We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the vacation”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Highlight of the vacation”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I spent 2 nights at this place and it is just pure bliss. The entire hotel property is in Island. Great rooms, service and awesome buffet as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, the town Rovinj has got a great vibe. It's a small town with great restaurants and bars. I wouldn't call it a party town, but if you want pure relaxation and enjoy the beauty of the clean ocean water, then this hotel and town is the place for you. I have never seen water that clean before in my life. Try it out, you'll love it. Great place to go with your family or even for couples.

Room Tip: Choose a pool facing room ... It overlooks the ocean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Rohan S,

Thank you for leaving such a great review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that you were so amazed with the clearness of our Adriatic sea.
We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope we can have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    322
    92
    21
    20
See reviews for
277
509
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent a week here 14th - 21st June 14. Half Board. £500 each.

Hotel on an island and have to take the boat each time you want to hit the town at rovinj. Not a major issue, just allow 30 mins each way.
Weather was good, tried to rain a little, sounds similar to UK weather, at time.
Met lots of nice people met, from UK German, workers and shop keepers, they aren't so pushy as other say Tunis....
50/50 split between couples and families. Lots of germans. Avoid doors opening in evening as germans are on a mission to eat. Leave it an hour or so, quieter and friendlier.
Stayed in room 267, not the best, could have done with a better clean of the bathroom. However everything worked as it should so cant complain. Nice bad and huge pillows.

Pop over to rovinij to eat if you can afford it.

Did Lake Bled and Plitivitce Lakes, both very good, provided your happy to do 14 & 16 hour day... Ratko a good tour guide.

Must admit driving around the coast would be on my list next time. Eat out more often (didn't have 1 bad meal) in or out of hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you keep the windows shut else prepare to get mozzied!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear gaz1234Uk,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay in Island hotel Istra for your vacation in Rovinj last week and for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We have to say that the weather was a bit unusual for this time of year as June is usually very sunny and it hardly rains, but from your review I was under the impression that this was not standing in your way to have a nice and relaxing holiday. We are glad that most of the services and facilities offered were to your complete satisfaction and that you found the gastronomy offer in and out of the hotel very good. We hope you will consider staying with us again and discover all other parts of Istria that still awaits for your exploration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

So... I was kind of expecting a little more. I've stayed in many a 4* hotel and this one rates only average in my opinion. Yes, it's nice that the hotel is on it's own little island. Beautiful to walk around and nice little quiet hidden coves were you can swim etc. Great little ferry ride from town with a regular service. Peaceful and quiet. But you would expect an island hotel to have more... atmosphere? I guess that's the word.

First of all the rooms are tiny! And I mean tiny! Especially if, like us, you have to cram in a baby bed and a buggy.

And although we didn't pay for the sea view, it was a bit of a surprise to have no view at all. Just a wall with a few trees growing out of it. Isn't it strange that an island hotel can't be designed to give every room a decent view as standard?

Dinner. Sigh. The food is really good with a fantastic variety and, my favourite, help yourself ice-cream. Plus wine and beer on tap. But I felt like I was back in boarding school. Just a big canteen. Full lighting. No music. Wooden chairs that scrape on the floors whenever people stand up.

They have the facilities and the venue to make dinner really atmospheric and special for their guests. Even opening up the doors, dimming the lights and setting a few tables outside would help... We were on an island but didn't even get to sit by the ocean while we ate our meal to candlelight. (Unless we paid to go to one of the other island restaurants).

The hotel doesn't do lunch, so you can't swap your dinner for lunch like you can in hotels that offer full board. This isn't great if you want to spend an evening or two exploring the restaurants in town.

Another issue I had was deckchairs. As a paying guest, on an island, I don't expect to be charged K80/day (that's two deckchairs and an umbrella) to sit by the ocean. This is surely something that should be complementary to guests? Sure there are free deckchairs around the pool area, but that's not where we wanted to be.

And WIFI. There is only free WIFI in the lobby area. There is free cable internet in the rooms, but who uses that anymore? Time for an update Istra, surely?

All in all this is a nice hotel. It's very clean with friendly staff. And we had a very nice relaxing holiday. But so much more can be done to tip the scale from OKAY to FABULOUS.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear GillRobyn,

Firstly, let us thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay at Island Hotel Istra. We are always happy to hear comments from our guests, both positive and negative, as that is the only way to keep evolving as a property and as a team. Your constructive feedback regarding certain operational procedures is taken very seriously and we will look into possibilities of implementing some of your suggestions that would make dining experience more enjoyable.

Wi Fi is available in lobby area and it does not reach all rooms within the property, we are aware that a better Wi Fi connection is something that the guests would expect and we can assure you that one of our future plans is to improve the wi-fi access environment.

Thank you once again for all the suggestions you have pointed out and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that overall you had a nice and relaxing holiday and do hope you will consider visiting us again; we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel itself is pleasant, but the location is less than ideal. You are at the mercy of hourly ferries that operate only during set hours. This is not the place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful streets of Rovinj. Most guests, including myself, are there for big conferences.

The hotel is dated, with very small rooms. I paid a good bit to be upgraded and it was worth every penny. The spa is excellent, and in summertime I'm sure it would be a much more enjoyable marooning. The terrace is lovely, and the service there is very good. My experience with the reception desk staff was not as gracious. I would explore other options if you plan on seeing Rovinj.

Room Tip: It's worth the money to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear emmypar,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us last year. We understand that business travelers might have different expectations from a hotel like ours as their free time to explore the surrounding area is quite limited and a boat ride might be seen as a constraint. We would like to point out that our boat connection is very frequent and a 15 minute boat ride is something that most of our holiday guests find very charming.
However, should you plan to visit Rovinj again, we would like to invite you to contact our reservations department on info@maistra.hr for other accommodation options in Rovinj. Our hotel company Maistra operates another six properties in Rovinj area and I am pretty sure we could find an accommodation option that would suit you better. We would love to host you in Rovinj again and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

With a fantastic location on St Andrews Island, yet only 15 minutes to Rovinj on the mainland by complimentary ferry.

We arrived in Rovinj by coach and it was then only a short 5-10 minutes walk to Delfin Pier to take the ferry across to the hotel. With the bus stop behind you, turn left and head towards the harbour to the pier. The ferry leaves Rovinj every hour on the half hour. (On the hour from the island back to Rovinj).

Our first impression was that we had made the right choice of location and hotel.

Check-in was quick with helpful information about our stay. Our superior room was on the top floor with a view of the pool and the neighbouring island (a path links the two islands). Whilst not luxurious, the rooms were comfortable and suited our needs. There was a good amount of cupboard space and electrical points. The beds are quite hard but the bedding is good. Ask for extra pillows if needed. The shower was over the bath and positioned in a way which - if not careful - could leave a wet floor after use. There is a wall mounted hair dryer so you may prefer to take your own to use in the bedroom. We found it rather amusing that some facilities were rather high, feeling that a giant must have designed some aspects, however it wasn't a problem. The balcony isn't terribly large but does have a table, 2 chairs and an awning if needed. To be honest we didn't use it much as there are so many other areas to sit.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby/bar area where there is plenty of seating.

The hotel has a lovely pool area with many pools to choose from including an indoor pool and whirlpool which forms part of the Wellness Spa, but free to use. There are plenty of sun beds but not always enough parasols, however staff are normally present if you require help. There is a small cafe for drinks, snacks and ice-cream.

You can also choose to relax on one of the few free sun beds on the stony beach near the pool.

I used The Wellness Spa and found it to be an oasis of tranquility. I booked a massage and a pedicure and was then given free use of the other facilities. I used the sauna, other small pools and almost fell asleep on one of the warm tiled beds before I was called for my treatments. There is also an outside area with the most comfortable sun loungers, some in the sun and others in the shade. I had a wonderful relaxing afternoon and would definitely recommend it.

The buffet breakfast and dinner was taken in the same dining room, however I understand that in busier times, ie July and August, there are other choices. The food was better than we'd expected with many choices. Wine, beer and soft drinks were complimentary.

As well as taking the ferry across to the mainland, you can take a walk around St Andrews Island or the small connecting island, the latter giving you wonderful sunset views if you're in the right place at the right time.

St Andrews Island is also a draw for day trippers coming over and there are separate facilities to cater for their needs, ie sunbeds, children's play area and snack bar. I can imagine it being very busy at peak times.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the whole ambience of the hotel and island and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the top floor which had a pool view. Definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOL150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear HOL150,

Thank you for a great rating of our property and for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us. Positive comments such as yours are a great source of motivation for the whole of our team and we appreciate it very much. Being a hotel with a unique and stress free location, we like to promote our Wellness as a highlight of our offer. We are delighted to read that we have succeeded in providing you with such an enjoyable Spa experience.
We hope that the fact that you liked our hotel and the location so much means that we will be seeing you soon again. We would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited at the beginning of June for 7 nights via Thomson. The Hotel is reached by a fast free (for Hotel guests) boat which goes between Rovinj and St Andrews island where Hotel Istra is located. The boat leaves on the hour from St Andrews and at half past every hour from Rovinj. The service is completely reliable and always on time. Rovinj is just stunning. The town with its church and little cobbled streets is magical to walk around. The cobbled streets are sometimes steep and the stones slippy to walk on as they are so polished from wear. There are lots of samey jewellery shops and little galleries in Rovinj with a lot of the goods out on display down the streets. The owners usually sit outside which I found a little intimidating if you just want to browse and spend time making your choice as they do tend to pounce on you. The church is free to look around and is very pretty with lovely views. If you want to go up to the top of the tower, you pay a small fee. If you are good with heights then it is worth climbing the many, very old wooden open plank steps to the top but it is not for the faint hearted. The views from the top are amazing over all the roof tops in Rovinj and over to all of the islands. There are lots of lovely restaurants and bars in Rovinj and all incredibly good value. As an example we had a lovely large fresh stone baked pizza each and a litre of red wine for £12.00 altogether. As a vegetarian, it was a little more difficult to find many choices but every restaurant has lots of fresh fish and meat selections. The hotel is not pretty at all from the outside but they have tried to make the reception and rooms modern with ikea, minimalist type furniture but unfortunately a lot of this was quite shabby looking and in need of replacement. The rooms are quite small but apart from a few wall and furniture scuffs, was clean and had good facilities. There's the normal fixed hairdryer in the bathroom, a few nice little toiletries which were replaced if used and lovely comfy beds. The wifi is free to use in the reception area but you do not get any in the rooms or by the pool. Rooms have a free to use safe, air conditioning and a mini fridge with beer and water at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was quite poor in our opinion. The food in general is catered for a German market with lots of sausages, cold cheeses, meats and cooked vegetables at breakfast. There was a distinct lack of typically british foods such as baked beans and the only fried eggs were ridulously undercooked but I appreciate everyone's tastes are different and there is bound to be something to suit most people. Staff in the restaurant and bar are friendly and efficient (the only very rude member of staff was a blonde lady with glasses on reception). Dinner was a little better but as a vegetarian I struggled to find a 'main' dish. There wasn't much red meat but usually a fish or chicken dish. There are also three pizzas to choose from every night, one being a vegetarian option. You get to have red or white wine or beer 'free' at dinner which is lovely. They're not the best quality but it's nice to have and there's also good quality juices and water. The restaurant is a little bright and like a canteen but it does the job well. The only thing which I found absolutely awful was plate scraping and stacking stations right next to people eating all around the restaurant. I do appreciate that plates need to be collected and stored but in other hotels, the areas have been away from people eating, maybe behind a screen. I do not want to see other people leftovers being scraped into buckets, hear plates and cutlery constantly being dropped and smell other people leftovers whilst trying to enjoy my food. We booked a trip to Venice via Thomson which meant us leaving on the first boat across to Rovinj at 6am and not getting back until very late so we asked at reception to have a bag of food, we presumed some breakfast and lunch, to take with us. Although we made it very clear that I was a vegetarian and this was noted, we were presented with two salami sandwiches on the day. We had lots of apologies but no sandwich I could eat. The bags consist of sandwiches, some buscuits, fruit and a juice drink. If anyone is thinking of booking the Thomson Venice trip, it is a wonderful day but a lot of the time you are travelling. You go to Venice via a super fast ferry where you sit inside in airplane like seats and then you can choose to pay extra for guided boat trips or gondola trips via the company for when you get to Venice. It all runs very smoothly but you do only get about 4 hours there but wow, is it worth it. The pool area at the Hotel is adequate but very shabby with horrible pink painted walls and strange staggered concrete seating areas. Unfortunately the staff around the pool are more interested in being on their mobiles then helping guests but the pools are clean and large. The island itself and the views are wonderful. There is another uninhibited island attached to St Andrews via a walkway and both islands are covered in beautiful plants, trees, lavender, giant sea gulls and pheasants! Although we did see some people in the sea, the stoned beaches were covered in jellyfish. After dinner you can go for a walk round the islands and go onto the little stoned beaches to watch the beautiful sunsets. You really do feel like they're your own private islands. There is also a small playarea for children, tennis courts and little (slightly shabby) restaurants or bars around the front of the island to use on a lunch time. Unfortunately evening entertainment was non existent, presumably just at the time of year we went. In June we did expect more than just a member of staff in the reception pressing play on a stereo whilst playing on their mobile phones so we went into Rovinj for a drink instead. We would definately return to beautiful Rovinj but would try a different hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Clare P,

Thank you for such an extensive and detailed review of the Island hotel Istra, we do appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback about our services and facilities. Hearing an opinion from a guest's perspective, such as yours, is the best way to understand the areas in need of improvement and from your extensive descriptions we have managed to identify quite a few points that would need immediate corrective actions. That most certainly goes to your comments regarding our inattentive staff around the pool area, and even rude attitude from a receptionist. We would like to think that yours was an isolated case as most of the comments we receive about our staff are wonderful. However, we will make sure additional trainings are being held in order to avoid such unacceptable behavior in future. Your comments about our Restaurant were passed on to our Food and Beverage team and you can rest assured that certain operational procedures will be reviewed in order to make breakfast and dinner experience more enjoyable. Same goes to your comment on poor variety of vegetarian dishes.

Overall, we are pleased to read that you liked the destination so much that you would consider returning. At the same time, we are sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations as a hotel guest. Let us remind you that Island Hotel Istra is being operated by one of the Croatian leading hospitality brand Maistra and that we would love to have you as our guest in one of our sister properties located in Rovinj should your travels bring you back to Croatia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here returning 10th June. Needed to upgrade to a sea view room but once that was sorted we had a thoroughly relaxing stay with more than adequate buffet breakfasts and evening meals . Free wine and beer on tap but , understandably, these cannot be taken out into the other bar areas .

Evening entertainment is low key . The hotel occupies it's own small island linked by a man-made causeway to a similar size island . Probably 1 and a half hours to walk round both after dinner or breakfast . No cars on either but plenty of wildlife . Plenty of quiet coves as well and naturists areas ( if you want) .
Fast hotel ferry leaves on the hour early to late for Rovinge (15 minutes) which is the picturesque medieval town serving the area with numerous bars and restaurants and continuous organised events .

Unusually for us we'd go back and can strongly recommend as a destination with much more to see in the hinterland.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Phil e,

Thank you for choosing to spend two week vacation at hotel Istra and for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that all the hotel facilities and services were up to your expectations and that you have managed to relax in our traffic free oasis. We are particularly proud of the fact that you would consider returning for another stay and are happy to hear that you liked the destination. As you have discovered yourself, Rovinj is one of the most picturesque little Mediterranean towns, and Istria as a region has much to offer. We really hope you will return for another great stay and visit all hidden parts of Istria which are still to be discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
741 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
948 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing