We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much better than it looks!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So much better than it looks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

fabulous journey, ferry ride adds to the holiday experience, hotel looks a bit grey and concrete jungle looking but don't be put off. The island is beautiful and the original church is now a fantastic restaurant and idyllic setting around the small harbour for drinks and entertainment.

The rooms are comfortable and everywhere is very clean and looks inviting. The food is good, some nights better than others when we were there, always managed to find something appealing.

The staff and entertainment team all good fun and professional, found the prices refreshingly reasonable for a hotel, and throughout the resort, not sure it will remain so once they opt in for the euro!

My teenagers didn't like the fact you had to buy Wi fi! and it only worked in the lobby area, this was ok by me!

Rovinj is steeped in history and an enchanting resort of cobbled streets and lots of nooks and crannies with fabulous bars, shops and restaurants. Lots of boats and watersports, we hired bikes and the coastal path is great and an easy ride.

Would gladly go again.

Room Tip: sea from both sides but can overlook the pool or Rovinj, avoid one by the gym as restricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazL122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    290
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
261
455
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beautiful location, good quality hotel, perfect family suites, staff friendly. I'd recommend and revisit. Rovinj old town stunning, you can get there from the island on a free ferry within 10-15 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, family suites all have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eehine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

What a holiday...it was amazing. Getting to and from the hotel is half the fun... The hotel runs a ferry from a Rovinj to St Andrews island where the hotel is. The check-in was painless and room for the three of us was pleasant with a superb sea view.

The hotel's island is a lovely size and there are gym type of activities to do as you walk round.... Look out for the lizards!

There are four pools and plenty of sun beds but we didn't need to worry as our son reserved out beds at 8am each morning ;-). The pools are fab and a couple of bars nearby. I spent many a day lying pool side, soaking up the sun and reading my book

Breakfast was fun due to the unusual dish of the day! I spotted creamed chicken, Brussels spouts and carrots! But they always had nice sausages, fantastic fruit and bread/ toast and marmalade. They also make omelettes to order.

Dinner was great...lots of choice, loads of salads, plenty of sides and pasta. Wine and beer on tap and it was good. Loved dinner!

One warning though... After dinner we tried to take wine upstairs and the restaurant manager chased us! My husband was having none of this so complained and they were fantastic by apologising, send a bottle of fizz, fruit and letter from the GM to our room. Above and beyond.

The hotel also has another island reached by a strip of sand.... There's a nice restaurant there and we had a fab lunch there

My husband and son used the gym and loved it.

All in all a Fab holiday and we will return. Well done Hotel Istra... Missing you !.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dry_white_wine_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is a fantastic location, great hotel, the island surrounds the hotel so if you are at the front or back there are fantastic sea views. The island is used by people visiting for a day and anyone that thought that wasn't acceptable should have read reviews as you can clearly see that it is an island for everyone. The hotel is clearly booked by quality people, everyone is respectful and you won't see football shirts by the pool here.
The whole experience is charming, the food is different but then I didn't want to eat English Food, I came here to experience different things. My only gripe is with the Restaurant Management who haven't moved with the times. Reception staff are wonderful, Thomson reps are great. The pool is clean by the way done every morning and the hotel is not like an old ship....this is Croatia and they are developing businesses which are growing and improving all the time. Come here and enjoy every minute it is a great holiday.

Room Tip: Not sure you need to book and pay extra for sea view room as there are only a few non sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEEFELD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you are looking at this review please don't hesitate just book it ,,, the island the boat trip across to the island is just the start of your wonderful holiday. on arrival we were given a lvly reception and a nice drink .the staff, food rooms view was everything I wanted in a holiday.the island is a great place for relaxing walking sports and just chilling ,,,yet rovinj on your doorsteppPERFECT .ALLTHOUGH this hotel is 4 star it is not stuffy we lvd it .

Room Tip: somerooms don't have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOWSEEFELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Fabulous location, beautiful setting and exciting to see some of Croatia. Rovinj a beautiful little place to explore, shame there was a heat wave the week we were there which made walking around practically impossible but it was great to jump in to the sea to cool off. The Hotel Istra is fantastic for a family holiday, lovely reception, bar and pool areas. The Captain's bar and the views just the best for an evening cocktail. The restaurant is a bit canteen like but that's what you get for buffet style catering - our teenage kids love it as they can pick and choose what they want. The food was tasty, hot and lots of choice. The bedrooms functional. We paid for a seaview and they gave it to the kids - pretty lousy side view (room 275) Our room was small and overlooked the spa with no seaview (room 268) Don't pay extra as most rooms do have a seaview, we just got the short straw this time!!! My preference would have been the back of the hotel overlooking the marina and pools - very pretty. The front view is a seaview with Rovinj in the distance. Igor who was one of the hotel entertainment team was great. We joined in with the shooting/archery each morning which was great fun and the water polo in the afternoon. The spa pool was great and the gym excellent. Aqua aerobics at 12 every day and Zumba at 5 in the afternoon - you can be as active or lazy as you want. Hiring a pedalo is great fun too. We bought snorkelling gear too which we enjoyed doing - lots to see. You wont be bored. We didn't go on any excursions - mainly because we only had 7 days. The Bled tour and Lake Plitvice trip were very tempting but 5 hours + on a coach put us off. If you are there for 2 weeks you may be tempted. No problems getting a sun bed - there was always some available but if you like a certain spot you will have to get up early. Ferry trip to Rovinj so easy and free. We ate out at the Puntalina in Rovinj - fabulous menu, great sun sets but not really a place to take kids. Would definitely recommend - what you expect from Thomsons Platinum and Croatia reasonably cheap because not in the Euro. Just seen on one review about `droves of tourists' - what a load of rubbish. Please don't be put off - this paints the wrong picture, it does not feel overrun by day trippers in any way. If you want exclusive places, go somewhere else and pay the price for it. Great for a lovely relaxing week and not ridiculously expensive. Great flight - less than 2 hours, great transfer - 45minutes. Great speedy check ins. Ticked all our boxes

Room Tip: 3 rd floor People watchers - back of hotel overlooking pool & marina Front of hotel - distant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhrtdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent 12 days traveling Croatia and Slovenia with 2 days and nights spent at Island Hotel Istra. Maybe our expectations were to high and we didn't do enough research, but we were under the impression that the island was exclusive to hotel guests only. Boy were we wrong! There were droves of tourists that came to the island just for the day taking prime beach spots and over crowding the small area. Granted we came during high season, we stayed here thinking it would be the one place we could get away from the crowds. The room was comfortable, yet out dated, and did not reflect what the images on the website depicted.

The idea of a hotel occupying its own island off the coast of Croatia is enticing, however, Hotel Istra fails to live up to what a reasonable guest would expect when booking based on the how the hotel illustrates its features.

The Otok Wellness Spa actually lived up to our modest expectations, and the hotels website seemingly portrayed the entire resort to be like the spa, which is a truly great space. Outside of the spa, the pools and beach front were dirty and outdated. The adjacent island accessible by a walkway seemed neglected by the staff and looked worn down without any character.

In the end, Island Hotel Istra is a mere novelty that feels much like a 1985 cruise ship that has been shipwrecked on the shores of the island of St. Andrija for the past 20 years, but at the price of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globaldawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing