We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, friendly and attractive pension”
Review of Villa Marea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marea
Ranked #6 of 42 Rovinj B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Spotless, friendly and attractive pension”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Located in a pleasant suburb about 30 minutes walk to the old town, this is a value for money option for a few nights. The sea shore is a short walk away, through a wooded area. There is an attractive coastal path which runs all the way into the centre (too far to walk but easy by bike). The Villa Marea offers a good deal for bike hire (check the mechanics before making your choice).
There is a small pool in the hotel grounds, with good sun chairs. Everything about this place is spotless. The continental breakfast is good so well worth the additional 6 euros per head. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Giovanni's restaurant, a 10 minute walk away, is great value and a good alternative to the more pricey ones in the old town. Friendly service, good prices and quality food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zielona Gora, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Świetny hotelik, b. miła obsługa. Nie serwują jedzenia, za to pokoje są wyposażone w kuchnię i wszystkie niezbędne przybory. Do plaży 5 minut piechotą, a plaże są cudowne w Rovinj. Byliśmy z żoną 4 moce i chętnie tam wrócimy.

Great little hotel, very nice staff. They don't serve food, but the rooms have a fully equipped kitchen. 5 minutes walk to the beach and the beaches in Rovinj are amazing. I was staying in this hotel with my wife for four nights and we would love to come back there some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Gil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Villa Marea is a boutique type accommodation set in a quiet residential area about a 20 minute walk into the old town. The residential area is full of fig, cherry and other fruit trees...it is a lovely quiet area, very green.

The Villa is spotless with well appointed new looking rooms. The reception is very nice and helpful. Djuljano in particular helped us a lot including giving us a lift into town after we checked out to go to the bus stop for our onward journey to Slovenia!! Nothing seemed too problematic for him.

They have 2 computers available for public use in a small reception area which is handy.

The pool is refreshing and clean although a little small but given the the the price of the place you can't complain. It is reasonably deep so the water would stay cool during the hot days.

The room was very comfortable with a nice comfortable bed. The Villa was very quiet that we slept well and we are light sleepers.

A rental car would be handy if you plan to visit Pula and other coastal towns.

In summary, very nice accommodation with wonderful staff, in a quiet area with a little bit of a walk to old town if you don't wish to drive but this can be a positive or a negative depending on how active you are.

Room Tip: It is a smallish place so it doesn't matter which room you get. If you don't like stairs the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izramSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Marea for 2 weeks in September. We could not fault the apartment. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the staff and owner were very pleasant. The pool area is lovely and relaxing.
There is a walk of about 20 minutes to get into the town but we saw this as a plus rather than a minus in that we got exercise! We had arranged a hire car before our trip so we were able to stock up on groceries at the supermarket (there are 3 large supermarkets within 5 minutes drive). However, the market in Rovinj is great for fruit and veg and very cheap.
On several days, we travelled further afield site seeing as far down the coast as Rabac and as far north as Novigrad. Rovinj is the nicest of all the places we visited on the trip.
Thanks to all at Villa Marea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have just arrived back from staying at Villa Marea. Spotlessly clean and eveything we needed was in our bedroom, ie cooking utensils, microwave, hob, etc. The hotel was situated near the sea and approx. 25min walk from the centre of Rovinj. The hotel has a small swimming pool which we swam in on many occasions. If a supermarket is need there is one a 10min walk away. Thoroughly recommend a visit and know we won't hesitate to go back. Staff very friendly.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonKeynesMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Staying at Villa Marea for 3 nights was a great experience. We didn't have any problems finding it with a Sat Nav but we also saw a number of signs so I think we would have found it anyway. We had a double room on the ground floor which was quite small but perfectly adequate, very clean and well-equipped. There were flowers in front of the balcony (not actually sure if you call it a balcony if it is on the ground floor!) which made it very private. The pool area and the gardens were immaculate. We saw someone tending to them on each of the days we were there. We don't know how long it took to walk into the centre of Rovinj as we cycled in every day. A great idea if you enjoy cycling. You don't need to be fit as it only takes a few minutes and is relatively flat (a bit of a hill on the way back but nothing to speak of). We didn't get charged for using the bikes. The nearby beaches are lovely although they were very, very busy when we were there at the end of June (there were 2 bank holidays close to one another so alot of Croatians were on holiday at that point). It was a very peaceful location (a residential area away from the main town) which we really enjoyed as Rovinj was quite frantic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We decided to spend five days in Rovinj and we opted for one apartment at Villa Marea: the apartment was quite big with two bathrooms and a well furnished kitchenette. Very clean too. Unlike other reviewers that mentioned issues, we could find Villa Marea easily. On foot it takes five minutes to the the sea and around 20 minutes to Rovinj's centre. It is possible to rent mountain bikes. Very reasonable price, maybe also considering that September is not high season.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caius_Iulius_Caesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marea

Property: Villa Marea
Address: Vukovarska Ulica - Via Vukovar 8 | near entrance of Cuvi natural park, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marea 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is a newly-built villa in one of the most popular districts of Rovinj. We are located 150 meters from the entrance of the Cuvi Natural Park, and 300 meters from the beautiful and famous Cuvi Bay and beach. It is only a ten-minute walk to the historical center of Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Marea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing