We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal overlooking the sea”
Review of La Puntulina

La Puntulina
Ranked #5 of 183 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely meal overlooking the sea”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was one of the best meals we had during our 2 weeks in croatia.
We ordered mixed mussels, octopus salad, zucchini and prawn gnocchi, olive crusted fish.
The mixed mussels deserves special mention because they were even better than the ones we tried in the southern part of croatia.
Service was also on the friendlier side compared to most of what we experienced in other parts of croatia.
There are stone steps leading down to a little alcove where you can swim - very lovely and the staff certainly had no problem with the guests going down for a swim while waiting for their dishes to be served.
We didn't have room for dessert unfortunately.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    403
    108
    50
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent. You must go.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I was shocked when I saw that this was the 16th best restaurant in Rovinj. All I can say is that the others must be out of this world.
We had a great table on the terrace overlooking the sea and the sunset as we reserved a table for 7.30. The setting is possible the best I've ever eaten at and I've traveled a lot.
Food was excellent from great prawns and istrian ham to start followed by pasta to die for, ravioli with truffles, and then great sea bass and great steak for the main. 3 of us ate and the food was of a very very high quality.
No room for pudding for the 2 girls shows how good the 1st 3 courses were.
Excellent local white wine, about 250 kuna a bottle went down very well.
Superb service capped of a truly great evening.
I can't recommend this highly enough. If you are in Rovinj, reserve a table for about 7.30 and soak up the sunset, fine wine and great food.
Thanks La Puntillina for a wonderful evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy,Mass
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“La Puntalina”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here, they gave us a front row seat, cliffside, on the water facing the sunset. Food and service was very good, even taking our photos and posing with us for pictures. Quite a memory! Defiinitely a special occasion place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location, Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location of Puntulina is second to none in Rovinj, perched on the rocks , right next to the water , at the top of a cobbled street. Their selection of fish and seafood is superb, as is the range of pasta on offer. Meat dishes are also available, but I think you are missing the point if you don't have the fish/seafood.
I am surprised to read that some people have found the service poor, we went 3 times whilst we were in Istria this year, and the service was impeccable. It is imperative that you book, as this is surely one of the most sought after eating experiences in Rovinj.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Combeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant with great service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We visited La Puntulina whilst staying in Jursici near Pula. it was a very stormy day when we visited and although we started off outside we were advised after our starters to move inside as the thunder and lightening was coming nearer. We all had delicious meals,beautifully presented. The glasses, cutlery and plates were sparklingly clean and our waitress was very warm and welcoming. two of us had the fish platter and when the waitress saw that my husband and daughter had left the calamari at the side of their plate she said she would get them something else. They assured her that they were full and had enjoyed everything else on the plate but within 5 minutes she came back with two beautiful plates of olive and bread crusted dorado fish which was delicious and we all shared! It was dearer than other restaurants we visited ( £100 roughly for 4) but you get what you pay for and the service and food were excellent. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AntheaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Puntulina also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to La Puntulina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing