We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all round”
Review of Tipico Old Town

Tipico Old Town
Ranked #21 of 192 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Istrian cuisine with modern twist . Modern dishes made from old Istrian recipes with fresh local fish, meat, fruit and veg and local herbs.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Read reviews and booked via e mail prior to arrival in Rovinj. Fantastic location up cobbled street , easy to locate. Smaller than expected inside but v cosy. Staff welcoming and we were offered choice of tables. Decided on table opposite the door which was way cooler than the little courtyard and more interesting in terms of viewing the street life.
Ordered from main menu, specials were also on offer and all explained in detail together with price which was appreciated.
Could not fault any of the dishes, cod pate, steak salad ( b fantastic) risotto . Wine also v good and good value. Service was attentive but unobtrusive, spot on. Digestives offered , lovely blueberry.
Best of all price is extremely good . Wish could have had another night here , would def return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skubica, Public Relations Manager at Tipico Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Dee,

thank you on your kind review, we will try to keep up until you arrive next time ,)

See you around, and stay well.

Skubica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had come back to Tipico after three fantastic meals last year and was pleased to peer round the corner to the open kitchen to find the chef hadn't changed. Once again we were treated to fabulous Istrian wine, classic Istrian food with a twist and fabulous service from patron Dario. To the chap who complained about the service last week, I would suggest that how you behave towards the staff tends to be reciprocated. Our meal was simply fabulous, thanks to all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macdavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skubica, Public Relations Manager at Tipico Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear

thank you on your kind review, we'll try keep chef Gogi, since he is the core of non typical Tipico ;)
He is the Master of taste buds, he who prepare delicious meals, he who sleeps rarely, he who think only about food ;) He was the one who started his own cuisine and who needs your support and taste buds to fulfill his dream ;)

Thank you on that ;)

Kind regards, Skubica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We dined twice during our holiday in Rovinj. Once we made a reservation because it is obviously popular and busy and the food is all prepared freshly so covers have to be separated. The second time we were lucky and walked in when a few diners were just leaving, possibly because it was latish around 9-9.30 but I would advise you to book. The walk up the narrow cobbled streets is idyllic and as we wandered in for our first meal we felt that the restaurant instantly had a lovely "feel" to it.
The decoration is simple but stylish and this combines well with the helpful and knowledgeable staff to create a perfect ambiance. If we are honest we ate too much on our first visit and could barely make the walk home so we paced ourselves better the second visit and shared a pud! All the courses were delicious and the staff were enthusiastic about the specials of the day and helped to answer my silly questions about the menu and explained about the Croatian delights;pasta, hams, wine etc which we didn't fully understand. We had a very relaxing time both nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skubica, Public Relations Manager at Tipico Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear,

thank you on your kind review,

we are glad that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere ;)

See you sometimes in near future, take care.

Skubica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

まず、お店の雰囲気で好き嫌いが分かれるデザインです。
我々は2位のお店と知っていながら、『本当にここでいいの?』と思ったくらい。
それは古いとか汚いとかではなく、デザインが洗練していて、おいしいものを作ることまで手が回らないのではないか?という心配です。

まぁ、外れたら諦めるとして、『サラダ(Salad with shrimp on a bed of arugula, cherry tomatoes, apples and Grana Padano cheese)』(46kn)と『ポークステーキ(Pork medallions stuffed with prunes, served with baked vegetables)』(98kn)をオーダー。

まずはサラダ。紫キャベツとベビーリーフをベースに小エビやプチトマト、そしてリンゴとチーズがアクセントになっていて、バルサミコ酢とよく合っていました。

そしてメインのポークステーキ。お肉の厚み、柔らかさからしてソテーではなく、まさにステーキです。どこの部位か分からないくらいでした。味付けも抜群でライスが食べたくなりました。

また、付け合わせのナスとズッキーニのグラタン風が凝っていて、単品でも出せるクオリティです。

基本、バルビ門からまっすぐ5分ほど。坂の途中の左手です。

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sarutomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skubica, Public Relations Manager at Tipico Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Sarumoto,

we like your drawing ;) It looks nice :P

Thank you on your review, we will search for translator who will be brave enough to reveal this secret knowledge you're sharing with us ;)

Take care, Skubica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We needed to book and we had steaks after being shown them raw and were advised which were most tender ... superb with pepper sauce and roast potatoes. My son had chicken with saffron rice and loved it ... the same lovely attention, not overbearing staff, finished with a complimentary plum brandy mmm. Very reasonable £50 ish for three with plenty of wine and water ... a lovely cosy friendly atmosphere in a beautiful place. Thank you again.

Thank JulieHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skubica, Public Relations Manager at Tipico Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Julie,

thank you on your kind review,

see you next year ;)

Take care, Skubica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipico Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Tipico Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing