We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with some flaws”
Review of Wine Vault

Wine Vault
Ranked #54 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Gourmet restaurant on ground flour of Monte Mulini Hotel. After 4 years of working established it self as market leader in Croatia. 600 labels of wine and unique Chef's table will guarantee you memorable evenings. Reservation required.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good with some flaws”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Wine Vault restaurant is located on the ground floor of the fabulous Monte Mulini hotel. It is probably one of the best locations in Rovinj to enjoy a quiet dinner with a view of the sea, if you can get a table outside, overlooking the pool. We went for the 8 course fish menu, which was nice but had a few flaws. The wasabi sauce served for the prawn tempura was too overbearing, masking the subtle taste of the otherwise excellently prepared prawn. We also felt that 8 courses were a little too much for us (and I can eat a lot), as after the fourth we felt almost completely full, having eaten a very rich squid ragout and a quite fatty salmon dish. Thanks to our young sommelier, the wine pairings offered for the courses were excellent. All in all, a wonderful evening with great service and good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gábor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food & wine tasting evening”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Enjoyed each one of our five courses as well as wine selection recommended. Compliments to a great Chef!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lafinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible food and wine”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fantastic tasting menu in that you can pick 5/8/10 small courses from a list of 10+ split into fish, meat, cheese and desserts. We went for 5 which felt like a perfect amount, 4 savoury and 1 cheese. We also asked to do wine matching (not mentioned on menu) which the sommelier was happy to do, as wine is often served in 100ml measurements it was quite easy.
I had a course which was swordfish on sweet potato puree with chorizo and duck confit which was one of the best dishes I have had all year.
It obviously wasn't cheap but it felt well worth the money and the service was friendly and helpful.
Ask for a table outside if the weather is nice, really beautiful views out across the pool (which closed as we arrived at 8pm so was very quiet).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wine Vault came very highly recommended by locals and friends who have dined there. We were not disappointed. We were met by Tom Gretic, the chef who prepares genius dishes made from local fresh ingredients. We had duck, squab, cuddle fish, sashimi tuna, and scallops, all done to perfection. Some dishes were served with fresh shaved black truffles. He also has a fabulous wine selection.
This chef really enjoys his patrons. After dinner, several guest were invited to have another dessert and sample some of his rare liquors.
Wine Vault is an exceptional restaurant in an exceptional location and our experience there was one of the most memorable of our two weeks in Croatia.
Do not miss it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Los Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive poor quality food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

After eating in several wonderful places in the old town we thought we would try the wine vaults after reading trip advisor reviews. At more than twice the price of most of the old town places the food wasn't half as good. Luckily we only ordered the smallest 5 course option. One of my courses was duck which was chewy and quite overpowered by mustard. Another course I chose was pigeon breast that was so tough and quite inedible. Only a few tables were taken in the restaurant so there was a definate lack of atmosphere and I can def see why it was empty. Every course was covered in sea salt which masked the taste if most if the dishes. A very disappointing and very overpriced meal.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ricoh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Vault also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Wine Vault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing