We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Nottingham
Level Contributor
198 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Satisfied customers”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel was the base for our 7 night tour. It is situated at the far end of the resort of Rabac and has a supermarket, pizzeria and bar on the complex but it only takes 10 mins to walk into the heart of the resort if you want more choice. Rabac is quite a small place – you can walk from one end to the other in under an hour – but it had everything we needed (including cashpoints and a pharmacy) so we were quite happy staying there. Our favourite place to drink was the Vinoteca bar, which is signposted up some stairs, just before you reach the main harbour area. 30p for a small glass of wine - bargain!

It would be fair to say that the hotel is a bit of a blot on the landscape – a vast expanse of concrete painted in lurid pastels – but once you’re in your room then all you can see is the beautiful view of the sea, the surrounding hills and Cres Island in the distance. Based on negative reviews of the standard rooms overlooking a noisy road, we paid extra for a balcony room. This only cost an extra £35 and was well worth it for the views and outside space. There was certainly no road noise at the front of the hotel, but we were sometimes woken up by the dawn chorus or the sound of Croatian karaoke emanating from the Conca d’Oro. Nothing a good pair of earplugs couldn’t fix though!

The room itself was fine given its 3 star rating. We were on the top floor (floor 7) and had 3 single beds in our room – staged to look like a double and single – so we had loads of room for all our stuff. The bathroom was also fine – it could take a while to get the shower pressure and temperature right but there was certainly plenty of hot water. We weren’t planning to watch much tv but it was nice to have a couple of English channels along with some entertaining German versions of MTV.

A lot of previous guests have complained about the food but, for £5 each per night for dinner including wine and water, we were really happy with what we were given. I would consider myself to be a fussy eater but I didn’t have any problems finding stuff to eat. It would have been nice to have had a wider variety of desserts at dinner and the breakfast selection was very repetitive but we managed fine. The staff were always very pleasant, despite often being rushed off their feet, and they were very flexible with start and end times when our group arrived back late or had to leave early.

The staff on reception were also always helpful and it was useful that they would display printouts of the weather forecasts. We actually ended up spending a lot of our time out of the hotel but the pool seemed well used and it was handy having a supermarket on site. Overall, this is not the best hotel we have ever stayed at, but it’s also not the worst by a long way and we would be more than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    55
    33
    19
    18
See reviews for
59
59
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at the Mimosa hotel part of the Complesso dei fiori complex maslinica bay with travelsphere June 2012. The Mimosa is alongside sister hotels Hedra and Narcis and is the best placed. 3* go for a balcony the view is great and the rear hoel rooms are next to a road. Food is standard buffet and we always found something we liked. Nice indoor and outdoor pools lots of sunbeds and some by the pebble beach. Unless your a moaner and there are lots out there it's hard to critical of this 3* hotel. Try the fish boat trip and the Istria discovery tour. If your active the walk (steep in places) well marked which starts next to Narcis hotel upto Labin is well worth it. Takes about an hour or so - go in the bell tower (7kuna) at Labin. Noddy train takes you along the bay from outside Mimosa (10kuna) and walk back. It's a small resort with some shops and most things are cheap especially the beer - try Robinsons bar 100 yards along from Mimosa.
Holidays are what you make of it and for the money this is a little gem with the only real downside being a 3 hour coach drive from Zabreg airport but otherwise well worth it !!!!!

Room Tip: book a front facing room with or without balcony as the view will not dissapoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The title says it all I think. Location great - lovely pools & Cafe/pizzeria in front of and also to the side in the adjoining hotel (all part of the same complex) - a 10 minute stroll to the lovely Rabac harbour; short bus ride/taxi up to the charming medieval town of Labin. Staff were all great and invariably helpful. Check in/out superfast, Rooms clean /c fresh linen everyday. Efficient, but monotonous restaurant cuisine, the breakfast and evening meals were pretty samey and boring BUT bear in mind all the clientele seemed to be on half-board package tours. We paid £600ish each for 8 days inc flights from the UK and 3 full day excursions with the services of the most superb tour guide on the planet (take a bow "V" from Kompass travel organised via Travelsphere). This, along with the half board left us asking; "what more could you expect for the price?" We found that having some evening soup / salad and complimentary beer or wine in the hotel before walking out into Rabac to eat in one of the many local (and oh so cheap) fish restaurants was our best option. We could chat with the many friends we met on our trip and catch up with them later for a drink. The Mimosa's bar closed at 22:00, but a 2 minute walk to the hotel next door was encouraged where music and dancing (for the over 50's it has to be said) went on until midnight. If only there had been a light on the pleasant, sea facing balcony to read a little in the evening, our cups would have runneth over! Rabac, Porec, Rovinj, Pula, Opatija, Volosko and especially Cress are all within relatively easy reach and so so reminiscent of the Southern Med of the eary '70's that for this alone the hotel scored highly with us. Viva Croatia.

Room Tip: If your travel company tries to "offer" you a guaranteed sea facing room with balcony for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgnatiusJBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just returned from a Travelsphere package and had a great holiday. No complaints with the hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff, plenty of food choice. Highly recommended, but could have been over busy in school holidays, so October a good choice. Don`t rely on Travelsphere`s airbrushed pictures of a silver sandy beach, it is shingle, and hard on the feet. In summary, this is not the Ritz, but, to all but the habitual complainers, it is a good hotel. By the way the tour guide Vladka was A++++++.

Room Tip: ALWAYS get a room with a sea view and balcony,it is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank aramis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Stratford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were truly exited when we arrived at the hotel, everywhere looked beautiful. However on the first morning disaster struck. My Mother had a shower, and did not notice that the faulty design of the shower meant that the shower leaked, not loads, which would have been noticeable, but a small amount which was not obvious but meant that the shiny floor tiles were lethal. As she walked to the sink to clean her teeth her feet went and she fell heavily. She broke her leg badly, had to have surgery in Croatia and 6 months later is still not able to walk unaided. She is still on powerful painkillers and has lost 7 months of her life,she is 82 years old. This had been her first holiday for 8 years as she had been caring for my recently deceased father. Do not let this happen to your parents!!!
The hotel was selected because of the activities for my teenage sons including tennis, outdoor swimming, crazy golf and table tennis. When they asked if they could take part in these activities they were told that they were a week too early and none of them were open. No one had told us about this. So do not trust Travel Sphere's holiday details.
Many of the hotel guests caught a stomach bug which caused severe diarrhea and vomiting. Because of this, and the concern of infecting my mother, we decided to eat outside the hotel and to limit contact with staff. This resulted in a much higher cost level.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower cubicle does not leak
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mozartnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rabac hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Not disappointed with this hotel or it's partner hotels Hedera and Narcis. Set in lovely gardens that lead directly onto a stoney beach. Once over the stones (about 15-20 feet out) you reach the sandy bottom of the warm Adriatic sea. Truely beautiful scenery. Some of the food was not quite to our taste but there was plenty of choices so always found something we liked. Only slight critisisms, the air conditioning was charged extra as was a mini fridge even if required for medication and maybe there could have been more variety of evening entertainment, but we did visit near to the end of the season.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to Sea facing room with balcony for no or little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here on a half board basis for one week. The location was ideal as it is opposite the white pebbled beach. It's worth getting a sea view room as the bay is pretty. The hotel was very clean. The staff in the restaurant were efficient and welcoming, we saw that the restaurant manager goes out of his way to assist guests. The buffet takes place in a large dining room, the food was fine and the choices changed daily; we found something we wanted to eat at each meal time. The hotel building is large and a little dated in design, but that didn't bother us at all.

We had two single rooms with sea view. The balconies were large and very nice. The rooms were clean and were kept very clean throughout our stay. One of our single rooms was a reasonable size, the other was small. Both cost us the same. The air conditioning in both rooms only worked for a few days out of the trip. Each time we told reception they did follow up and it was reset; we don't know why that was happening. There was entertainment every night at one of the sister hotels. We didn't go, but it appeared popular. We could hear the music in our rooms; it didn't bother us.

The hotel is at the foot of hills at one end of the bay and the waterfront bars and shops of rabac are a 10 minute or so walk away around the bay (this walk is flat). You can book excursions to other parts of Istria and Venice in rabac. While we were there the hotel also had a land train running around the bay to rabac.

All in all, this is an adequate hotel in a nice location with reasonable food and nice staff. We got value for money from our stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room; those at the back of the hotel are on a service road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank surrideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.0 mi away
Narcis
Narcis
#5 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
0.1 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#9 of 13 in Rabac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#4 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa - Lido Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa - Lido Palace

Property: Mimosa - Lido Palace
Address: Rabac 1, Rabac 52221, Croatia (Formerly Mimosa Rabac Complesso dei Fiori)
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabac
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa - Lido Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mimosa-Lido Palace has 281 rooms and four-stars and offers excellent value for money in its classically decorated and air conditioned rooms. If you are looking for a hotel with comfortable rooms that can serve as a base while you are enjoying the facilities the resort has to offer outside of the rooms themselves, then Hotel Mimosa-Lido Palace is the place for you! Spend your days at Hotel Mimosa-Lido Palace poolside at the hotel's outdoor pool or on the pebble beach located a two minute walk from the hotel. Poolside pool chairs are free of charge, while the beach offers sun umbrella and lounge rental. Try your hand at tennis or football at the hotel's sports grounds or go cycling on the long promenades leading to Rabac. If you're feeling adventurous head out on the forest paths that take you through the nearby wooded areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mimosa - Lido Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Rabac (Complesso Dei Fiori) Hotel Rabac
Mimosa Hotel Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing