We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you want to lose weight”
Review of Hotel Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amfora
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was looking forward to a wonderful week here following the reviews on facebook. This hotel is tired and dated. We paid Thomson £84 for a sea view room to arrive at the hotel and find out they are selling them for £35. Food is very poor standard and every breakfast is just bread and jam. Asked for a fried egg and we did eventually get one 5 days later. I decided to try a peach one day to find it covered in mould. Dinner was no better and numerous English guests were not impressed. I would definitely go back to Croatia but not this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisebou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Get a sea view room, it is a must. The Amfora is a bit tired and dated, but that is also the charm of the place, much better than some I have seen ans been to. What is important is that the essentials are spot on! Excellent position, quiet but in the middle of the curved bay overlooking the sea, with the couple of miles long promenade. Friendly staff in the hotel, extremely helpful and smiling all the time. They always greet you pleasantly.
The food, both breakfast and evening meals, are very good. Breakfast is the same every morning, continental or you can have your cereals and bacon and eggs (boiled, scrambled or omelette), and there is fruit, coffee and juices. We stayed for 2 weeks and the evening meals varied every single day. There was loads of choice and it was all delicious. To accompany the meals, the local wine which the Amfora sells by the carafe or bottle, is very good and cheap, as is the local beer (Pivo).
We found there was plenty of room to sit out on the sunbeds if that is what you want, but you can also stroll for hours along the promenade and sit on plenty of benches along the way , However, if you want a pool to swim in, you will probably be disappointed. There is one at the Amfora, but it is sheltered and very cold. But the sea is clear and relatively warm, although the beaches are pebbly (so take or buy swimming shoes). You can hire the usual Umbrellas, etc on the beaches, or you can laze on the rocks and dive in occasionally to cool off. Lastly, whilst you are out walking try the ice cream, it is superb.

Room Tip: A sea view room overlooking the harbour and bay is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goodfortheprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We returned from Croatia earlier this week after a fortnight at the Amfora Hotel. The holiday was terrific. Like everyone else has said a fridge is needed in the room if you want to keep medication or drinks cool but the room we had overlooked the sea and was adequate for us. Yes the rooms are a little old fashioned but they were cleaned throughout everyday and all the towels were changed daily whether they needed changing or not. The air conditioning was brilliant especially as most days it was extremely hot.
The staff treated everyone like old friends really warm and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I asked if there was an iron I could use and before I had left reception it was on its way to our room. We had a light bulb blow within the first few days and when we reported it at reception it was changed in less than an hour.
The food was really nice and there was plenty of choice at each meal. There was something to suit all tastes. The breakfast was also varied but do not expect to get an English breakfast as the bacon and sausages were typically Croatian. Every morning you could get a continental breakfast, cereal, toast, jam or marmalade and a selection of eggs and cooked foods.
We really enjoyed our stay here and will return again in the not too distant future. We will not hesitate to book in this hotel again.
We also met a local taxi driver who showed us a lot of the Istrian coast and countryside.He took us to places that where not on any excursions or day trip leaflets and was really knowledgeable about the area and reasonably priced. If you plan to go to this area of Croatia, we recommend you ask your hotel for this taxi driver's number. (Denis Negri based in Labin).
A lot of guests that stayed here at the same time as us praised the hotel and staff and some had stayed here a multiple of times and were planning to go back again. If we had to give this hotel a score out of 10 it would definitely score 9 and a half. The only downfall being the lack of a small drinks fridge.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are highly recommended. I would make sure that both balcony doors are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank squigsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Amfora is described as small and friendly and that is exactly what it is,don't expect any fancy food or spacious luxury rooms,the breakfast and evening meals are ok ( and if you don't see anything you like the cost of meals in the restaurants are really good) the rooms could be a little bit better,a fridge and shower gel in the rooms would be nice, the pool could do with heating as it is in the shade all day and is a bit cold, but little of this matters when you meet the friendly staff and fellow guests ,being a small hotel makes it easy to get to know your them and enjoy time talking about your plans for the day or what you have done during the day or enjoying a few jokes and general chat, if you get a room overlooking the harbour it is well worth it, sitting on the balcony watching the fishermen and others going about their business is a pleasant way to spend an hour, before a stroll along the promenade for pre/after dinner stroll and maybe a drink in one of the quiet bars (again compared with the UK they are also well priced) if you are a walker there are a myriad of walks to go on.so give this hotel if you're looking for a friendly hotel in a good location surrounded by plenty of things to see,then this is the place to go

Room Tip: for the best sights get a room with a harbour view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gezzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lonely Planet suggest this is the hotel with character, well if they mean by that a genuinely excellent holiday on all counts they are right. We booked through Thomsons.

Nested on a harbour bay rooms either have a harbour sea view or a car park view, either one don't be too dismayed. We didn;t pay as much as the sea view people so all if fair.
The rooms are a little dated, however they are immaculately clean, the pristine white towels are changed every day and the sheets bottom to top daily. The air conditioning very necessary works most adequately and relatively quiet. The age group here, lots of couples and edging towards the retired age more so than the young, a mix of nationalities but probably the English dominate whereas the Germans are 90% for the rest of the town/village/bay.There isn't a fridge, but they will provide some ice, if a cold drink is required. There is a kettle in the room, you also need plug converters.
There is no dress code for the restaurant and everyone sits comfortably in their chosen attire outside or inside in the immaculate restaurant.
Breakfast is overly adequate, cooked (bain marie omelettes or scrambled egg), continental, fruit, toast, boiled eggs We had two weeks here and ate outside every meal time, wonderful. Spoilt for choice at dinner, beautful cooked fish and a variety of cooked meats, lamb,chicken, beef even the liver was tender, amazing for a bain marie.
The restaurant staff are friendly and attentive. Hotels drinks not overly expensive.
Suggestions for things that could be useful for the hols
most of the swimming areas involve some sort of stones/pebbles and we were aware of a woman standing on a sea urchin, so sea shoes are a good idea if you have them
beach towels are not providied
goggles or snorkel
lots of sun tan cream (the brand names are quite expensive out here

The pool here is oddly situated under a terrace therefore never warms through and is cold, but the garden has a few sun beds and a sort of dip pool. There is quite an adequately full gym available for hotel guests.

If you tire or bathing, walking, peddalos, boat rides etc you can feel a bit restricted here, especially for a two week holiday. Most everning are spent people walking backwards and forwards along the coast.harbour walkway.

If you want to take the bus anywhere in Istra this does involve taking a first bus from Rabac to a hilltop village Labin (there is a walk up to this also that involves a stony uphill haul for the enthusiastic). There the bus station a lady in the ticket office is very helpful (she refused to accept a 500 kuna note from us, so try to get smtall nominations of currency when buying), however not all the areas in Istra are accessible The ones that are is Opatija (croatian tourist museum in Angelino gardens well worth it 10 kuna and gets you into the pink country house also in the grounds), Pula, Rijeka (third biggest city, struggled to find the highlights of this city). However the car unfolds a wonderful medlay of sights we were recommended the truffle sites Motovun, excellent beautfil.Pazin for the chasm and castle and dear old Porec for a commercial seaside town and a well deserved swim.

We hired a car for the day, iti is a little more expensive 390 kuna (about 50 pounds) and one company seems to have the conglomerate, however the car is decent (Opel four door) and they deliver it to the hotel whatever time you choose 7,8,9 in the morning., good value as if you can join up with another couplle and split the costs.

The restaurants around seems to be good value and it appears everyone eats and loves the ice creams here everywhere. Thank goodness the World Cup football was shown most places.

Conclusively THANK YOU to the staff at the Amfora hotel, hard working and professional, your extablishment is impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Burnhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I was in that hotel two nights althouth that was not the first time there.
The location in really good, 2 minutes or less and you can be in the center and beach and i suggest room with seaview and balcony to see all the Rabac port. The room not so updated, no wi-fi, no fridge, no shampoo in bath. Breakfast coukd improve in quality and quantity to be ***. The hotel is good if you look for a minimalistic to just sleep and enjoy the sea all day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank andrscro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

OK, the not so good points... there is no getting away that the holiday is frankly dated and in places a bit worn, from the common areas to the bed rooms. It is not a place I'd like to spend a week or two weeks in if I'm being honest but for the one night stay in mid September I had, it was perfectly adequate.

The staff are friendly, multilingual and helpful and the buffet dinner of a reasonable quality - you're not gonna go hungry here! The whole place is clean, well run and the gym also is well equipped. I'd get it three stars for a being an honest unpretentious establishment, a bit tired and frayed around the edges but an extra half a star for the staff who make an effort to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: This is a good choice if you're using public transport, the hotel is two minutes walk away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rooinek63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
0.1 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#4 of 13 in Rabac
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#5 of 13 in Rabac
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#10 of 13 in Rabac
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Narcis
Narcis
#9 of 13 in Rabac
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amfora

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 22, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Price Range: £85 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amfora 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing