We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the exterior!”
Review of Hotel Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amfora
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It's not the most attractive hotel but get a room with a sea view and you won't be disappointed.
The location's great -close to harbour, bars, cafe and a small supermarket (very useful as the rooms don't have fridges). The staff are really friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious. The safety deposit boxes are very reasonable to hire and the air conditioning in rooms free and efficient.The food, especially in the evening was great - huge variety of both meat and fish. The pool is small and cool but after a spell on the beach in the morning we really enjoyed a laze about the pool and a quiet dip to cool off in the afternoons.

Room Tip: It wasn't much extra for a sea view room and money definitely well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I'm going to start with the positives:

- Lovely location
- Excellent staff, friendly and extremely hard-working
- Rooms kept very clean, nice to have clean towels every day and bedding change regularly
- Very quiet, most days I had the pool to myself!
- Breakfast, good choices (if you are expecting an English fry-up, you should try Blackpool!!)
- Dinner, plenty of choice including salad and pasta for vegetarians. Nice touch in the restaurant to have linen table cloths rather than paper ones.
- Had a balcony over-looking the car park although you can pay extra for a sea-view, pointless unless you want to sit on your balcony for the entire holiday!
- Nice to have a bath as well as a shower
- Excellently equipped gym downstairs
- Not in the hotel but along the sea-front to the left is an ice-cream palour called Pingo. Fantastic value for money and well worth a visit!

Only a few negatives:

- Rooms could do with a fridge
- The food labelling in the restaurant was rather randomly placed and it wasn't clear what they were

Croatia is a beautiful country, has friendly people, lovely clean sea and well-worth visiting!

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a sea-view, but not really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank -HannahR65-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Let me start with the positves: the staff are efficient and hardworking, the room cleaning excellent and the sea view lovely(you need to ignore the horrendous 'Pizza parlour' blotting the landscape). The location is reasonably quiet and very handy for the harbour and shops; it's also easy to reach the bus stop, albeit up about 60 steps. Now the negatives: the hotel is showing its age; it's tatty, outside lights, original but looking retro, are packing up; the dining room chairs look like they've been borrowed from a village hall; the swimming pool is always in the shade and there is no bar service if you are using the tatty loungers. The food is good to average with a well stocked salad bar daily(hot drinks cold) but on occasions there is not even one veggie option. The rooms are a decent size, the air-con works well enough but the lack of a fridge and a light on the balconey are both annoying - if you are hoping to buy a chilled bottle of white from the supermarket forget it - we couldn't find anywhere that had wine in a fridge. The Amfora needs investment and the staff deserve better.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view but be prepared for the 1960s abomination you will see in front of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Amfora Hotel 2nd week in July, had read Trip Advisor reviews and went with an open mind, but not disappointed. Excellent location central to harbour, rooms spotless (a must is a balcony with sea view) or you could be looking out on the car park, towels changed daily beds every 3 days, staff exceptional very friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice at breakfast, cereal, meats, fruit yoghurt, bacon eggs etc., dinner at 7pm till 9pm always a choice of meats and fish, pasta dishes on and as the norm plenty of salads, not much in the choice for sweets with ice cream, fruit and small cakes. Safety deposit boxes available at reception at very reasonable fee compared to some hotels we have previously stayed in. For the amount of time you spend in the hotel more than adequate for a 3 star hotel its clean its comfortable what more do you want, you need to be out exploring the surrounding district. The hotel is up a small brew and has no lift so those who are not very good on their legs may find it quite taxing especially in the heat, but the views are tremendous, turn left when you get to the harbour and walk around the headland plenty of restaurants, ice cream parlours and souvenir shops to keep you occupied, the area is so unspoilt, safe and picturesque its wonderful. Not for you if you are looking for rowdy bars, English sunday lunches and night life, but if you want to sit in comfortable surroundings at one of the harbour bars and have a few drinks and 'people watch' this is the place for you. Please take time out to visit Labin (by bus)12 krona or try the tour of the Istra excellent value full day with lunch visiting Pula and Rojvin the area is so lush and plenty of walks around the resort if you are feeling energetic wherever you go it is excellent value for money we were very surprised at the low cost of eating/drinking out.
So if you want a chilled out relaxing holiday in a beautiful location at a nice hotel this is for you. Don't forget you have not paid for 4/5 star luxury do DONT expect it we shall be returning.

Room Tip: A must is a balcony with sea view on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnglandRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

having read previous reviews about this hotel and resort we were slightly disappointed when we recently stayed there with friends.The hotel is definitely not suitable for people with walking difficulties as every time you leave the hotel you either have to go up a steep slope or down a steep slope.Also there are no lifts in the hotel and if you are on the second floor you have at least 40 steps to encounter.During our stay we found a live scorpion in our room as did at least two other guests.In fairness to the manager he arranged for the rooms to be fumigated and we were told that the sting from these particular scorpions was no more dangerous than a mosquito bite!!!!!The resort was very quiet with no entertainment anywhere.The hotel staff, who I must say,were brilliant doubled up on their duties and were serving behind the bar and working in the restaurant at the same time.This meant you had to wait a long time to get drinks up to 9.30pm when the restaurant closed.The bar then closed at 11pm.We believed that there would be plenty of walks available from the hotel but as all roads from the hotel were narrow and because cars parked all along the pavements we were forced to walk on the road which was quite dangerous therefore we did not go walking.On the positive side the people of Croatia were fantastic, the scenery excellent and the prices very cheap.We will return to Croatia but unfortunately not to this hotel or resort.

Room Tip: first floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffllanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor we were expecting much better. The staff are lovely and friendly, however the hotel was very stark and characterless.. Our (room 125) had a sea view that we paid for but only with a view of an awful pizza / bar directly in front of us (better view from 2nd floor I guess). The bar was pretty bleak with not many using it. The food, well what can I say? Breakfast: Fresh pastries just about passable. Omelets and scrambled egg but you could not work out which one was which. Beans ha ha! inedible. sausage bacon ok. Evening meal.... serves between 7-9pm. Go after 8 at your peril. All the heaters switched off early, gravy congealed and a large choice of different meats, veg etc but 90% of which are pretty awful. Other guests seemed to have a similar view, so it wasn't just us. The resort is lovely and we will return, but not to the Amfora Hotel. Thomson's description of it sounds like a different hotel. Our 3 star rating is a generous one.

Room Tip: First floor sea view is severely restricted by an ugly pizza building (we had room 125). Go for low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichinLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff here are brilliant, They make the hotel a lovely place to stay. From the maids, chefs, waitresses and reception they were all exceptional people. Always ready with a smile and a little chat if you wanted one. The food was excellent, not loads of choice, but plenty for us,and anyone who is not a fussy eater.There was always fish, salads, and pasta, and several meat dishes to choose from.This is a small and friendly hotel, If you want hundreds of dishes to choose from, pick a larger hotel.The hotel was a 2 minute walk into Rabac, just down a little slope, and Rabac was absolutely beautiful, not too busy or noisy, just what we were looking for, for a nice relaxing break. All ages and nationalities were seen, enjoying themselves here and just chilling.
A special mention has to go to the staff, particularly Tania and Alisa, who put themselves out to help us on several occasions, and made our stay all the more memorable.
If we are ever in Rabac again, we would definately stay here again and i would highly recommend this hotel to others...
Just a small tip - try to learn a bit of Croatian like we did as they really enjoyed helping us to learn their language. This was so much fun!

Room Tip: well worth paying a small supplement for a seaview, as the rooms at the front overlook the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cas1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.1 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#10 of 13 in Rabac
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#4 of 13 in Rabac
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Mimosa - Lido Palace
#8 of 13 in Rabac
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#5 of 13 in Rabac
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amfora

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 22, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Price Range: £88 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amfora 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing