We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had stayed for 2 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed for 2 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We have just returned from Rovinj, where we spent a fantastic week at the Hotel Eden. We had read the reviews about building work going on nearby and we wondered before we went whether we would have a good time - after only a couple of days we knew we should have stayed for longer.

There was building work going on,.. but it was no big problem and ... the hotel laid on complimentary access to all the facilities of the Hotel Istra!!

The food at the hotel has had mixed reviews, but we have stayed at a number of 4 star hotels in the Canary Islands and around the Med and the food here is as good as anywhere we have stayed. The service is top notch too!

The surroundings here are absolutely lovely too. Turning the corner of the coast path on the first morning we were presented with a beautiful panorama of Rovinj, later in the week we went for a walk the other way, straight into a beautiful forested national park which was equally peaceful and relaxing.

The evening entertainment was perhaps a little samey, but when we ventured into Rovinj, we discovered why...with such a great local nightlife, perhaps people wanting more lively entertainment just need to walk a little further? The nightlife in Rovinj was great.

This is a peaceful and panoramic setting, with an absolutely awesome swimming pool, but where the sea is warmer than the pool and equally crystal clear.

We planned to use Rovinj as a base for a number of excursions, but it was so beautiful that we didn't do half of what we planned... in fact we only visited Venice (a must and if you go direct only 2 1/2 hours on the Catamaran) and Lake Bled (a long tour but well worth the views.)

We met plenty of return holiday makers at the Hotel, couples, old and young, families, old and young. If you want a real lively hotel then go to the Hotel Istra but if you want accessibility, peace and beauty and genuine rest then look no further. We plan to go back soon!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JB_Thurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    398
    115
    21
    16
See reviews for
226
455
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kinster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

A fantastic Hotel in a lovely quiet resort. No lager louts or Hen/Stag parties...ideal for families and people looking for a relaxing break. In our party were myself, husband, 2 children aged 5 and 6 and my parents.
Only a 2 hour flight from Birmingham and a 40 minute transfer to the hotel. Hotel Eden is clean, modern and the staff friendly and helpful. The buffet restaurant was better than expected with a good variety of choice. The Hotel rooms were again clean, comfortable and modern. The bathroom had a fab power shower and was of a high standard. The hotel is surrounded by woodland and big lawned areas - ideal fo the kids to safely stretch their legs. The beaches are however rocky and not sandy but locally purchased jelly type shoes solve that problem. The sea is like a mill pond and totally clear and idea for children to play in.
Eating and drinking out are on a par with English prices. The food has an Italian influence ie. pizzas etc.
There is some building work taking place nearby but it did not impact on our say at all so don't be put off.
I would recommend this Hotel and resort 100%. We booked with Portland Direct who were very good. Even when we had a slight flight delay on the way home we were given an imprompto tour of Pula in by coach and a lovely lunch in a sister hotel near the airport!

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Having stayed in the Dubrovnik area before we wanted to try the North. The hotel is of a good standard, has a large swimming pool and gardens, and finding one of the many sunbeds even at the beginning of August was never a problem even if we returned in the middle of the afternoon. The immediate beaches are disappointing, so it is worth hiring a bike and cycling (£5 a day at the front of the hotel) through the nature reserve backing on to the hotel grounds next door with some 20KM of coast to choose from. It takes 15 minutes by sea front to reach the centre of town, and 10 minutes from the hotel front door. I suspect it will get busier shortly as a new 5 star hotel owned by the same group looks almost complete next door between hotel and town. Buffet very boring and hardly changed most days, so although on half board we ate out a lot. You could have chips for breakfast though!

  • Liked — A good sun sea and beach holiday
  • Disliked — Very poor service on occasion in hotel bars
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gentleman_of_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

We have had our first stay in Croatia, and we were very positively surprised. Lovely country and the Hotel Eden in Rovinj was just lovely. We liked all about it. Nice rooms, lovely pool, fantastic food, friendly staff. We highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The pool and the restaurant
  • Disliked — The view from our room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buster0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

As the previous reviewer has mentioned, we were informed of the building work around two weeks before we were due to travel (irritatingly, the letter was sent by second class post and did not even contain an apology!). Before I booked the holiday back in January I specifically asked Portland if there would be any building work going on nearby (as I had read that the hotel next door had been demolished last year), and they said definitely not. On telephoning Portland after receipt of their letter, they tried to make out that they had only found out about the building work in May. When I asked why they did not inform us about it in May, they said it was because they were monitoring the situation (and not because they wanted to tell us at the last minute so it was too late for us to transfer to a different holiday!).

That said, the building work did not spoil the holiday. You could hear it going on when sitting in the garden, and there were lorries going to and from the site during the day, but it was not as bad as I had expected.

The hotel is in a good position, on the edge of a nature reserve, and a pleasant 15 - 20 minute stroll from the beautiful town of Rovinj. I had emailed the hotel and requested quiet rooms overlooking the pool/garden and our rooms were spacious and well appointed.

The pool area is well maintained - plenty of sunbeds, plenty of shade. The pool itself is huge (salt water) and very clean. The pool restaurant is well run and good value for a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast and dinner are both buffet style. Not haute cuisine, but plenty of choice. We had wines by the caraffe each evening and these were reasonably priced and perfectly drinkable.

The hotel is spotless and well run. The staff are all extremely pleasant. The evening entertainment is...........interesting!

Would I go back? Yes, although I'll be keeping an eye on the progress of the new 5 star next door (which I believe is owned by the same group), which should be pretty stunning when it's finished.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigmore, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

Rovinj was excellent. The Hotel Eden overall was very good (see later about rooms). As others have said the food is OK, but we're not talking Marco Pierre White here - on the other hand you certainly won't starve. The staff are very friendly and helpful. And the Eden is the one place worldwide where I've seen sunbeds and sunny or shaded wide spaces available virtually all day. You can walk into the old town in 15 minutes (path during daylight, return by road after dark). Old Town is absolutely enchanting - lots of restaurants, bars and shops. The prices are much lower than expected (not sure how long that will last). Eden has advertised music entertainment every evening.

The adjacent buiding works (nearest point 100 yards away) must have been ongoing for well over a year. The structure of the new large hotel right next to the Eden is nearly finished, but fiiting out hasn't started - it should have opened this summer 2008. Now, Thomson & Portland Direct would have you believe that only 3 weeks ago this major building site came as a whole big surprise to them. They are only now writing at the very last minute to customers who booked with them as far back as last September (2007) to warn about potential noise. In fact the Hotel Eden seems to have had considerable influence as the noise was very sporadic and only during the day ( I suspect the new hotel being built next door is part of the same Hotel Group). It certainly didn't detract at all from our holiday experience, but may well have done so for others who stayed earlier when construction must have been in full swing.

We now come to the real (only) problem with Hotel Eden. I was reliably informed the hotel was extended at some point adding a Glass Boxed wing. I'm not a Civil Engineer, but I cannot imagine a construction more likely to act as 'sauna' accommodation than this modern glass fronted extension - if you ever wondered what architects are referring to when they mention 'Solar Gain' then this searing heatbox is a prime example.The hotel's original main air-conditioning system was connected to these extra rooms but was never upgraded to cope with the additional power/capacity requirements - Result, in July temperatures in the 90's and above (38c) plus the very high humidity normally expected in this region of Croatia these rooms are almost unbearable to stay in. These rooms are, of course, priced far more economically than the rest of the hotel where the air-con work very satisfactorily in your rooms ( it certainly did in the room we after 1 hour got ourselves moved to at the other end of the hotel). Guess what? Guess who will have booked you into your very own Sauna Bedroom. Yes you've guessed, its Thomson's and/or Portland Direct. So, if on your arrival you're allocated 'Thomson Rooms', for example 307 to 325 on the 3rd Floor and its going to be hot and humid during your stay then I suggest you immediately get yourself (as we did) moved to the other (original) end of the hotel, unless you want to lose weight or are a jockey. The Eden claimed the part to make their air-con system go faster was held up at the Border (sadly, I didn't have the heart to tell them faster doesn't actually mean cooler; it just means the same, faster).

In fact the new hotel next door from its brochure looks to be excellent (possibly Rovinj's first 5 Star hotel) and whne completed (now 2009?) it will have the most wonderful views over the bay.

Overall Rovinj's great and the Eden was enjoyable, just avoid those Sauna Bedrooms!

  • Liked — Moving to a room with full working Air-con
  • Disliked — Hiding the fact we had moved room from others on same package
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ItalianBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

The best feature of this hotel in my view is the large and spotlessly maintained pool and the extensive gardens round the pool. This area is grassed and with lots of natural shade from the tress, Sunbeds are plentiful and never a problem in getting one either by the pool or in the gardens.
The building itself is not particulary attractive and not helped by the hanging out over the balconies of towels and clothes,the rules against are completely ignored as is the dress code in the dining room in the evening. The location is very good in a relaitively unspoiled area about a 20/25 minute walk to the centre of Rovinj. There is a very large hotel under construction right next door, this may well change the character of the immediate area.
The constuction noise mentioned in some earlier reviews is a bit of a nuisance but not as bad as we expected.
Food was ok, plent of choice both at lunch and dinner but quality was fairly average. The pool cafe, open at lunch was very good,, A walk into town to eat at one of the many excellent restuarants is definately a better options in the evening.
Rovinj itself is a positively delightful town with lots of bars and resturants surrounding the busy harbour. Away from the harbour there is a maze of narrow cobled streets, with many shops and restuarants.
There are not many places we go back to but the Eden and Rovinj are a definately possibility.

  • Liked — Gardens and Pool
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing