We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$122
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pical Hotel(Porec)
US$69
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$144
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
46
70
40
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
70
40
16
17
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We spent a week at the Laguna Park Hotel in July. We were not expecting much from the holiday as we paid just under £300 each. We stayed in the village complex, and apart from the retro design, we could not complain. They were basic but clean, with a small terrace, which was perfect for the evenings. The food in the hotel started off well, however deteriorated as the week progressed. Whilst most of the staff were polite, the manners of others left a lot to be desired. The head waiter removed us from our table one evening, in order to seat another couple. We had never experienced this, and when my boyfriend explained that we were about to start dinner, he ignored us and insisted that we moved. We did complain, but received no apology. Having said that, the area itself is really pretty. Porjec is very pretty. We hired bikes for half day and cycled around the penisula, which was great fun.
Overall the holiday was not bad, but not sure that we would visit the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Helen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Just returned from a great weeks holiday in Croatia. Booked hotel as a late deal through Direct Holidays. We had booked a villiage apartment room which we knew was situated behind the hotel. Upon arrival hotel reception staff were friendly and directed the way to our room. They were mini bungalows 4 in a block. They were very clean but basic. For me the decor wasn't an issue they are just a bit outdated. Maids came every day and changed towels etc. They did not have any air con but to us this was not a problem. We were staying half board and you ate in the restaurant at the hotel. There was plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner. One night a week they had a gala dinner which was nice. The hotel is situated about 2km from Porec which is very nice with lots going on especially at night. Its about a 20 min walk in along a nice route. Brilliant ice cream along the way very cheap about 50p a must!!. Whilst there we booked a trip through the hotel travel agency (Atlas) prices are pretty much the same as what they were with the tour operator. We went to Venice which although it was very busy we really enjoyed. Saw all the main sites. We sailed across about 2hrs 15mins had a good 5+hrs to explore. We hired a car and a must place to see is Rovinj. Very beautiful. We also visited Pula to see the roman ampi-theatre which we enjoyed. Overall it was a good holiday. Value for money and an unspoilt interesting country.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AyUpMate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We just got back from a week at the Laguna Park. £319 each, including transfers, half board and a meal on the plane represented good value for money.

The "room" was a chalet in the grounds. It was decorated in pink, and the styling was mid-eighties "Pretty in Pink" era. Tatty, and gloomy inside. No air-conditioning, which we had been expecting. Thankfully the evenings were cool enough to sleep. It reminded my wife of Carry on Camping.

Hotel meals were better than OK, however, although they put a sentry on the entrance to the dining hall to prevent people taking fruit etc away with them. He pulled me up one evening for wearing the wrong sort of shorts.

By and large the staff were friendly and helpful and the chalets were cleaned well, with fresh towels daily, and the shower was roomy and spacious. Some guests had infestations of ants. We had a few but aren't squeamish. At least they weren't cockroaches.

Porec is a lovely little town, but over developed north and south. Rovinj, 25kms to the south, and Piran, in Slovenia, 30kms to the north are both far prettier. Swimming in the sea is good, but nice bits of shoreline from which to get into the sea are hard to find.

In the old town of Porec there's an art gallery, the MM Gallery, run by Mario Sancic and his wife. The pictures are of good quality and competetively priced. I wouldn't normally comment on something as pretentious as this, but seasoned holiday makers will be familiar with the experience of wandering around quaint places, browsing galleries with art in them, and seeing nothing but generic pastel daubs af landscapes, and disturbing portraits of clowns with expressions ranging from depressed to menacing- this ring any bells? Anyway, Mr. Sancic is an unoriginal but very accomplished painter. His works tend to be in the impressionist style and we were chuffed to bits with the two pictures we bought. His wife is very charming too.

We hired a car- 2200 Kunas for the week. Parenzo Rent a Car did the best deals. The fact that they dealt in cash and didn't take my credit car details to charge me a fortune should I have caused the merest scrape to a bumper was reassuring.

In short we had a fabulous holiday, not a grade "A", but "B+". Weather great. Istrian peninsula great. Food lovely. People lovely. Pink, yet, and paradoxically, simultaneously dingy chalet room the only drawback. If you go, hire a car, and don't just stay in Porec.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We have recently spent a week at this hotel in the village. These are small bungalows in parkland. They are clean and tidy and the decor is not an issue. They are cleaned on a daily basis with clean towels daily and the whole complex cleanliness cannot be faulted.
The food was fantastic we certainly didn't want to eat elsewhere. The choice for breakfast and dinner is amazing and does alternate. Dinner was a choice of two different soups, salads, pasta dishes, vegetables cooked in different ways then a variety of meats and fish including octupus on our last night. Dessert was fresh fruit cakes or trifle type puddings. Service was good and they were putting out fresh food until at least 15minutes before closing so never an issue of not having enough and go up as many times as you want as buffet style.
Last night we had follkore evening with traditional music and dancers and traditional foods.
Every one was friendly and helpful. I needed to see a dentist and they arranged this for me.
We went on three trips through Direct holidays and they used Kompass which I feel most tour companies used. They had very good guides who were imformative. The only thing I would say is time keeping on pickup was a bit lax and as we picked up from several resorts it could make a long time on the bus without the use of a toilet.
We did the Brijuni islands where Tito chose as a summer retreat and you get to go on a small train round a small safari. Also to Slovenia where we went to the Postojnske Caves which are amazing with their formations you go down on a train for 15 minutes then walk for about 50 mins before returning on the train. Lunch was a good meal, then off to see the Lipica horses. Our other trip was into the Istrian countryside where we went to a couple of scenic towns then had a typical lunch with wine included the on to Pula to see the Ampitheatre and some free time. All I would recommend.
Porec itself is a beautiful old town 1/2 an hour walk along coast and parkland. Where the ice cream is a must.
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, week not long enough. Everyone friendly and did not feel threatened.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrischamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Hi,

I thoroughly enjoyed my two week stay at Porec. I was disappointed with the hotel - I stayed in the village. The room decor is a 1980s timewarp! but that isn't too much of a problem as there is soo many other things to see and do! Venice, slovenia, Lake Plitvica etc etc!

I would definately recommend this area of loaction, sadly not the hotel (although the staff were great). I got the impression that many of the local hotels were in a similar state - very much in need of an update. As the location gets more popular, i'm sure the standards will rise.

Don't let this stop you, just make sure you have you expectation set for the hotels!

Regards,
A mid twenties young couple.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ccccccccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews