We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lanterna NO! Restaurant Delfin Yes!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments Lanterna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Lanterna
Ranked #5 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Porec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lanterna NO! Restaurant Delfin Yes!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Fortunately we had wonderful dining experiences at Retaurant Delfin and that was the only good thing about the services here. Fantastic beaches, and this could be a real gem if there were any semblance of customer service.

We when we tried to speak with the manager early in our stay we were asked why and told we would get an evaluation form at the end of our stay. Having asked several times we have now waited 45 minutes for the form, and still no form.

We have a confirmation e-mail stating we booked a 3 bedroom apt, though before arrival we were told that have no such apt.

Had to ask to have the apt cleaned, and then they did a poor job.

Enjoyed our stay with Valamar last year, but cannot recommend them since the quality if service varies so greatly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuestJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    88
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
83
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

It was the first time that we were there. Overall I could say that it was a normal stay.
The beach is really wonderful and if you take your goggles you will see fishes and the rest of the beautiful submarine world.
Thongs are necessary.
Weather was really great too so we were at the beach every day.
The accommodation is okay, like i said before.
The only one thing that was negative was the noise.

Directed to my second part of the headline:
Even that the chance is really small i try ...
I met there a boy that was from Italy, I guess. He was there with his parents and with the not that big dogs of his father. We looked more than once at ourselves ...
If you feel something please write at this my e-mail: [--]

Well, that was the second aspect which left a feeling that hurts a little bit ...

But like i said nice place :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexat254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed for nights and I have never stayed in a 2 star facility before. So basically, no A/C. However, we were looking for accomodation in peak season, which is now so for the cost of 64 Euros a night, we booked into the Lanterna Apartments. Note: Renovated apartments is misleading-- they are old apartments but basic and functional and more or less clean. The only difference between Lanterna Premium apartments and Lanterna Sunset apartments is that the Sunset has a microwave oven and a tv and will cost you more.

The Lanterna apartments are great for people with young kids if they want to have a beach holiday with activities and lots of places to run around. Vacationing at this time of year is expensive so really, this is the way to go-- and the way is follow the German/Austrian/Dutch travellers who vacation here every year.

The key to having a great time here is to bring up your 2 star apartment to a 4 star-- every apartment has a balcony or terrace. Families come equipped with... and I am not kidding... their own electric grills, microwaves, tv's, satellite dishes and small fans and A/C units which they use.

Instead of paying 24 Euros for a breakfast and dinner buffet per person per day, they cook in their units or have their own grill parties. You can really save a lot of money, enjoy flexible eating times and just conduct your holiday at your own time.

Groceries are expensive in the resort at the small supermarket so before arrival stock up on food and lug the perishables in coolers or even electric coolers.

The Europeans really have this routine down and I was in awe of their strategies... so to have a good time if you want a budget holiday and you have small kids who will make noise like all the others, bring the following:
- your own non-stick cookware
- sponges for dishwashing/ dish towels
- liquid dish detergent
- paper cups/ plates/ utensils
- hard cheese -- it keeps easily in a cooler when you transport it
- all spices like sugar, salt, pepper, garlic, chili flakes, oregano, basil, etc.....
- margarine/jams/nutella, etc......
- instant coffee/ creamer/ teabags
- tin foil, wax paper, saran wrap -- you can make sandwiches to take to the beach in your cooler
- paper towels
- alarm clock -- no clock in the apartment
- a swiffer
- some type of all purpose cleaner in a spray bottle
- laundry line to hang clothes on the balcony - they have a rack and have the hooks so that you can hang a wire-- and clothes pins if you want
- chocolates, chips, candy -- they are expensive at the resort to buy
-- tv or dvd player, cd player
-- electric fan or portable AC unit
-- condiments: ketchup, mustard, relish, mayonnaise etc....
- electric grill for a nice bbq
-- deep fryer
-- mosquito repellant
-- ice cube bags or trays
-- hand soap in a pump
-- napkins
-- hair dryer
-- wines of your choice
-- extension cord
-- canned tomatoes , tuna

there is a great bakery on site open from 7 am til 2pm selling fresh bread, baguettes, croissants -- affordable

there is also a small fruit/vegetable stand that sells great produce from local farms -- amazing grapes, watermelon, .....

ice - cream is cheap -- 7 Kunas per scoop (large scoops) and the pizza at the Zodiac restaurant is excellent with a salami pizza at about 45 Euros.

Internet wireless is available at the bar/lounge place so order your ice-cream drinks there and surf comfortably.

Delfin restaurant -- we ate there twice - very good and service is great -- wonderful view of watching the sunset. We ate the shark steak, the calamari, the mussels...... all delicious!

Water was clear and beach area was very clean -- no cigarette butts lying around -- they pick them up! Great snorkelling adventures and don't forget to bring your air matresses, tents, water boards, and yes, you have to wear water shoes so you don't cut your feet on any rocks or other stuff.

I would only recommend this hotel with young couples with young children who want to have a nice beach vacation -- the walls are paper thin so keep in mind to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
But there are lots of kids there so your kids will make friends.

Basically everyone there is German -- it's like a German colony and they keep their kids in line and it is clean and orderly.
Staff all speak German.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alpaca07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here 30.4. - 3.5., so it was 10 C at night and if we didn't bring our heater, it would be pretty uncomfortable. There was enough room, there are towels, it is clean. We stayed in Helena, which is renovated. There is a huge difference between renovated and non renovated appartments. The glasses provided are tiny, other kitchenware was satisfactory. The teflon saucepan had several deep cuts. The lighting is poor and there are a lot of noisy drunken people playing loud music. I didn't like the scene and I don't think it's suitable for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We chose Lanterna as our place for family summer holidays in 2006, mainly for the on-line booking system and very flexible conditions of reservation. We have been making our reservations on-line ever since, and were explicit regarding our expectations when we made them, and I have to say we always got what we asked for (but it is essential to ask in advance). So far, we tried the 4 person app (renovated), got Gordana building, it was somewhat crowded (kitchen and sleeping in one room and another bedroom but up the stairs (ugly for the little ones), then the next year we upgraded to the Sunset version, got Gabriela, ground floor, much, much more comfortable, and finally last year, took 6 person sunset version in Branka, very roomy, large kitchen/dining room with a regular table for 6 adult people, a living room/bedroom and a small bathroom on the ground floor and two separate bedrooms and a big bathroom upstairs - each room had a balcony/terrace. The app building first row to the sea, beach and greenery fairly clean and well kept, parking free but somewhat crowded, shopping for supplies either 6 km north or 13 km south, local shops small and inadequate. Beaches shallow rock, no barefoot bathing, not even for the adults. Water clean, a lot of sea creatures to observe. Large, new and well positioned playgrounds, also a mini club (did not use it more than once, paranoid parents).
Service professional, yet, on an occasion, there were an unpleasant receptionist or two, or a long line to check in or out, and a mess-up with the reservations, but still within the limits of acceptable. Maintenance very good, however, it is expected that the guests clean themselves during their stay. Towels changed every two or three days.

Downside - someone already mentioned drunken teenagers, not a good idea to mingle with the population of party goers, spring homecomings etc. drunk and annoying. When it gets dark, it is best to either go to bed, or take the car and go to town - not enough lighting and rather deserted look makes it creepy to walk around. Not much to do except the bar, it even provides entertainment, but of the lowest sort, cocktail and "lesbian shows".
Serious downside - water heaters capacity seems to have been overloaded, so we had no hot water in the bathroom except around noon and again at 6 p.m. one night we even used the kettle to heat water for the kids - was fun for one night, but still, it I objected strongly to it.
All in all, the more money you're prepared to spend the better it becomes, and it is all in one place (serious upgrade is the hotel Valamar Tamaris and its villas, but last year there vere a lot, and I mean a lot, of Russians - as loud and annoying as the teenagers on the other side of the park).
All in all, a beautiful place for day time activities and rest.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anrimanrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

I called directly the hotel booking to get a room. I picked the most expensive one, an apartment to which is says by the sea and renovated. I was told, i would like it. No problem. Once there, I observed several drunken teenagers and adults walking all over the property. I guess there was bar behind the reception.

Check-in was fine, no problem. Even though a map was provided to find the apartment (there is more than a thousand...) We had trouble finding it. Each builing has a name and poor lighting makes them hard to find. Once we found it, the humid smell inside was not tolerable, I was the first to enter and was wearing shorts, and could feel spider webs caught in my legs. As if nobody had been inside for a month. There were four of us who entered and 2 stayed and slept on the patio as they could not bare with the humid smell. We transfered one bed to the patio. Beds were uncomfortable. Once in the bathroom, I killed 3 large spiders. The fridge was rusty, condition of the apartment was one of the worst I have seen, and they mentionned renovated??? I could not find anything that was renovated. Trees were hiding the sea view and young drunken teenagers were making loud noise until 5 am.

To conclude, this is a big party place for young adults and due to the condtion of the property and apartments, I will never return there and do not recommend it.

  • Liked — Nothing but the reception
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank superteckmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porec hotels

horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

stayed at the lanterna apartments in august were very pleasantly surprised. travelled with my husband and in-laws and found croatia to be beautiful. the apartments were a little dated but we found them clean and a lot larger than the thomson brochure described them we stayed in the birserka aprtment block a little bland but they are gradually working their way around the site its huge! to painting them. we had an apartment 1min walk to the beach through the pine forest great beach no sand but bathing platforms do what we did wear the beach shoes they sell everywhere and buy the foam loungers they make lying on the pebbles and rocks much more cumfy! Although a bit out in the sticks there is a bus service though not that regular taxis are fairly cheap. takes about 40/50 mins on the bus to porec well worth a visit or 2. rovinj is beautiful not commercialised at all as we found this with all of the istrian part of croatia. it really is like the med before tourism took over. food was very cheap the marina restaurant on the lanterna site is really good especially the buffet all you can eat for 850 kuna including drink!! would definately go back to lanterna despite what we read before we went. visit this part of the world before tourism really kicks in over the next few years.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — lots of walking so not good for people with disabilities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trevandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porec
3.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
6.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
5.6 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Tamaris
6.5 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Lanterna

Property: Apartments Lanterna
Address: Lanterna 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are searching for a place that combines endless activities and a great location, look no further. Surrounded by fragrant Mediterranean vegetation and a string of beautiful beaches with playgrounds, the 2 star Lanterna Apartments offer well equipped apartments for 3, 4 and 6 persons with half board service. Exceptional selection of activities include water sports and diving, nearby disco and bars within the apartment village as well as several a la carte terrace restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Apartments Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Lanterna Porec
Apartments Lanterna Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing