We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly named - Eden”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Despite apprehension about adjacent building works, right up to the last minute, we were delighted to have not acted in haste to change hotels. The Eden was really lovely and the building work has stopped until the end of September. The gardens were a delight for a quiet afternoon siesta, with plenty of sunbeds; the surrounding grounds and woods gave an ample variety of opportunities for gentle walks with picturesque coves and views around almost every turn. For cyclists, the landscape was ideal for long easy rides along the coastal or wooded pathways with many places hiring bikes at 20kn. for an hour. The swimming pool is huge and was never crowded.
Rovinj Old Town is an easy 20 minute or so stroll along the flat waterfront and is a maze of interesting narrow, cobbled streets, fascinating to explore, leading uphill to the Basiica. For the more adventurous, a climb up some 188 wooden steps to the top of the 60m. high Bell Tower of the Basilica provides wonderful panoramic views........ and weak knees! Not for the faint-hearted or vertigo sufferers!

The hotel was immaculate - cleanliness and hygiene were paramount. The staff was helpful, pleasant and very efficient without being overbearing or intrusive. Food choice was varied and plentiful with daily changes. Each Monday an Istrian evening with Istrian cuisine and local musicians provided a cultural experience.

Most evenings there was some form of musical entertainment on the outside terrace.

Trips were quite expensive, but one not to be missed is the 'Best of Istria' tour to Pula and inland to Groznjan for a taste of the famous truffles in that area.

There are lots of boat trips on offer and the coastline is dotted with islands. It is a delightful area with a pleasant warm and sunny climate, though thunderstorms can be a quite regular event.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay this year. Having said that, it may be a different story next year as the Hotel Lone will be built and sharing the hotel facilities. It will have larger conference facilities, but will also be a holiday venue, so what is now an uncrowded pool and garden area may well be more populated next year or whenever the Lone is completed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

The hotel is very big, rooms are big and comfortable.
The breakfast was great. A lot of choice and very good.
The service is not really friendly. They answer you questions, they are willing to help, but they don't smile and are not really open to conversation.
I believe compared to the service you get, the hotel is overpriced.
The building site next door is not a pleasure.
But overall, since for me the most important things are breakfast and the bed, I had a pleasant stay.
It's also cose to the city of Rovinj, which is great to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLilyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Maistra would like to inform guests that all building work has now stopped and will remain stopped throughout the summer season. This will ensure that all guests in the neighbouring area which includes Hotel Eden, Monte Mulini and Park Hotel will be able to enjoy a relaxed and undisturbed holiday.

Stayed: June 2010
Thank Maistra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I'll be blunt and brief. Hotel Eden is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Clean, staff friendly, food ok.
HOWEVER. right next door is a building site (date 10th June as I write this from my replacement hotel....) and they are digging foundations with jackhammers JCBs etc. This is from 08.00 till 19.00.
We were not informed by our operator Portland, and managed to get transferred to another hotel after two days.
Don't be put off Rovinj which is a jewel. Be warned about the Hotel Eden

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank js009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivaMaistra, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Hello everyone, please note that the construction works the post is refering to were stopped during the summer season (starting from 19th of June) . This will ensure that all the guests in the neighbouring area which includes hotel Eden will have full comfort and undisturbed stay during their visit to Rovinj.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The Eden is set in beautiful park land and is only a few minutes walk from the coast and the town of Rovinj. BEWARE though as a new hotel is being built next door and work starts at 9.00am and finishes at 6.00pm seven days a week!! Other guests received letters from Thomson a few days before departure warning of building works but we received nothing! If you like lounging by the pool forget it unless you have some ear plugs.
Now back to the hotel, the room was very good and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom though a tad on the small side was perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean.
We were on the opposite side to the building works and couldn't hear a thing but if you had a room on the other side it must have been quite noisy.
For breakfast you could have fried eggs,scrambled eggs, tomatoes, Garlic sausages, Frankfurter sausages. There was also Broccoli, Cauliflower and Carrotts, very odd!
They didn't do omelettes, baked beans or have any brown sauce though. There was also loads of cold meats and breads and jams and fruits. There were also some cereals. I think the breakfast catered more for the German taste.
The dinner we thought was much better than the breakfast and there was always a large choice of dishes. For starters you always had 2 soups or the salad bar to choose from. For the mains Beef and Turkey was there every night ! All of their meats were very tender and could not be faulted. The freshly cooked fish was particularly good.
The desserts were not so great though as it was either some kind of cake or what looked like tinned fruit.
There was very little in the way of evening intertainment, we only saw one guy playing a piano the first week and heard a band playing one night the second week.
If you take the boat across to the Red Island which is well worth a trip show them your room card as the boat is owned by the Maistra group the same as the Eden and you don't have to pay! We didn't know this at the time and paid to go across.
We did a best of Istria Thomson excursion which was a very good day. We also did the Plitvice Lakes tour which was very beautiful though be careful as the rep told us it was a 3 hour coach drive there and it was just over 4 hours. We left the hotel at 8.15 and arrived back at 11.15 so it was a very long and tiring day. You can hire bikes out and cycle for hours on designated bike routes which is a great way to spend a day. One tip though, hire the bikes in the town or under the Park hotel as they are 20 Kunas cheaper than the bikes at the Eden.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank martincAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivaMaistra, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Hello everyone, please note that the construction works the post is refering to were stopped during the summer season (starting from 19th of June) . This will ensure that all the guests in the neighbouring area which includes hotel Eden will have full comfort and undisturbed stay during their visit to Rovinj.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Large but friendly hotel with attentive staff. Good buffet style food. Large clean rooms.

Easy 20 min walk into Rovinj and pleasant walks and cycle ride in other direction along coast.

Noise from ground work on adjoining building site from 9am to 6pm would make this unsuitable for those wishing to spend time lounging in grounds and at pool. May become quieter soon when actual construction work starts.

Ask for discount before booking?

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davtrevco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivaMaistra, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Hello everyone, please note that the construction works the post is refering to were stopped during the summer season (starting from 19th of June) . This will ensure that all the guests in the neighbouring area which includes hotel Eden will have full comfort and undisturbed stay during their visit to Rovinj.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We have just returned from the beautiful EDEN hotel---BE WARNED !
Thomsons informed us about 3 days before we went that construction work was in process next door but the hotel would do all it could to reduce the noise and inconveience --this left us no time to complain etc --Thomsons KNEW months, possibly years before that constuction work would be going on!!
On our arrival we were shown to our room by the porter who immediately upon entering said we could not stay in the room due to excessive noise !--a good start !
nothing had prepared us for what we met ---4/5 huge Volvo rock breaking machines operated 50m from the hotel, pounding and breaking up the rocks --huge Mercedes lorries then were loaded up and the rocks taken away ---this started early in the am. and finished at 6.00 pm ---7 days a week !!! The noise was horrendous !!.
No one could stay in the hotel grounds during the day --the place was deserted --the sunbeds unused and the pool and area deserted too . Everyone had the choice of either staying in their room ( the quiet ones ) or walking the 1.5 km in to the town of Rovinj ,which incidentally was one of the most beautiful towns I have ever visited . We decided to walk and make sure we did not return before 6.00 pm
The noise was so bad that eventually the hotel started removing guests from Eden to its sister hotel the ISTRA hotel, on a small island well away !
The hotel itself was lovely--the staff were so attentative and friendly--the food was good---the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard but the bathrooms and balconies were VERY small indeed . The grounds were spacious and extremely well cared for . Drink and food prices were expensive in the hotel, as is the norm --eg. a cup of coffee in the hotel was 15 kn whilst in the town it was 10 kn --why do hoteliers not understand that if they charged " the going rate " more people would buy instead of going elsewhere !
We did enjoy our holiday though --a trip to PULA is a must ,using the local buses.Thomson's organised trips were ,as usual very expensive-eg. the cost of a trip to Venice in the town was almost half the cost if one had gone with the Thomson's offer !!
Would we return ? --yes ,definitely but NOT when any form of construction work is in progress--they are pulling down an existing hotel and building a new one . I guess it will be at least two /three years of work -so we will have to wait ! What a pity !
Thomsons have a lot to answer for and I shall be seeking compensation !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivaMaistra, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Hello everyone, please note that the construction works the post is refering to were stopped during the summer season (starting from 19th of June) . This will ensure that all the guests in the neighbouring area which includes hotel Eden will have full comfort and undisturbed stay during their visit to Rovinj.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#16 of 23 in Rovinj
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £63 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing