We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island, nice hotel, great holiday”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful island, nice hotel, great holiday”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were at Hotel Istra on a summer vacation in 2013. It was perfect! Beautiful island, great, modern hotel with excellent location - only 15 minutes from Rovinj and tourist crowd, and still you have a peace, nature, beaches...

We loved it! Room was small but with modern furniture, good bed and great view! We were very pleased with food (breakfast and dinner) at hotel restaurant and service was also very good. Hotel staff was very professional, kind and friendly.

Island nature is amazing with flowers, lavander & rosemary all around, with few different kinds of beaches (everybody can find the one that like the most), with seagulls and beautiful sea.

Really nice holiday! We will surely come again :)

Room Tip: Room with a view! Pay little more - you will not regret it!!! But than choose higher floor for even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your summer visit to our hotel and your kind words about our Resort and its facilities and services. We are delighted to know that you have appreciated our accommodations and our unique location here on St. Andrew’s island.

Also, thank you for noticing our gardening and landscaping efforts as we do take pride in our hotel surrounding areas. Our hotel Company Maistra is investing a lot of attention in keeping our gardens filled with Mediterranean herbs and plants.

Thank you once again for your words of praise, it is the best encouragement and motivation for the whole of our team.
It has been our true pleasure to host you and we do look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    308
    89
    19
    19
See reviews for
271
487
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed in September 2013 for our 1st wedding anniversary.

Beautiful location

Nice but small rooms

spa was lovely and reasonably priced

Food was okay, repetitive as we were there 2 weeks

Sea was nice, weather lovely, pools clean and warm.

They don't call it the jewel of the Adriatic for nothing would I go back? Yes I would.

Enjoy xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mosschops071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The location and setting of this hotel is excellent. The views going in and out of the town are amazing, particularly on an evening. The food at the hotel if ok, but nothing better than that. Definately worth getting the ferry across into the town on an evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Istra during the last week in September and the first week in October. The hotel doesn't look very inviting as you approach, but is actually very nice. The location is superb, peaceful and beautiful Our room was comfortable and the whole hotel was spotless. We also really enjoyed the town of Rovinj - a tiny, walled mediaeval gem. All was wonderful, until the end of September. Unfortunately, this is when the holiday season ends in Croatia. travelling at the end of the season meant that we expected some of the restaurants to be closing, and things generally winding down. However, what we definitely did not expect was the hotel to suddenly change from a holiday hotel to a conference centre. There we were, wandering in from the pool to the only bar open by then in the lobby to get a cooling drink, to find ourselves surrounded by display boards and conference delegates in business dress. Embarrassing to say the least. Then we were told that our dining time was reduced to an hour, added to which the choice of food went right down. All in all, it ruined the end of what would otherwise have been a magical holiday. To sum up - go to this hotel by all means, but NOT at the end of the season.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. The island where the hotel is located is absolutely beautiful and smells of rosemary and lavender. The hotel is perfectly located on a secluded island just a few minuted outside of Rovinj by ferry. I would say that the hotel was excellent for Rovinj standards but just good for mine.

Pros: amazing views, relaxing, clean, helpful staff

Cons:
We visited during summer, and our air conditioner did not work properly(at one points it started leaking water so badly that it looked like someone had open a hose inside the room!). After calling and visiting the front desk 4 times and their mechanic's inability to repair it, we were finally able to switch rooms. Without any air conditioning, sleeping would have been unbearable.

The food at the hotel's cafeteria was the worst we had in Croatia. I would recommend eating in Rovinj.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

i could not write a review for St Andrews Island in Istria/Rovinj. I did not stay at the Hotel Istria, but i do highly recommend a boat ride to St Andrews island. It has a temple area, a great trail where you can see birds and plants, and the boat ride is inexpensive and fun, I recommend thsi boat ride/excursion over the glass bottom boat rides.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbellehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the Istra for 2 weeks in September on a Thomson package. Stay started badly with a room mix up caused it seems by another guest with a surname starting with same letter - this was quickly sorted out with reception, but not before we had seen the rooms with a sea view, which are somewhat larger than the 'standard' rooms, so we quickly decided to pay a little extra and moved again.

The hotel is in a great location and has good facilities, but it was getting late in the season so not everything was open. The rooms are fine, great views, perhaps a bit dated, but very clean. We liked the spa, and although the gym is not wonderfully modern but it all works well enough. The location is fantastic on its own island, with great walks. We eat at the Pizza restaurant a few times which served pretty good pizza at reasonable prices. We also occasionally had a pleasant lunchtime snack in the bar near reception, served by very friendly staff.

We were on half board so had breakfast and dinner in the main buffet restaurant, generally lots of variety for both but very poor quality, breakfasts were a better bet, but all too often the hot options were at best luke warm, and included some very odd options (sprouts) . Dinner quickly turned into a bit of a trial, I appreciate the difficulties in catering for a large international clientele and perhaps British tastes have changed significantly in the last decade, but both of us really struggled to find anything particularly nice to eat. There is complimentary beer and wine, perhaps they should consider stopping this and spending more money on the food. Eat at the hotels A La Carte restaurant on the last night and in contrast the food was excellent.

Rovinj is a picturesque and historic town, although there isn't a great deal to do there, especially at the end of September.

Special mention for the Thomson rep Gian Carlo who is excellent.

Room Tip: It's got to be a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sgrenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
209 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing