We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Istra hotel is placed on an island near Rovinj. There is a boat going from and to an island every half an hour, so there is no problem to get to the town. The island itself (in fact, two islands connected with a dam) is quite small (less then an hour to walk all around). Still it has everything for good rest - pine trees grooves, restaurants and bars, beach and the hotel itself. The hotel is modern but nice - everything, from breakfasts and dinners to the room itself shows high quality. The only negative thing is the wi-fi quality - the signal is weak and doesn't reach the rooms (which happen to have a cable internet, although it seems to be of little help for iPad users like me).

I would recommend this hotel and Rovinj town for a calm, romantic vacation - the sea, the parks and old town itself provide a unique experience of beauty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Стас Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Стас Ш,

Thank you for choosing hotel Istra for your recent visit and for taking the time to leave you feedback about our services and facilities. We are very proud of the fact that you have recognized our high standards as we do invest a lot of effort in training our team to meet and hopefully exceed our guest’s expectations. Your comment regarding Wi-Fi has been noted and our IT team will look into possibilities of improving this service. Thank you once again for being our guest; we hope you will return for another great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    290
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
261
455
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I agree with the previous few reviews. Lovely hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Croatia. Hotel on it's own island so peaceful surrounded by beautiful clear turquoise sea, but only a short ferry trip from Rovinj. Lovely modern, clean rooms and beautiful setting for swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear LizzieSlack,

We are thrilled that your first contact with our wonderful country was through our hotel and that we have managed to meet all of your expectations while being our guest. Also, thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor community, we greatly appreciate it.

Warm greetings from St Andrew’s island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My sister in law and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Island Hotel Istra. This hotel is located on Red Island 15 minutes by boat from Rovinj. It is a super hotel built with trees and gardens around it and also includes a former castle building and church which are partially used as a bar and fish restaurant. The hotel is open plan for reception and the lobby bar and access to the balcony overlooking the pools and the adjoining island. Everywhere is well kept and clean. The restaurant is on a lower floor and provides buffet meals for breakfast and dinner. The food is of a good quality and varied. Local beer and wine, red and white together with water and soft drinks are included with the dinner. If you go on a trip that leaves early and or returns late then breakfast and or dinner packages are available. There are activities in the grounds of the hotel organised by hotel staff. There are 4 pools, 2 of which are for children. The pools and gardens are kept clean and tidy. There is another restaurant on the smaller island accessed by a causeway. We booked a sea view room which was worthwhile. The bedrooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. There are no vehicles on the island except for the small diesel vehicles for moving luggage between the main entrance and the boat and moving other items and deliveries. This added to the peacefulness of the location. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnLiz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear AnnLiz20,

Thank you so much giving us the highest rating and for writing such a lovely review with detailed descriptions of our facilities. We are really happy to read that you found our hotel “superb” and that you appreciated the fact that the island is traffic free allowing you a peaceful vacation in our unique island location. We hope your travels will bring you back to our island soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is our first trip to Croatia and can say that everything was superb, the island, hotel, room, staff, food etc., it was our 3rd wedding anniversary and was a lovely surprise to receive a champagne bucket with ice with sparkling wine with a note of congratulations from the manager on our arrival! We can say nothing bad about the hotel or the holiday, we also thoroughly enjoyed our walks around the islands, stopping for a nice cold drink or something to eat at the bars. We would have preferred that the hotel supplied a kettle in the room though, we found taking one and 2mugs took up room in the suitcase. Rovinj was also beautiful, take a walk up the cobbles to the church at the top the views are amazing, a couple of evenings we watched the sunset then went for a meal where the tables sat out on the rocks there were lights shining up through the sea from the seabed, cannot remember the name of the restaurant but it is near to Valentino's who serve champagne and cocktails, you sit on cushions on the rocks truly magical bit pricey but hey your on holiday and that's what its all about. One of the evenings we were there they had various rock n roll bands playing 50's 60's music which was lovely to watch the dancing, apparently they have the odd festival now and then. Thank you Hotel Istra for a lovely relaxing stay, we shall be returning!

Room Tip: We had a pool view, one which we would normally avoid but it was so quiet and had a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samnjan1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear samnjan1321,

Firstly, let us congratulate you one more time on your third wedding anniversary. We would like to sincerely thank you for choosing our property for such a nice occasion but also for taking the time to write a wonderful review of hotel Istra. I think Rovinj is the perfect place to celebrate love and romance and from your review I have the feeling you have been able to experience all its magic. The Restaurant you were referring to is called Puntulina and the 50’s rock and roll bands were part of Dolce Vita Festival that took place in Rovinj for the second time after last year’s success.
We really hope you keep your promise and come back for another memorable stay at St. Andrew’s island, we would love to have you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My partner & I have recently returned from the Hotel Istra on St Andrews Island, Rovinj and I have to say it was one of the most stress free relaxing holidays I have ever experienced. Here are the pros & cons
Pros
1. The hotels location offers a unique experience of staying on a traffic-free island where the only other inhabitants are pheasants & seagulls. It is an idyllic & peaceful location with spectacular sea views. The island is adjoined to another smaller uninhabited island by a bridge.
2. Our room on the 3rd floor offered a wonderful sea view with the church of Rovinj in the distance. Although fairly small it was more than adequate and included a large and very comfortable double bed. The safety deposit box and the air con were both free to use.
3. The island is not all about relaxation and the Entertainments team offers a wide range of activities including bike hire (it is possible to ride around both islands within an hour), shooting, archery, pool, table tennis, tennis, walking, bowls and darts. They also offer a one hour tour of Rovinj for new comers which is quite informative.
4. The staff, in particular the maid service and reception were very attentive and attended to all our needs. On all day excursions a lunch box or dinner box is provided if requested.
5. The food was of an exceptionally good standard and was possibly one of the best buffet restaurants I have experienced, certainly in Europe. There was a wide variety of choice and the wine and beer on tap in the evening was an added bonus.
6. Of the two excursions we went on, the Plitvice Lakes & Lake Bled, I would strongly recommend both. As a word of caution, it should be noted that the Plitvice Lakes took 5 hours by coach there and back and involved a good deal of walking, some of it uphill. It was extremely hot when we visited and was also quite crowded and one or two struggled with the heat and the distance we had to cover.
7. Rovinj is a beautiful town with narrow cobbled streets, this and the architecture reminded me of Sorrento. Small shops, cafes, bars and restuarants are plentiful. Our favourite restaurant was undoubtedly Puntulina. It offered great service, great food and great views of the sunset.
Cons
1. There are charges for sunbeds and umbrellas. Although this is only 30 kuna a day for a sunbed and 20 kuna for an umbrella it soon adds up over the week. We used our own sun towels but I assume the hotel charges for use of their own sun towels as well.
2. The evening entertainment was very poor and of a low standard. When we were there it consisted of a duo act (singer and guitarist or singer and keyboardist). Most people went into Rovinj of an evening. The week we were there, there was a very good rockabilly band performing on stage in the main square which attracted a large crowd and made for a great party atmosphere.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying extra for a sea view as not all the rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RUUDBOY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear RUUDBOY09,

Thank you for your very comprehensive and well-structured review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate very much the time and effort you took in creating such a detailed list of pros and cons, and are happy to see that the pro list is much longer. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and facilities- that is why we found your constructive feedback very valuable and will most certainly look into possibilities of extending our entertainment offer. We hope you will consider visiting us again for another stress release vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just come back from an awesome week in Rovinj and stayed at the Island hotel istra, great hotel although we were one of the unlucky ones who didn't get a sea view room. I thought that booking a hotel on an island surrounded by sea all angles I would be bound to get a sea view room which I didn't so make sure you book it otherwise you'll be charged €24 euros per night for the upgrade to have the sea view. Also apparently the first week in June is "low season" which means that the bar shuts early and restaurant opens and closes earlier. The hotel is clean. The reception staff could do with smiling a bit more though. There was no sign of any animation team and the night entertainment was a man in the lobby playing soft quiet music through the lobby speakers whilst playing candy crush and going on facebook on his laptop so the ambience lacked as no one really engaged with you.

If you are looking for a chilled out quiet holiday this is the place to come and myself and my partner had a nice relaxing week there.

The ferry to the main town comes every hour on the hour and takes 15 minutes to get across and is free if you are a guest at the hotel. The hotel drinks and food are reasonable a beer costs around £2 and a cocktail costs around £4

The hotel description says there are watersports available however apart from seeing a few pedal boats and kayaks all chained up on shore we never saw anyone who you could hire them from nor did we see anyway actually take them out on the sea but that might be down to the "low season"

The Thomsons rep Nenard is fantastic and I recommend booking through Thomsons as the hotel itself seems to favour German and Italian guests over English so should you need assistance having a rep like Nenard would be an advantage.

Rovinj is a beautiful town and there are many fantastic restaurants and bars where you can sit and watch the sunset I recommend Atlas restaurant for its quality of food and reasonable prices.

I recommend Valentinos as a classy upmarket place to drink fine champagne and cocktails and watch the sunset whilst listening to jazz/ chill out music it has a very Cafe del mar feel to it but is priced like a typical London bar which is double the price of anywhere else in Rovinj but in my opinion it's worth it.

Excursions: I recommend doing the Plitvice lakes absolutely stunning but be warned it's a 5 hour journey there and 5 hours journey back and there is around 8km of walking up and down hill so you would need to be reasonably fit and healthy and at the end if you book through Thomsons you get an absolutely fantastic 4 course meal a truly magical day of admiring the crystal clear tropical lakes and waterfalls and also get to see a great deal of Croatia on the drive to and from the lakes learning the history of the war in 1991 etc

I wouldn't recommend a boat trip unless you hire your own boat as most of the boat trips are overcrowded with not enough deck space in the sun to soak up the rays plus the skippers aren't pleasant to deal with and can be extremely rude and being stuck on the boat for 6 hours with them like we were isn't ideal.

Lake Bled in Slovenia is also a must see if you have time and a day trip to venice and not forgetting a day trip to the beautiful town of porec.

The hotel food is great lots of variety to choose from what was also very nice was that you could have free wine or beer with your dinner which was a nice bonus and unexpected.

The spa is superb we had a full body wellness garden detox massage and exfoliation I highly recommend you have this on your first day to get your skin primed for all the sunbathing you'll be doing.

The weather was great also mostly sunshine and not too hot but a nice comfortable 28c but that is June I am told it gets way hotter in July, August time.

We had a lovely stay it does seem to appeal to the older market so if you looking for lively nightlife this wouldn't be the best place for you but a very peaceful, relaxing and beautiful hotel on a beautiful island enjoy!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Linzeed,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us. All feedback, both positive and negative is greatly appreciated and we see it as an opportunity to grow as a property and as a team. We are very pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that the fact that your room had no direct sea view was not standing in the way of enjoying your time with us. As to your comment regarding our evening entertainment, we will make sure your comments reach our Animations team and will look into possibilities of improvements.
We do hope you will return for another relaxing holiday with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

As a family of three we stayed here during the last week of May. It was our first visit to Croatia and it could not have been better. The setting of the hotel is glorious and the short boat trip to the island from lovely Rovinj adds something special to the holiday. The hotel itself was very pleasant. It is clean and staffed by polite and professional staff. Valentina in the pool bar was particarly good. We enjoyed the buffet food although started going a bit later than opening time in the evening to avoid the busiest time. The two clay tennis courts are kept in very good condition (by the tennis coach Mackie - phonetically) and cost about £9ph. The weather was super and in the low twenties and warming up nicely. The pool was a little cold but very nice and there is an indoor alternative. The hotel was popular with healthy looking over fifties and a few families which suited us fine but might not appeal so much to a young couple. However there are lots of places to go in Rovinj and the ferry travels back and forth every hour until the early hours. Again everyone was very nice in Rovinj and we were struck by how easy everything was. After this we are Croatia converts and will holiday there again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear arc100,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so nice to hear that on your first visit to Croatia we have managed to capture your interest in our beautiful country and your comment shows that our entire team contributed to make your holiday memorable. Valentina is very excited for being recognized for her exceptional work at the pool.
Overall, we are happy that you have enjoyed so much all our facilities and hope you keep your promise and visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing