We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, if you like a package deal and buffet food”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Ok, if you like a package deal and buffet food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wanting to visit Rovinj we were only able to book a package, due to very limited airlines flying to Pula. We do prefer smaller, independent hotels and would have liked to stay at the sister hotel, Monte Mulini but it was 3 times the price!

The outside areas are stunning, gardens with mature trees, gorgeous (but cold!) pools and the coastal walk to Rovinj has been beautifully landscaped – all flat, wide pathways for walking/cycling. There is also a very nice indoor pool/spa although wasn’t open early enough for early morning swims.

Rooms are ok in size but have design faults – there wasn’t enough room to sit at the chair at the desk/dressing table without hitting the bed and if one of you was seated, the other had to climb over the bed to cross the room! We had a room at the front and as the air-con wasn’t on in May (but needed on hot days) had the balcony door open for air. We did have problems with vehicle noise and noisy deliveries through the night - even with the door shut noise was still loud. For a sizeable hotel with huge public areas, bathrooms were surprisingly small and in need of an update. It was a high step in/out of the miniature bath/shower – fine for us but probably difficult for many others.

Food was as expected – basic, buffet style so we ate elsewhere on 4 nights to have much better a la carte options. After another flight/coach arrival it was hectic at breakfast and dinner and air-con is desperately needed in the restaurant. It took a while to receive ordered drinks which arrived part way through your main course. Breakfast was fine but quite limited and almost the same every day.

The beach/poolside restaurant, Oleander delivered more than expected – good menu and enjoyable food. Watch out for wine prices though as it is charged per 100ml, but they automatically serve 200ml, at twice the price – cheaper to buy a bottle than 2 glasses each. Restaurants outside the hotel resort were more generous with volume of drinks served.

A bonus was half price alcoholic drinks (not cocktails) 5pm – 6pm in the bar area which was very welcome – a nice way to start the evening and popular with many guests.

A tip – do visit the stylish Hotel Lone and enjoy cocktails at the gorgeous Monte Mulini, only slightly more expensive than the Eden. The bar and terrace overlooking the bay is stunning and staff were charming.

Weather was mixed, but it meant we really explored lovely Rovinj – very pretty and unspoilt.

We may return to the area one day but would stay elsewhere – maybe when flights are more available allowing more choice for independent travel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have road and vehicle noise all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear IOWtravelbabes,
thank you for your recent visit and your detailed review. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and I apologize to you for these matters. Regarding the air condition, I would like to mention that according to our environmental policy we start air conditioning season after the outside temperature reaches 25 °C three days in the row. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    411
    117
    21
    16
See reviews for
232
465
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have had a fantastic holiday stayed in the Eden Hotel in May 2014 can't fault it everything was perfect for us the room was spotlessly clean, good variety of food . Lovely grounds and loads of sunbeds . Staff were very friendly and helpful . Bikes were free to use to hotel residents , this hotel is in the most beautiful position right on a new pebbled beach and on the edge of a forest that was perfect for walking and cycling will definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Margaret J,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
417 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent 10 days in Rovinj. We had a garden/pool view room that exceeded our expectations. Clean, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, free room safe, modern bathroom with a very good shower and plenty of wardrobe space.

We woke up every morning to birdsong and glorious sunshine - and a beautiful view.

The pool area is simply amazing - lots of sunbeds near the pools and even more under the shade of the many trees. Everything is new and clean -full credit to Maistra and partnerships ?? for developing this fantastic area and the promenade to Rovinj.

Near the pools and beach is a very good restaurant , once again newly opened. From there it's a 15 minute walk to Rovinj along the new promenade with plenty of seats to people watch or just look at the views out to sea.

A lot of work has been done with new sun loungers, parasols even the pebbles on the beach look new !!!. Shrub and tree planting makes this a very attractive walk in to Rovinj. Go the other way from the pools and there is an extensive trail through wooded areas and along the coast, all well signposted for walking or cycling.

There is an excellent choice of food both at breakfast and dinner to suite all nationalities.
Everything is constantly "topped up" and everything is fresh. A very good salad selection, and amazing choice of vegetables and always a very good choice of meats and fish. There's also pizzas and pasta and lots of fresh fruit.

One evening we were going to a jazz concert in Rovinj and wanted to eat early. We were the first diners and noticed how warm the bread was - obviously freshly baked - and always top quality.

Public areas are clean and well maintained and the new spa and indoor pool are fantastic. We were there mid May - so no air-con and when the temperatures started rising we just left balcony door open. I would imagine that by early June the air-con will be fully operational.

All staff are friendly, efficient with particular mention to Ornela and Cvjetin in the dining room and Ljubica in the bar.

If you are considering a holiday in Istria then the Eden is an ideal base, car hire is inexpensive and the road network so easy. The mountain villages (not on the tourist trail) are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car park are OK as there are lots of trees, but for the WOW factor then a gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear r00m_with_a_view,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed all our services. Hope to see you back here again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binyamina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Very good
Friendly staff
Great location
Good breakfast
Very good
Friendly staff
Great location
Good breakfast
Very good
Friendly staff
Great location
Good breakfast
Very good
Friendly staff
Great location
Good breakfast

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Avihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Avihoo,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hotel Eden in Rovinj offers couples and families experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. The resort's principal features include a salt water swimming pool and hundreds of sun loungers. However, whilst this seems to be the main destination of choice for many guests the other features of the hotel are equally as impressive. These include the relaxing sauna, the gym and the health foods bar. Another great feature about this resort is the buffet restaurant which serves a good range of meats including veal, poultry, ham and beef. The vegetables and potato snacks are also delicious and change regularly. If you want something lighter there is an extensive salad bar and a good range of breads. But the most unique feature of this complex is the fact that all of it's guests are from different countries in Europe. Here you mingle with Austrian, Italian and Russian tourists, and the staff speak all of these languages, including English. There are also a number of bars onsite which serve ice cream, coffee and alcoholic drinks. As you might imagine these are convenient but also expensive. One of the best features about this resort though is that it contains a direct route to the centre of Rovinj. The best way to get there is to hire one of their bikes for a couple of hours and enjoy the seafront. It can be safely said then that this hotel doesn't need a garden to make it feel heavenly, even if there is one at the front!

Room Tip: Book early and get one with a balcony or jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildsurfer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Wildsurfer12,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked this hotel on a package deal with Thomson/TUI: Rated 4T, official 4*.
Pleasantly surprised to discover that this hotel merits this status,
often tour operators operate a different judgement set to the rest of us.
Only two room issues marred an otherwise excellent stay.
The hotel is signed up to some green deal which meant the aircon in the rooms was inoperable until 3 days in stifling conditions had been endured.
Bit of a drag and not conducive to a good nights sleep.
On the sleep topic, the mattresses are too soft and lumpy and are ready for replacement.
On the plus side:
Effective aircon once it was enabled.
Mini-bar with room to squeeze your own bottle of wine/coke in.
Good shower.
Roomsafe.
Fair hanging space, bit short on drawers.
Decent sized room.
Public areas are kept very clean inside and out, even extending to the very impressive beach promenade.
Wide variety of food offerings at breakfast and dinner, you should find something to suit.
Fish and pasta were particularly good for a hotel buffet service.
Hotel serves an international clientele, many Austrian, Italian, German visitors, which influences food offerings.
Bar services are good, stylish snack bar down by the pool.
Prices are around 33% less than similar hotels in the UK
No shortage of sun-loungers, hotel grounds are extensive, you can spread out.
Location is great, easy flat walk into town 15/20 mins or go the other way for a selection of pleasant woodland/coastal path walks, again easy terrain or hire a bike.
Evening entertainment, didn't really, a nice jazz duo one night but the rest was pretty pants.
People working at the hotel were all friendly, efficient and altogether nice.
Majority of guests were at the mature end of the spectrum, in the hotel and resort in general, did not see anyone in an England shirt, no loud pumping music either.
Finally, Rovinj is a very attractive place, if you go in 2014 visit the Dali exhibition it's worth it, similarly, climb the church tower if you are able, but wear sensible shoes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear iggi_1,
thank you for your detailed feedback and kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. I am delighted to read about your enjoyable vacation with us in Rovinj. We look forward to having you back with us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverhill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in early May, the holiday via Thomsons was superb, the hotels position on the edge of the sea and protected woodland is idyllic, the Hotel is immaculate, it's staff are friendly, and food is plentiful if you want to eat, and is of a high standard of taste and variety, one of the best buffet style restaurants we have eaten at. New beach facilities were just being opened and looked first class and existing ones are of 5 star standard, walkers and nature lovers will be in their element as so much is in the locality, walk the other way to the medieval town of Rovinj, and here there is something for all ages.
Long may it stay this way till the next time we visit, which will be a first for us pair of travellers.
LOVED IT ALL !

Room Tip: South side rooms on the highest floor would be best. We were on the North side but these are perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjadHaverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear jjadHaverhill,
thank you very much for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We will pass your comments to all our staff as this is the greatest motivation for all of us. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing