We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value without compromising on other essentials” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Marea
Ranked #8 of 42 Rovinj B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value without compromising on other essentials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

LOCATION: We drove from Italy to Rovinj, for those that passing by Slovenia to Croatia via the highway, do remember to get the Vignette for Slovenia (15euros for 3days). even though you would barely be along the highway for Slovenia but it's better be safe than sorry. Penalty apparently range from 150-300euros. Villa Marea was not difficult to locate with our GPS, you would just have to take note for Villa Marea when you are on the street of Vukovarska. As mentioned by most of the reviewers, the beach is a 5-7min walk (depending on your speed) but it is a nice walk as you would be walking along nature. If you do not want to head to the beach, there is a small pool area at Villa Marea as an alternative option.The old town centre whereby all the hustle and bustle is would be about a 25min walk but we drove to the city centre (5min) and there is a huge parking space (on the right) when driving towards the old town from Villa Marea, so take note! If you decide to park just by the bay, the parking is not expensive as well but do remember to have some Kuna (local currency) as the machine ONLY accept Kuna at the moment.

ROOM: We were upgraded to the newly updated 'apartment' on the 1st level which is relatively huge - 2 bathrooms, 1 living room with attached kitchenette and a balcony, 1 bedroom. The overall facility is very clean and if you are not too fussy, they provide a shower gel that also act as a shampoo. Personally, I do not really like the towels as it was a little rough and felt like the floor linen however as it was only a short stay and I'm cool with it. If you are really fussy, consider bringing your own towels then.

BEACH: Do not expect a sandy beach and you can select any part of the (stone/pebble) beach along the stretch which is connected to other Villas (such as Vila Rubin) so there are quite a few beach goers though not crazily packed. Most were family and elderly couples, and there is a naturist zone as well if you need to get that well-even tan.

FOOD: We had our meals at MAESTRAL located in the Old town.. facing a magnificent view especially sunset view. Food is reasonably price consider to what we would pay in Italy for the same, and the portion is rather huge.

STAFF: The staff we met were very friendly and hospitable and spoke fluent Italian and English.

In conclusion, Villa Marea would definitely be our choice to stay again when we are back in Rovinj

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is at least 35 minutes into town. It is a very suburban area. Our room had a balcony with no view and very noisy neighbours next door where there must be a BBQ area. The swimming pool is nice but the beach is rocky. The good things are the all day coffee and the free computer. Why don't they serve breakfast?

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed for a week and were delighted by this place. A good location from where you can walk into the Old Town either along the streets or along the rocky coastline.

Nice size and everything needed was available. Free tea nd coffe all day and a lovely swimming pool were also nice. The lady working there (Matea) was incredibly helpful and just couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.

Made for a perfect base for exploring the hill towns and costal villages all close by.

This is one place we would come back to for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porec, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Im sure that is the best place where you can stay in this city because our room was very nice with our own kitchen, private bathroom and a terrace a a swimming pool. Its no so close to center of the city and thereby its a fantastic place to enjoy a few relaxing days. Its very close of the best amazing beach of the world with clear waters and uncrowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidov946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here for Two nights. We were given a newly updated first floor apartment which was very nice. The main room as you walk in you have a full bathroom, small kitchen with dining table for four, a twin bed that I believe turned into a full size couch and a tv. A separate bedroom with a very large and comfortable bed and bathroom. They set up a baby cot in the room and still had plenty of space to walk. The front desk staff was very nice, gave a map with sights and directions to restaurants in the vicinity of the apartment. Wifi in the room and in the lobby. Has a pool out front but we didn't use it since it was still chilly outside in April, it looked nice. Make sure your GPS is updated if driving, the address sends you to the first set of apartments as you drive in the neighborhood but Villa Marea is down the street and around the corner a bit. The price was decent and plenty of parking out front. A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if possible or your will have a hike upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went to Villa Marea in the first week of september 2012. Once arrived, I looked very adorable. Clean parking in front of the appartment, very good looking garden, very clean swimming pool, little adorable lounge beside the swimming pool, ...

The girl at the reception gave us a very warm welcome and also the other staff was very friendly and helpfull. For example: we once forgot to do the dishes in our appartment and when we came back later that that, it looked like the cleaning woman did it, even if we didn't ask her to.

The building is very clean and quiet modern. We stayed at a small studio on the second floor, large enough for 2 persons. We had a little terrasse on the back of the building with a little view on Rovinj itself. The complete studio was very clean and well equiped with plates, glasses, cooking area, tv with satellite, safe, airco. Bed was very good, my back didn't hurt at all.

The beach is about 2 to 10 minutes by foot from Villa Marea, depending on if you can run very fast, walk normal or very slowly :-)
There's a Konzum supermarket and bakery just around the corner, about 5 minutes walking. Going to the city center by foot takes about 20 minutes. Also in the direct area: 2 excellent restaurants (people told us so), but we didn't get there.

Villa Marea's location is excellent. You can go anywhere on the coastside of Istria within 60 minutes. For example: Porec is about 30 minutes by car, even as Pula. Vrsar takes about 20 minutes, Novigrad 45 minutes, Umag about 55 minutes. Going to nice villages as Buje or Groznjan, al little bit more to the north, only takes about 45 minutes.
Rovinj and Villa Marea are about 50 minutes from the borderline with Slovenia and its adorable Portoroz, also worth a quick visit.

Even if we didn't use them, Villa Rovinj offers bikes for rent at a reasonable price. Also interesting: paying cash for your stay gives you 4% off on your bill, which we liked a lot, even if Villa Marea is very affordable.

I would like to recomment Villa Marea to all of you, except in de first week of september because I'd like to have my room back next year :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This pension has a combination of hotel rooms and apartments. Everything is very clean. It's located in a quiet neighborhood a 20-25 min walk from the Rovinj old town. You can also get around town on one of the bicycles they have available for rent. I found the location preferable to the center of Rovinj, which is quite crowded. We opted for a studio apartment. While not especially roomy, it came with a nice patio where you could sit outside. The studio is a good choice because you can stock up on food at a nearby grocery store. While the pension offers breakfast, you have to order in advance and it's an extra charge. Only negative about the place is that it can be a bit hard to find. The trick seems to be to find Stjepana Radica--main street for the neighborhood. Once there, look for signs that will direct you to Villa Marea. One final hint--bring cash. There's a 4 percent discount for paying in kuna instead of by credit card. Made this one of the best values of our trip to Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marea

Property: Villa Marea
Address: Vukovarska Ulica - Via Vukovar 8 | near entrance of Cuvi natural park, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marea 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is a newly-built villa in one of the most popular districts of Rovinj. We are located 150 meters from the entrance of the Cuvi Natural Park, and 300 meters from the beautiful and famous Cuvi Bay and beach. It is only a ten-minute walk to the historical center of Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Marea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing