We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in on nearly all levels”
Review of Hotel Lone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lone
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Service impeccable, rooms fantastic. No hint of snobiness, they are genuinely happy to have you as a guest. Recommend the packages as there are no hidden catches, you genuinely get a full a la carte meal, no restrictions. Same for the wellness spar and breakfast in the rooms and very late checkout. It's expensive but worth every penny. Thankyou Lone for a truly fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyhurst_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Andy Hurst,

Thank you for your great comments.
Reading your review makes me really proud of our team, as you describe exactly what we try to achieve. Godd friendly, authentic and efficient service without being snobbish.
Depending on season our prices may not always be cheap, but we try to deliver what is promised.

Hope you will come back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

A very modern hotel, with perhaps a touch too much black. The rooms are very comfortable, from previews reviews you may be lead to believe the bathroom is simply behind glass, however their are wood slats across the glass. I thought it was nice. We never received our complementary fruit and water, even after informing reception.

The restaurant L is very good we ate their one evening, the food was very tasty. However upon asking the waiter about the difference between two bottles of wine both at the same price. He talked about a more expensive wine. He has obviously been trained to sell the more expensive wine.......not impressed.

Restaurant ON where breakfast was served. A large selection of breakfast dishes available, the ones I tried were of good quality. It would be nice for Cava to be served at breakfast. However it does have a kind of canteen feel to it.

Fitness - Aqua aerobics is available at noon each day in the hotel Eden, I really enjoyed this. I also attended to Pilates classes with Lea. They were very good. We also used the gym which has all the equipment including kettlecise balls, shame they do not do Zumba and kettlecise classes. I agree with others about the hotel not having its own pool which is a shame. There is no exclusivity about hotel Eden someone walking off the beach could get a sunbed here - no gated area.


I am sat in the reception area writing this review -poor barman is being told off in front of guests about some thing, this should be done in private........ We found him to be very polite and attentive and the club sandwich including chips was excellent value at 42 KN.


Overall mixed service experience and I would not perhaps class it quite at 5 star compared to others I have stayed in. However I would not deter friends from booking a room here. Book through an agent we used Destinology - it is cheaper than direct with the hotel.

My tip would be if you book here, have a chat with Lea on reception she is very knowledgeable and will organise your fee sunset cruise or day cruise. The sunset cruise was excellent and you may see dolphins. She will also organise your free bike hire. She will also advise you on place to visit and organise transportation. Wish we had met her at the start of our holiday, she offers excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lone for a week in July 2012. We really enjoyed the hotel and all it's lovely little touches. (Iced bottled water on reception being fully utilised!)

Reading some of the other reviews regarding the glass partition in the bathroom, I can only say, yes this was unusual but it wasn't really a problem for us! The rooms are absolutley lovely, and the balcony was just stunning. We sat outside each night with our last drink of the evening.

The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and lovely, just couldn't fault them.

The pool was shared with the 4* Eden next door, which again was unusual. The hotel is building it's own in Oct 2012 to be opened 2013 I believe. To be honest the pool was fine, but looking at what the 5* hotel Monte Mullini had, which was next door in the other direction it wasn't half as nice.

The hotel was a little far out from the main town square, but we got a taxi a couple of nights which was only £5. Worth it to save your feet!!

We were on a half board basis at the hotel. The breakfast was good, with lots of choice, and freshly cooked omletes. The evening meal was a little of a let down for 5*. The taste quality and choice was fine, but because there wasn't that many people on half board, the food wasn't turned around quickly enough, and it was left too long to go cool. This was more of a problem for my husband as I enjoyed the cold starters and salads very much. The deserts were also excellent.

Some friends we met ate in the a la carte restaurant and said it was great.

We made full use of the Spa facilities which were lovely.

I would deffo stay at this hotel again, as it's imaculate, but I would book on a B&B, as there's soo much choice in Rovinj and it's very cheap to eat out. We wll deffo return to Croatia, as fell in love with the country.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Amazing hotel with very nice people who are always smiling, superb rooms, great food and a beautiful spa. Location is also very good at only a 10 minute stroll to the village. We are definitely coming back !

Room Tip: The Jazz Room is really amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotelLesNuits_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a great experience staying at this design hotel.We loved the modern funky design and everything was spotless and looked brand new. The room was perfect, the breakfast was of a high standard, the service faultless and the meal we ate one night in the restaurant was very good. Location perfect , a little away from the hustle bustle but not too far not to be able to walk into the old town. If there was anything to complain about it would be the music from the hotel next door which could be heard when eating in the outside area of the restaurant. We are not "pool people" but the pool seems shared with the hotel next door while they are waiting to build their own and it did look busy and not as "cool" as the hotel itself. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Upon arrival to the hotel it looked really impressive however, there was too many cars parked outside so the coach took an extra 10 minutes to get up to the hotel. Once inside at the reception the service wasn't great nothing was explained and was just given the room pass. Once inside the room it was lovely large beds, and the best bathroom I have ever had both shower & large bath. However, air con is fixed and cannot be adjusted so when you come in from the day it's not cool. Food in the restaurant was aimed at russian customers. It was not labelled and none of the 3 nights in which I stayed I could get a decent meal that actually matched together. Salad was a let down hardly anything. Deserts were nice. Breakfast was slightly better but again not 100% great. When we order a bottle of wine with dinner it took 15 minutes to come in which time I was half way through my main course and ready for a drink! The hotel only has 1 bar as well so it can take some time to get a drink, this is one thing it needs to work on. The nightclub was also closed as it was low season. Wouldn't go back to be honest! It didn't feel like a holiday more like a business hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidayLover951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear HolidayLover 951,
Thank you very much for your review which we will take as motivation to review some of our processes and offering. I am really sorry that you did not feel 100% at ease with our environment,
as I can ensure you that we really try to make every guest welcome and give an outstanding experience.
You are right, in May we still have a certain amount of business guest and conferences, which is the only way to stay open the entire year, this changes completely in July and August, but we are normally quite succesfull in blending all needs of our international clientel.
Some of your comments still surprise me, as you are the first one to bring it to my attention. Particular the part about catering for Russian guest, which we unfortunately dont have any in May and also not too many during the summer. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to share some more details or decide to give us the opportunity have you as our guest again. peter.losch@maistra.hr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

all the best about this hotel. food is great, rooms are beautiful and bath thub on balcony is super.......
I would like to stay here again

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ministar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Ministar,
Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay soo much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lone

Address: Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range: £79 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lone 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel is a year-round leisure and business destination. Hotel Lone is a unique and extraordinarily designed place located on the waterfronts of the Golden Cape Nature Park (Zlatni rt) and only a pleasant 15-minute stroll from Rovinj’s colorful town centre and marina. Offering 236 spacious rooms and 12 finely detailed suites this hotel represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel offers fine dining restaurants and bars, exquisite entertainment programmes and an extensive Wellness & Spa centre. Hotel Lone captures the essence of Maistra's conference offer. Together with its sister hotels in the tourist destination area, it is capable of hosting major events with over 3,000 participants or tailor-made board meetings and workshops. The largest auditorium within the hotel has a seating capacity of 650, while the capacity of the largest auditorium in the area is 1,800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing