We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”
Review of Santa Croce

Santa Croce
Ranked #13 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great food and excellent and professional service. The staff is efficient and welcoming. Fresh fish great value and top service. A great dessert: full of sweet treats to share. Also had house wine - white - excellent. We ate outside but inside the decor is absolutely first class. Enjoyed three meals here during a week stay. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    109
    28
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off night or overrated tourist trap ?”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A nicely situated terraced restaurant in a small medieval square....unfortunately the meal did not match. Bread was almost stale, beef carpaccio tasteless and mushy, and worst part was finding a plastic wrapper in my Istrian pasta. I sent it back for a new plate (which was ok) but I was still charged for it. The restaurant offered a free cup of coffee (?!) but it was quite a warm evening and by that point I had enough of sante cruce

Helpful?
1 Thank taliesin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best in Rovinj”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Enjoyed 2 meals here in the last few days and both were faultless. Not the best location with views only of the street and not the harbour but if you want to enjoy the food rather than the view it won't bother you. Fresh fish, superb pasta, great value (for Rovinj) and top service mean top marks all round. The pasta with tomato and salt water shrimp was stunning as was the sea food risotto. Tuna carpaccio for starters also a winner. There are posher restaurants with better views but for quality and value this one is hard to beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food in old town”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended by hotel so after wandering around the old town we found the restaurant easily enough and got a table on the terrace. Although we hadn't reserved a table I'd try to secure one prior to going as it is very busy. We wanted beefsteak, one with truffles the other with pepper sauce however for some reason there was no beefsteak left (at 8pm!) so had to order alternatives. We had rump steak and chicken instead which were both good. Also had house wine - red - which was fine though not great. Desserts however were very good. We didn't have a problem with diners from the other restaurant although that was probably as they weren't very busy at all. A good choice for dinner in rovinj.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Good pastas, great salads ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the salad options - choosing 4 between us. They also had great grilled vegetables, Swiss chard, and pastas (although we found the truffle pasta too al dente). The major issue was the smoking from the terrace below (the other restaurant). As others have remarked, the outdoor seating is basically together and since the other restaurant is also more of a bar, there were tables of smokers right below us. A note on speed of service as others have alluded to it - we received our meals fast and so did other tables around us. There was no rush to bring us the check or offer dessert though.

Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Croce also viewed

Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing