We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Quiet location, some 10 minutes walk to city center (old town). Big and clean rooms with everything you need.

Pleasant and helpfull stuff.

Rocky beach. But there are some nice beaches nerby.

Nice outdoor pool and small indor pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiRIfiFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear FifiRIfiFI,
thank you for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

nice hotel, great rooms. good food n very clean. great pool area surrounded by trees and a short stroll to Rivinj and beech.

impossible to get served at outdoor pool restaurant. we tried 3 days running but got ignored. even when i got manager we still wernt served. today i got served after 40 mins by grabbing a waiter and making him fetch drinks however when i came to pay i was ignored i even went to bar and shouted I WANT TO PAY but was ignored. so i left and got free drinks. each time they were not busy either. poor service lets down a great hotel. im still at hotel so will provide update should it improve. spoke to other brits who have same problem at the restaurant too .. so its not just me

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sapbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Sapbloke,
thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hotel Eden. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with our service at outdoor pool restaurant and I apologize to you for these matters. All your comments have been noted and each will be addressed. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a great week at the hotel Eden with my family husband, daughter,soninlaw and granddaughter! Wonderful hotel with very welcoming staff especially Branka at the restaurant always greets you with a friendly smile! Food choice was excellent. Pool and surrounding gardens marvelous with plenty of sunbeds in or out of shade! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciara61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Ciara61,
thank you for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We booked with Thomson and our flight was good and only took 1hr 50mins into Pula.The Croatian staff at the airport were very helpful,more so than at Gatwick and we were met at the foot of the plane steps with our buggy and fasttracked through passport control.Note on our return we got the same treatment in Croatia but had a 25 minute walk through Gatwick without our buggy and with a irriatble baby.1st impression of the hotel was it looked out of place amongst the traditional Croatian buildings you see as you arrive.The town has the feel of an Italian Tuscan town and is very easy on the eye.We had asked for a low room with a garden view--which we were told wasnt possible.The first room we saw was up a flight of steps..the lifts dont serve this floor we were told.Upon entering the room it was small,dated and had a view over the car park.We returned to the desk and asked for another room and were offered room 501 on the top floor.This room wasnt much bigger but had a better view and was slightly better decorated.Once our travel cot arrived which the maid couldnt put up we unpacked and were left with a small area of carpet around our 2 single beds for us to manouvere around and our 11 month old crawling baby to explore.We also discovered there are no kettles in the room so we asked reception for a kettle and were told they were not permitted due to electrical restriction.We therefore had to go to the bar every night to request that our bottles e filled up to make up our babies milk.Back to the bathroom which was small and no big enough for a family of 3.Upon exploring the hotel we found it was a case of the old and new..Most of the hotel decor looks dated and in need of modernising but the spa and new pool area are beautiful as are the hotel grounds.The pool bar and restaurant are also new so very good and although overpriced compared to the restaurants and bars in town it was extortionate.We went to the pool everyday and its spotlessly clean.The pool is seawater so is a bit salty and our daughter didnt like it if she swallowed any.Its also unheated so can be a bit cold but equally refreshing when its hot as it was when we visited.There are plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas and even more in the grounds surrounding the pool which have plenty of natural shade.Our daughter loved the pool.It is the best thing about the hotel.As for dining,we were half board so breakfast was cheeses,meats,made to order omlettes and eggs,fatty bacon,frankfurter sausages,tomatoes and a few other hot selections,Pastries,waffles,cereal,yoghurt and plenty of fresh fruit.There is a coffee and juice machine which is free.Dinner consisted as a whole on nearly everynight of pizza,pasta or risotto,Veal in a sauce,chicken in a sauce,Pork steaks,a hand carved joint-this must of been the show cooking as i saw nothing else or nobody doing any show cooking unless you class frying eggs or making omlettes-anyhow potato in the form of croquettes or chips,tinned veg,some fresh veg and a couple of fish dishes.There was also cheese,meats,salads,bread,soups and fir dessert pastres,fresh fruit,tinned fruit and ice cream.A good selection but after 4 days of repitition it gets boring and you hanker a proper meal.There were some additions--pork.kebabs,meatballs and mixed grill aka a beefburger.The dining area itself is again dated but we had to ask 3 times for the highchair to be cleaned as it hadnt from breakfast or the night before.We took to cleaning it ourselves.Also no free water at the tables and drinks are massively overpriced do can be expensive.We took to eating in town at lunchtime to vary our diet and enjoy the Istrian cuisine and most guests we spoke to were equally fed up with the lack of variety in the restaurant.To the best bits about the Eden apart from the pool,its location and the town of Rovinj itself.It truly is beautiful.The hotel is next to a lovely nature reserve ideal for daytime and evening walks and early.morning jogs.The beaches are rocky but the sea is clear and the whole nature reserve is stunning.The walk into town takes about 30 minutes around the marina and past more restaurants than i could count plus you have the stunning view of the old town across the clear waters.We did the walk everyday and had lunh at some lovely places.If you like pizza head to Pizzeria de Sergio on Grisia as you walk up the cobbles to the church.Apart from pizza we had some nice fish dishes,risottos and ice cold beers and its very reasonable.The restaurants rarely have highchairs but are more the willing to accomodate you.In the old town itself there is also a daily market and some great places for ice creams.We walked up to the church one day.The views are stunning but the cobbles are very slippery and its hard work with a buggy.So on a whole we had a beautiful holiday an our time in Rovinj.Would we come back,yes without a doubt but not to The Eden,maybe we would pay a bit more and stay at The Lone.The Eden has the right idea and some great aspects but its not suitable for families with babies,the rooms are just too small and dont have the required facilities.Also our room was unhoovered one day and had spiders webs in the corners which our daughter found for us!!.Go to Rovinj,maybe stay B and B as there are so many great places to eat you will not be dissapointed in how beautiful the place is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fardev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Fardev,
thank you for your recent visit and your detailed review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and I apologize to you for these matters. We always aim to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we regret that on this occasion you were less than satisfied. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just returned from the Hotel Eden after a week's holiday - the weather was great and the position of the hotel could not have been better. However this is not a four star hotel - the room we had was at the side and had a very small balcony and no view whatsoever - the balcony was probably about 2 foot wide. The room itself was okay but it needs an update and there was hardly any space between the bed and the dressing table so there was no way that you could actually sit on the chair when it was pulled out. The mirror is a long strip on the wall just above the dressing table and I had to sit on the bed to see when I was drying my hair. As others have mentioned it did take quite an effort to get in and out of the shower as it is over the bath and the bath is exceptionally high off the floor.
The food was fine - especially the selection of fresh fruit - but it appeared to be the same every night. Hamburgers were on the menu three nights in a row - called a mixed grill one night - but just hamburgers! The staff were all extremely friendly and on the whole the price of drinks was okay - you just didn't get a very good measure.
The pool area was lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds but not all had umbrellas- but there were plenty of shady places out of the sun and pool towels are available.
Rovinj is a lovley town but it did appear to be quite quiet in the evenings - as was the hotel. There was some live music in the evenings but you had to go to the pool grill restaurant area and the first night we went it finished at 10.15 - so wasn't really worth the effort.
Nice to see but don't think I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hodgsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear hodgsoy,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are sorry that you were not impressed with your experience during your stay with us. We always aim to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we regret that on this occasion you were less than satisfied. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve and monitor our service standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

For a hotel in Croatia that is joining the EU on 1 July 2013, the Eden’s four star rating is way over rated and overpriced for EU standards. At best the room we had would not make a two star in Germany. I will try to explain the room just in case I cannot download pictures to the review. The bathroom had heavy mold on the shower wall and shower door rims. The sink was cracked and stained and the bathroom door molding was peeling off to the point it was separating from the door. The toilet was wedged between the shower stall and wall which gave no room for a normal person. You would lean on the toilet paper holder and the towel heater on the wall. Sitting straight was impossible. Not good for this leftie! The main standard double room had stains on the carpet in numerous places and the furniture had nicks and cuts. That maybe because there was not much room from the foot of the bed to the wall table unit which meant the chair kept sliding against and rubbing the unit when someone went between the bed and the table unit. Not as wide as seen in pictures of the standard double room.
The good news is that the breakfast was outstanding and the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BNotz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear BNotz2,
thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at our hotel. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that you were disappointed. We are taking these matters very seriously and each one is being addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff and the breakfast.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from a fabulous trip to the Hotel Eden, Rovinj, Croatia. Just my husband and I - would not say that it's a hotel or resort for teenagers. Luckily left them at home! Hotel would be ideal for young children, fabulous pools and a kids club and play area or adults without children. It's a very quiet hotel as there are a lot of retired people that visit, which suited us perfectly, but can be a little quiet in the evenings. Stayed half board - breakfast and evening meals were all edible and very nice. Wide choice of food. In the evening always pasta, fish and meat dishes. Varied vegetables and all of a good standard. However we did eat out 3 evenings to vary the evening and the restaurants around the marina were plentiful and the 3 we ate in were all of a very high standard. The hotel staff were fabulous, so so friendly and helpful and the hotel and grounds immaculately clean. The bedroom was of a good size but décor a little tired. The bathrooms need an update, ours had a new toilet and sink but the bath was extremely high and to climb in and out for a shower not the easiest of manoeuvres! Definitely needs replacing with a shower cubicle. If you are not that able, I would email ahead and request a suitable bathroom. The resort is fabulous. A lovely 20 minute coastal walk into Rovinj and the other way a pine forest with lovely walks. Bikes to hire too. Did the Best of Istria tour with Thomson to Pula's amphitheatre. Good trip and worth the money. Went up the church tower which I'd thoroughly recommend for views of the town but you again must be fit and able as they are quite rickety steps. Half way round the marina you will find Mare boat trips - take an hour's trip around the islands. The captain (can't remember his name) was a great guy and very knowledgeable. All in all a great place to go for a week.

Room Tip: We were given a room overlook the pool. The pool is far enough away you hear no noise. Overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Sue C,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £58 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing