We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My first impression of the hotel was rather disappointing; from the outside front it looked a little tired. I understand the reception/bar area has recently been modernised and is now open plan but again I wasn’t impressed as the bar area didn’t look comfortable, relaxing or have any atmosphere. It was situated opposite reception and everyone had to walk through to get to the restaurant

We were given our room card and told were to find our room which we found very easily. (No offer of help with our bags etc) considering a lot of the guests we noticed were on the old side, some may have found it difficult.

I had read reviews saying that the rooms were rather tired looking, what they failed to mention was the fact that the room also smelt old and dusty. The room itself was ok, but unfortunately it didn’t help that the housekeeping dept was very poor in doing their job.

Good points
Rovinj is beautiful
Plenty of room in the lovely grounds, pool area and beach
Pleaceful location on edge of national park area
Nice walk into Rovinj along the new promenade
Most of the staff were very nice and friendly but a few were just not interested in the guests and their comfort/needs at all


Not so good points
Tired looking hotel
Rooms smelt of old dust and not cleaned
Bar area next to reception lacking in any atmostphere
Poor evening entertainment, just different bands. One night it was cancelled due to the fact that it had rained earlier in the evening (entertainment was always outside) and another night the Trio decided to stop at 10.30pm as there was only 20 people there
Food was ok, but by the end of our week was rather boring
The public are allowed to sunbathe in the hotel grounds and only have to pay if they use a sunbed

If you go with Thomson Holidays the welcome meeting took an hour and 15mins going thru all the trips, not how I want to spend my holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear wendy b,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your experience during your stay with us. We always aim to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we regret that on this occasion you were less than satisfied. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve and monitor our service standards. I would also like to mention that public are allowed to sunbathe only on the beach area and not in the hotel grounds.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    398
    115
    21
    16
See reviews for
226
455
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

recently stayed at the Hotel Eden and found it as described on websites and reviews generally. A good sized hotel set in lovely green surroundings, peaceful and spacious areas outside and by the pool. the pool area is a real positive as it is new and large with plentiful sunbeds - no fight here for a bed and sunshine. (well not in early June)
We were bed and breakfast so took the 15 minute walk into town - Rovinj is lovely with plentiful bars and restaurants, the walk into town is on a promenade and safe. Our favourite restaurant was close to the hotel, but from the rear entrance - around 50 metre walk to Hotel Arunpindi - great food and service.
The hotel facilities were good and the rooms ok - though a bit tight for space as the bed is huge. We missed tea and coffee facilities so take a travel kettle if drinks are required.
I found drinking tea a bit of a problem as only coffee is served at breakfast - tea drinkers have to queue at a drinks machine to then carry a hot drink across the busy restaurant to find milk. Not ideal and I have no idea why they cant serve tea - a little thing, but annoying all the same.
breakfast was good, buffet style and plentiful - great choice, fresh fruit, cheese, hams, cereal - not the tradition british breakfast but just about everything but!
The staff are really helpful and friendly and obviously well trained to deal with clients.
Take a bike ride into the woodland close to the hotel - a long time since I rode a bike but enjoyable.
We also took the day trip to Venice which entailed leaving the hotel at 6.15am to take the ferry - a long, long day but Venice was stunning so I was well pleased I took the opportunity - it cost around £58 for the trip. the ferry boat offers excursions in venice so cash is required to pay for a gondala trip or water taxi trip 29 euros each.
We will return as we enjoyed the setting so much - the hotel is yards from Hotel Lone and Monte Mullini and the pool is shared with hotel Lone guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear hillbilly125,
thank you very much for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If I could give it 3.5 stars, I would. It's not quite as nice as I hoped (the rooms are pretty small, a little dowdy and not totally renovated), but I had a nice stay anyway. Of course, the A/C was terrible, but in Europe, that's not a huge surprise. This is a middle to upper middle class resort hotel and it attracts a lot of families. Like, a lot. Just so you know.
The Eden is part of a three hotel campus, with the Eden being the cheapest (though not cheap) and oldest. I'd say it was built in the Tito-communist era. The Lone is next up the food chain, and the new Monte Mulini the crown jewel. They share a beautiful, treed point on the Adriatic about a 15 minute walk from the center of Rovinj. It's the beautiful grounds and location that made me round the Eden up to 4 stars. The huge new pools, decks and grassy lounging areas of the complex (all guests get to use them) are genuinely BEAUTIFUL. They have done a fantastic, world-class job with them. The Eden is the most inland of the three hotels, but it's a quick walk down a pretty path to the newly done sea promenade, which stretches all the way into Rovinj. Don't miss this walk... it is fantastic.
Okay. Back to the hotel. The lobby is quite large, recently redone and pretty nice. The front desk staff was friendly and check-in was easy. The hallway carpet on our floor, however, was a little messy looking. The room looked better in pictures and is very narrow. However, one wall is entirely glass (with a sliding door), which makes it less claustrophobic. We had the parking lot view, which was fine, because there are so many trees surrounding the hotel I doubt you could see the water on the sea side. The room was in theory redone not THAT long ago, but the fabrics used are a little unattractive and cheap-looking. On the other hand, the mattress was actually pretty plush and comfortable. The older bathroom was functional, but you have to shower in the tub, which is raised from the floor and again, very narrow. Hard to use and a little dangerous when stepping out of it. However, the real disappointment was the A/C. We were there on a cool day, but the room was still warm and it didn't do a thing. We had to sleep with the sliding door open. Unfortunately, at 4 am the birds WILL wake you up. I almost tripped over the high sill of the door when closing it. Another dangerous, odd piece of design.
Parking (good luck finding a spot) and Wi-fi were free, as was the breakfast, which unfortunately we missed. We instead had an early lunch at the rather spectacular Monte Mulini outdoor bar overlooking the Adriatic. The food was great and not that expensive for a 5-star, world-class hotel.
These three hotels are definitely the best in Rovinj (which is a stunning small town well-worth visiting), but if I had to do it again, I'd stay at the middle-level Lone hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the sea view... you'll just see trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Andrew W,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just back from two weeks in Rovinj Croatia.
We stayed at the Eden Hotel as part of a package holiday. I have nothing but praise for the Eden.
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly Staff.
Plenty of food and plenty of variety. Wine and Beer at the table reasonably priced.
The Jewel in the Crown is the twin pool complex which is shared by the 5 star hotel on the same site
Loungers around the pool and the wooded area in which the pool is located , shade if you want it or full sun
With so much space, so many loungers its never a problem finding a sun bed.
Would be very happy to have another holiday at the EDEN

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255Michael155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 255Michael155,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Rovinj. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a week at the start of June. I'll start with the negative points we found:

1) The food. Breakfast was fairly boring, the bacon is actually inedible (and I love bacon) and the rest of the selection was quite poor if you're a meat eater. There is a variety of eggs and fruit but beware the fruit juice is watered down. My vegetarian wife found the breakfast ok. The evening meal was pretty poor for my wife and not much better for me. We only ate here on alternate nights as the choice in Rovinj is a lot better and the food is fairly cheap (a shared starter, 2 main courses, water, wine - under £25).

2) Check in. The man who served us was giving us the details for one room and then he changed it for another room (original room not ready I don't think). I asked him about the 2nd room and he said it is bigger and better although the view is of the car park as that is the only rooms available to people who book with Thompson. Having gone to our room (405 I think) it was tiny and you couldn't even fit 2 suitcases in there. We then discovered a map of the rooms on the wall and we could clearly see that our room was the smallest. We asked to be moved and they happily did so to a room which was bigger and facing the grass/trees towards the pool, much better!

3) The maid was awful at cleaning our room, glasses were not cleaned, toilet roll not always replaced and towards the end of the week we did not receive shampoo/shower gel.

Now to the good stuff which far outweighs the bad stuff. If it hadn't have been for the above I would have given this hotel a 5, the rooms are nice (eventually), the hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and chatty, the hotel grounds are amazing, you can always get a bed either under the trees near the hotel, round the pool or on the grass or beach area, never a shortage and you don't need to go down at 7am to reserve.

The walks (or cycle) to the left of the hotel are nice, through a wooded area and/or along the coast with beautiful scenery.

The walk into Rovinj is approx. 15 minutes but it is along a nice promenade with great views of the marina and old town. Once in old town the marina area is surrounded by restaurants and bars. It is worth noting that some restaurants did not take credit card.

If you are here for more than 1 week there are several day trips that seem easy to do and very appealing.

Finally beware the Welcome meeting with the Thomson rep, nice bloke but it was an hour long PowerPoint presentation - just like being back at work!

Definitely worth a visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sperks ,
thank you for your detailed review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We have noted all your comments and each will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After a 6.30am flight, we arrived at lunchtime. The weather from the 7th-14th June was dry & averaged 26c. The hotel has a lovely setting, many pine trees etc in the gardens to keep you in the shade, and there is now a landscaped walkway into the town, along the coastline. It is mainly on the flat, although be aware that now there are more cyclists using this route too. The hotel has a large reception area, 4 active lifts, and we had a twin room on the 2nd floor at the front. Well placed and quiet, good aircon & good shower. As previously noted, the side of the bath is quite high, not good for short legs when accessing/exiting the shower. Cleaning team visited every day with fresh towels & supplies. There was a very good selection at the buffet for breakfast & evening meals, and we found that we didn't need a mid-day meal, but this was also due to the heat of the day. The wines, as expected were expensive, but we settled for juice or beer/water, no problem and the waiting staff were very helpful & attentive. All in all, a good relaxing week, and no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mrufus,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We are just back from 2 weeks in the Eden. Can't fault the hotel facilities and the area, we will come back. The food however is a little disappointing, with very little in the way of variety. I would come again, but on a B&B basis, as there is a lot of other places to eat, at very reasonable price, and much better choice and quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. Your comments regarding the food have been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing