looking forward to seeing you again any time soon!

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel has been refurbished, and with all the glass it gives it a bright and airy feel, food was lovely with plenty of choice, and there omelettes were the best I've tasted, the manager was always around and had a cheary hello for everyone, beautiful setting, plenty of walks, and the sea was crystal clear. the near Town Porec was a lovely historic town, with lovely old streets, and the towers were a great place to see the city have a meal and a drink.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room, with a belcony, I would say this was agood option, as not much noise, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathryn q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate you have found the time to review your stay at our Mediteran Hotel here on Tripadvisor. It is very pleasant to read this very positive description and getting to know you enjoyed our food offer and hard-working hotel personnel.

Looking forward to seeing you again any time soon within this or any other facility belonging to our Laguna Porec.

Warm greetings
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.8 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Address: Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porec
#3 Family Hotel in Porec
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Mediteran is only an easy 15 minute walk away from Porec. It is surrounded by a natural forest of cedar and oak trees, and the newly renovated hotel rooms provide a comfortable shelter after days and nights filled with numerous activities. A vacation your family deserves - Hotel Laguna Mediteran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing