We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Materada
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a couple of weeks at this Hotel. Decor is a bit dated but very clean and cheerful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit of a squeeze and functionable, aircon was a must however the rooms were cleaned daily the shower remained hot and never lost pressure (truly invigorating) and great views from the balcony. Food was plentiful and varied which catered for all tastes, free wine (red & white), beer and juice. Coffee and Tea provided in the morning but only tea in the evening which was a little bit disappointing. Food wasn't always very hot and needed a quick blast in a strategically place microwave.
The hotel facilities and surroundings are very relaxing, clean with fabulous views of the sea and surrounding coast line. Some great cafe's and restaurants within easy walking distance. The picturesque and traditional town of Porec is only a short 20 minutes stroll from the Hotel. There are some wonderful trips to go on including the chance to catch a fast catamaran to Venice. Main language is obviously Croatian but Italian is the second language with most places also understand English. Overall a fabulous place to visit and strongly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Laguna Materada and reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to receive all your compliments about our food offer and cleanliness. Other comments about food temperature and lack of tea will be taken into consideration when it comes to fulfilling desires of our British guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again any time soon within this or any other Laguna Porec facility and send our friendliest greetings until then!

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just spent two weeks combat training at the Materada (more on this later)the hotel is Fantastic, exceptionally clean thanks to an army of friendly, helpful, smiling cleaning ladies, the food is extremely good and varied and the Restaurant is very well presented with numerous serving stations, we found the staff to be helpful and they would teach you useful phrases in Croation . The pool area if that is what you want is well laid out with plenty of sun beds,and Bikinis everywhere but for you Red Blooded males rushing to book think not of Bridget Bardot or if you prefer Cheryl Cole more Nellie the elephant and Nellies Mother. The combat training comes in at mealtimes where yours and my favourite nationals and their neighbours to the east of them take part in war games in a charge to be first to the food, this is not a place for the fainthearted or acts of chivalry or apologies which often result in a violent reaction St George himself would have said to hell with the dragon and let it rampage on but this aside the Materada is a fantastic package hotel and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely and picturesque description about your stay at our Laguna Materada during combat training. We are happy getting to know not only our traditional summer guests but also sportsmen enjoy various services offered by our facility.

Hoping to be able to welcome you again soon either as a sportsmen or traditional tourist within our Laguna Materada we send our friendliest greetings!

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Materada .

On arrival we had a blip in that our suite was not available which was disapointing however the staff were apologetic and we were given our suite the following morning.
The suite was perfect for us - a family of 3, our daughter had one room with en suite and we had the other one also en suite. We had chosen a side sea view but actually got a sea view - fantastic view.
The food was very nice and varied , the only negative was that it was very prompt finishing time breakfast finishes at 10am so drinks machines were turned off at 10am the same with dinner.
The hotel has a wonderful location on the beach - not a beach as a UK person may expect , concrete with stairs going into the sea, our 8 year old daughter did not find it pleasant but if you walk to the left of the hotel there is a more child friendly one.
Porec is about 40 minutes away walking or a 10 minute walk then 5 minutes on the touristic train.
There are a few restaurants to the left of the hotel and they are very cheap and the food is delicious.
The Jet 2 rep Esther was also very helpful and gave us lots of information on the area which made our holiday fab - thank you Esther.
Overall a fabulous hotel in a great location would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Suites with a sea view are fabulous much better than the room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen Laguna Materada and for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to get to know your problems from the beginning with your suite were successfully handled and our personnel was there to help.
It is also pleasant to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location and food offer within and out of the hotel. Esther will be informed she was doing a good job!
Looking forward to seeing you again any time soon at Materada or any other Laguna Poreč structures!
Best regards
The Hotel Managament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from a weeks break at this hotel. The rooms are basic but spotless, towels were changed daily and the air conditioning throughout the hotel was very welcome. The entertainment was quite good. We have been to Croatia before and the entertainment had been horrendous so on a par this was good. You could get a lounger at the pool and the bars were priced fairly. The food in the restaurant was very varied and tasty. Free wine, beer or soft drinks with your meal is great too. On the downside, the shop didn't stock any snacks for during the day and as this is half board, you have to walk to the sports bar or another eatery at lunchtime. Also I was a bit freaked by the brashness of the decor which was a bit 'The Shining' for me, but that just added to the adventure and was in no way a negative. Overall we had a fabulous time in beautiful weather with friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polarhbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen our Laguna Materada Hotel as your holiday structure and especially for advising us here on Tripadvisor. Our pleasure is also to know our services such as the entertainment (with which you had terrible experiences in Croatia!), food offer at our restaurant and our personnel satisfied your expectations.
We appreciate your "The Shining" comment about the decor :)
Until your next visit we send you our best regards.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a bus trip from Austria to Porec to the Laguna Materada from the 30th of May to the 2nd of June and let me say everything was perfect!
The hotel was completely rennovated everything is brand new and on the latest and greatest design stand. We didn't book seaside but we got seaside. We had a perfect view to the sea but also to the pool. The balkonys on the rooms are fitted with glas so you have a perfect view to everything. On the room there is also everything brand new also a flat TV is here. The only weakpoint is that there is no WLAN in the room. You have to go to the lobby and you have to pay extra for that. The rooms has climate control and the food is also very good. We had breakfast and dinner and with the dinner the drinks (non alcoholic, beer, wine) are free of charge.
We are also very lucky with the weather. Rain and thunderstorms only during the nuight! We had also a very nice walk to the citiy of Porec it is abot 3 Kilometers and it is a nice walk and also the city is pretty nice. We decided to go back with water taxi they showed us some small island and they make a lot of fun with us. They brought us back near to the hotel so we had a lot of fun.

All in all a pretty clear reccomendation for the hotel, the pretty nice poolside, the very good food and the nice sourroundings, we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Last but not least we are also very happy with the service personell. We had a addititional bed in the room but the mattress was not okay. I went down to the reception a ask the clekr for help, I went back to the room and after 30 seconds the chambermaid comes with two new mattresses. We took both of them and after that sleeping was like in the 7th heaven.

Again a perfect choice and again I am a luky guy the second hotel in Croatia and the second brand new rennovated hotel.

I guess this hotel should have at minimum 4 stars...

Room Tip: Seaside in the middle (eg room nr. 349) has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank betrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Materada as your holiday spot. We are so delight to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as well as appreciated our food and drinks offer, felt yourself at ease in our hotel and seen how hard-working our hotel personnel is.
Your compliments become our motivation in order to keep on working as much and as hard as we did so far in order to satisfy our clients' needs.
We are looking forward to your next visit and send our friendliest regards.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for a week at the beginning of September. On arrival which was shortly before 9pm after a very long transfer which we were the last drop off, we had just enough time to go to the restaurant for something to eat.
Good points are the restaurant has recently been renovated and it was really lovely, the terrace area was relly nice. Food was really good and there was a great selection on offer both at breakfast and evening meal.
The communal areas are really nice and the outside bar looks as though it had recently been renovated. We only caught the end of the entertainment on a couple of occasions but everyone seemed to be enjoying it.
Staff are all helpful.
The gardens are kept really nice.
Bad points (In a way)
Bedroom was a little tired and could have done with updating,( although we did have a sea view which we had paid extra for.)
There is not much around the hotel although you can walk about 10 mins down the road and there are a couple of bars there.

We were a bit dissapointed the morning after we arrived to find that we were the only English in the hotel and we did not really have anyone to chat to, though we were only there for a week.
Our Jet2 rep Elspeth was really good and offered to move us to another hotel if we wanted but we decided to stay at Laguna Materada as we had a nice sea view room and the other hotels we were offered did not have any rooms with balconies.
As stated earlier we arrived late at night and were the last drop off as the hotel is one of the furthest away from Porec, going home was another long transfer as we were the 1st pick up.
Porec itself is lovely and we went to eat there on a couple of nights for a change. You can get the tourist train into the centre but it is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to get the train.
The weather was mixed and we had quite a bit of rain, although we were told that this was unusual for that time of year.
All in all we had a nice relaxing break and we would go back to Porec

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Materada. It is with joy and pleasure that we read you enjoyed your stay within our hotel and especially the food, entertainment and helpful personnel. We do hope this is not the last time you stay within our facility.
Hoping to see you soon again in Laguna Porec we send our best regards
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First of all this huge complex is best suited for famillies with children.
It is nice located and the outdoor areas are fine and clean but crowded.
The hotel it self looks a bit old the pink and peach are not my favourite coloures, but the restaurant must have gone through a facelift.
All rooms are ink breakfirst and dinner. The dinner buffe was really good and plenty of choices.
What made me dissapointed was the slow and unitressted service at the front desk. From my experience one of the worst.
One example was that it was impossible to have my invoice with some extra details. I have over 150 hotelnights a year and this was the first time that it was not possible. The lady even accused other hotels of "blackmoneyhandeling", when I asked to add my company name on the bill.
Another annoying thing was the low quallity and high sounded show that take part at the poo area until 23.00. Impossible to avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikaelH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for your overall review about our Hotel Laguna Materada. We are happy to read you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and its nearby areas. When it comes to the reception personnel your critic will be taken as constructive in order to train them better. Hoping this wasn't your last visit within our hotel group we send you our best regards
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
3.2 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
286 reviews
2.3 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Materada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Materada

Address: Spadici, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Porec
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#11 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: £69 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Materada 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Hotel Laguna Materada offers superb accommodation on a comfortable 3-star hotel whose amenities actually compare to a 4-star experience for the whole family, while its view is beyond 5 stars! Every single corner of this hotel is cozy, and a wide range of advantages offered by the "family friendly" category shall cater to the needs of each family member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Laguna Materada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Materada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing