We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic evening”
Review of Piassa Granda

Piassa Granda
Ranked #24 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Authentic evening”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited late and without a reservation. We were welcomed and warmly looked after throughout the evening. This is a wine bar which serves wonderful light meals. The Croatian meat plate and the cheese selection matched our red wine beautifully and we then enjoyed fresh ravioli with truffle sauce and a refreshing salad. Our hosts looked after us in an attentive but not intrusive manner and helped us with our wine choices.
The whole evening was fun and relaxing and one of our best in Istria. Well done, Ladies!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    26
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely wine and Lovely owners”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The wine bar was situated directly opposite Balbi and there was always a buzz in the little square.

The owners of the wine bar have an excellent knowledge of the local wines and recommended one which we drank all the time. The were extremely friendly and served us some lovely bread and Istrian olive oil with the wine. We will certainly visit again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The best place in town!!! Must visit! Good wine, great food and fantastic looking girls! Any day of the week, month, year...this place rocks...

Helpful?
Thank Vlada1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place to play with Croatian wines”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This bar has a large list of local wines that you can try by the glass of the bottle. Also you can order simple bar food such as bruchetta and plates of cold meats.

The staff are wonderful. Friendly and happy to recommend a wine for you from the lists.

A great place to hide from the occasional rain and enjoy some more wines.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanScott1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have a snack or light lunch at this wonderful wine bar. Salads, local ham and cheese are on offer. Best selection of Croatian wines available. Sit outside of the cafe and watch the world go by. Ask about daily specials. Good prices and excellent service. Piassa Grande is run by the wife and sister-in-law of the "Direttore" at Giannino, a fine Italian fish restaurant in Rovinj. As for the "Direttore" he will treat you like royalty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piassa Granda also viewed

 

Been to Piassa Granda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing