We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice”
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So glad I didn't give up on Thomsons as this hotel shows what they can do when they get it right. The whole experience of an island holiday begins as soon as you board the hotels own ferry, and as the island looms up out of the crystal blue/ green waters you know that you have booked something special.
The food was always varied and well presented,and don't worry about being first there because the standard stays high from 1st in to last out
I would say, don't expect a sea view if you haven't booked one.. The view from the back rooms lets it down slightly although you won't spend to much time in the room anyway. The ferry to Rovinj is free and every hour, plenty to see and do in the old town,also bus services are cheap and easy to use, we went to Pula about £7.00 return but a must do trip.. Tip, go early there is a full days sightseeing there.
Yes I would go back, and yes I would recommend

Room Tip: Book a sea view before travelling
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glenjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear glenjune,

Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor, it gives us an immense joy to read your appraisal and to learn that you have enjoyed our unique island setting and all of the aspects of your stay.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Island Hotel Istra

Warm wishes from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Istra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in Hotel Istra. The weather was perfect, the hotel was set in gorgeous surroundings.

I really recommend the seafood pizza from the pizzeria overlooking the beach or the chicken skewers from the Lavenda grill!! All washed down with a cold local beer/wine.

Everything at the hotel was reasonably priced, and the staff were extremely helpful.

If you want to eat at La Lanterna in the evening make sure you book, otherwise you may be disappointed! Be sure to ask about the local Prosecco and the flambéed beef fillets for 2, it was yummy, and a great start to our holiday.

Rovinj is also beautiful, very rustic with lovely seafood restaurants. Make sure you have a cocktail on the cushions overlooking the rocks. I recommend the Monte Carlo bar for their amazing cubre libre's!

We also visited Venice for the day, but found that the day is mainly spent travelling by boat. It was a good day, but I think longer is needed to appreciate the city. Be warned, if you don't like birds, Venice is certainly not for you! The trip was running on a Monday/Friday. The cost quoted by the hotel doesn't include the tour (we were not aware of this), so if you want to do the tour it'll probably cost another 170 Euro on top of the ferry.

Definitely going back, it's definitely a place to kick back and relax! :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank palm134315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear palm134315,

Thank you for a five star rating and a wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you have spent such a fulfilling holiday with us. Rovinj is a gem indeed, so is St Andrew’s island.
We hope your travels bring you back to us again

Warm wishes from Island Hotel Istra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have recently returned from an amazing holiday at this hotel. I would of given it 5 out of 5, if it hadn't of been for the poor service from one receptionist. When we booked the only room option was a standard room, it was described on the Thomson website as having a sea or garden view. We emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a quiet room, on the top floor with a nice view as it was our anniversary. When we arrived we were happy to have been given a top floor room, however, the view was terrible. Not a garden or a sea view, simply the back of the hotel and half a tennis court. When I went down to reception to discuss this, I was basically told that we had booked a standard room and it was 25 euros extra per night for a sea view. When I pointed out the room description I was rudely told that this was the fault of Thomson and then walked away! The hotel was not that busy so I do not understand why they could not have just moved us, as other people who had booked this room type had pool and sea views. In the end we just left it and decided not to let it spoil our holiday or anniversary.
The room itself is small, but very clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the shower was a tad on the small side but the housekeeping staff kept it clean and constantly changed towels even when we told them they didn't need to. I would recommend using the air con rather then having the doors open, as with it being an island a lot of critters will fly in!
The food was lovely! I was surprised as some half board places can be a bit touch and go. Plenty of choice and the free soft drinks, beer and wine was a massive bonus. I do agree that if you are not going into Rovinj for the day that the lunch choices are limited, but we enjoyed the sandwiches from the pool bar.
The island is beautiful, stunning views, lovely walks and lovely birds and lizards, it was nice sitting in the captains bar, listening to live music and watching the sunset, sipping cocktails. It was also a bonus that the world cup games were being shown in the bar :).
We found the bar and restaurant staff to be very friendly and they even brought us a bottle of complimentary bubbly for our anniversary which was a lovely touch.
The pool area was also great, with plenty of space and no need to get up at 6am for a sunlounger!
The boat trip into Rovinj was a nice experience in itself and Rovinj is a lovely little city, with amazing restaurants, brilliant views and a good little market. The only warning I would give is that the cobbles are very slippy and my partner had to stop me from falling on my bum a few times!
All in all we would definitely return, we already miss the island lifestyle and we had an amazing and relaxing holiday and the weather, apart from one day, was glorious.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet. Not sure what you have to do to get a sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Hayley C,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Istra for such a nice occasion, you couldn’t have found a more romantic location for celebrating your wedding anniversary.
I am sorry to hear that your first day ended up being a disappointment. Usually we keep free upgrades for our most loyal guests, members of MaiCard program, and during high occupancy season we tend to get less flexible. What concerns me is the fact that this was communicated to you in a rude manner, which is not acceptable and I apologize for that.
I am delighted to read that, besides this little episode, the rest of your stay was an amazing and relaxing experience and I really hope you will return again, maybe for your next anniversary. I invite you to contact us for all reservation related queries on info@maistra.hr , we will be glad to assist you with sea view room assignment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a fabulous ten days and wish we were back there, its on a beautiful island setting, lovely walks with plenty of benches to sit and take it all in. Enjoyed all the meals, vast choice for both breakfast & Dinner all nicely prepared and presented. The boat trips to and from Rovinj were an added bonus, loved Rovinj.The only negative was Room 259, very dissapointed with our room, it had the worst view we have ever had in over 45 yrs of hotel stays, we were told "you only booked a standard room", its a four star hotel not a two star.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnL1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear JohnL1949,

We are so pleased to hear that you spent a fabulous 10 days in our hotel, here at St Andrew’s Island. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tripadvisor and for assigning us a five star rating even though you found your room to be disappointing. We are so sorry that we were unable to offer a complimentary upgrade after you shared your disappointment with our Front Office team, due to the high occupancy of the hotel.
Still, we are glad to read that overall you had a great stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice, relaxing and romantic island. Perfect place to have a small and romantic wedding.. Hotel staff very kind and polite. Very nice place with lots of fun activities.. Clean and clear sea! Keep up a good work..!! We will come back for sure!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Jasmina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Jasmina L,

Thank you for a five star rating and for sharing your lovely review of St Andrew’s island and Hotel Istra.
Your words of praise are a great source of motivation for the whole of our team.
We are indeed blessed to be situated on a traffic free island and as you have noticed yourself, at a perfect place for celebrating romance. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

We hope it won’t be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Warm greetings from Island Hotel Istra team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Back just a week and wish we were still there. Had a fabulous week in a beautiful location. On first approach to the island from the ferry the hotel looks very 70's and to be honest I felt a little dissapointed. Our room, 347, although on the top floor as requested, didn't really have a view at all. Having said this within a day both my husband and I had fell in love with the place and despite our pact not to return to the same place twice we both can't wait to return. Our room was well furnished, we found the beds and pillows to be very comfy and commented that it was very quite at night. There was a very handy fridge in the room. Plenty of wardrobe space, although had to ask for more coat hangers, only 6 to share! Housekeeping was excellent, we had clean towels every day. No need to take shampoo, shower gel etc, plenty provided. However, would say take your own hairdryer, I have thick hair and the one provided was hopeless. I agree with other travellers that the dining room is a bit like a canteen, very much decorated in Ikea style, seemed to echo a lot. Shame no outdoor eating area because sure there is plenty of room. Also appreciate it would cost the hotel to open at lunch time as well as evening but think its a pity that some sort of token couldn't be given (booked in advance) for guests to use the pool side snack bar, pizza bar or Lavanda grill at lunchtime so they could visit the wonderful Lanterna Restuarant or one of the many restuarants in Rovinj. This is not because there is anything wrong with the hotel food, far from it, would just give guests other options. There was always plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner and the wine, beer and soft drinks was a added bonus. Plenty of places to enjoy the sun and plenty of sunbeds. The sea was so clear and great for swimming in but also great pools. Walking around the traffic free island was a pleasure as was Maskin island...BLISS. Watching the sunset at the side of the sea, sipping a cocktail and listening to live music was magic. Rovinj is only 15mins at the most on the ferry, which is excellent, always ran exactly on time from 6 am until midnight and was free to those stopping at the hotel. Brilliant service. We went to Sorrento in April but both agreed liked Rovinj even more, so unspoilt with lovely little art shops and great restuarants giving it a great atmosphere. There was a jazz festival two evenings in the square whilst we were there and we were told always something happening. Hired a bike and rode along the spectacular coastline along Punta Corrente Park, would recommend this as a great day out, take your towel as some great places to sunbathe or swim on route, plenty of bars/cafe to stop.
We went on the Best of Istra trip and it was well worth the money. Full day, going to the ampitheatre at Pula, with a great guide, had some free time in the town before heading to the hills to a farmhouse for a very substantial lunch with free flowing local wine. We then headed to a wonderful village full of charm with its cobbled streets and artist shops. Must say we found everything to be great value, maybe because not using the euro yet.
TOP TIPS:
pack beach shoes (rocky), snorkel. If you like a cuppa take a travel kettle and tea bags. Your own hairdryer.
MOST OF ALL... JUST GO...YOU WILL LOVE IT...RELAXING, PEACEFUL AND SO BEAUTIFUL

Room Tip: 347 was quite, never once disturbed but sea view would be much better, we were not in the room much...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bubbaNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear bubbaNotts,

It is so nice to read that you wished you were still at Island Hotel Istra, it really means you enjoyed your stay with us very much. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor community, I am sure your comments will inspire all our future guests to come and visit us in our stunning island setting.
Also, please note that your suggestions regarding our dining options were passed on to our Food and Beverage team for further consideration. We really appreciate all constructive feedback and are always looking for ways to improve.

We hope that despite yours and your partner’s pact not to return to the same place twice, you will keep your promise and visit us soon again for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently had a week in The Hotel Istra on Red Island - just off Rovinj. This was a fabulous week in this stunning hotel. The hotel is a 15 minute boat ride from the town of Rovinj on a small island away from it all. The boat is provided by the hotel and runs every hour so getting into Rovinj is never a problem. The Hotel is modern, clean and spacious - although the standard rooms are a bit on the small side. Not all rooms have sea view -ours didn't so I think you may have to specify this when booking. The restaurant serves buffet breakfast and dinner and the food is excellent with a very varied selection all of a very high quality. The pool area - overlooking the sea is very spacious and getting a sunbed is never a problem, which makes a nice change! All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The terrace is lovely to sit out at in the evening after dinner with a glass of wine overlooking the pool and sea, the view is to die for!! The prices of drinks is comparative to the mainland considering you are a captive audience! The evenings are very quiet, with some laid back entertainment. We went into Rovinj several evenings to have a walk around the beautiful town at night and also to try some of their fabulous restaurants and bars. The town is stunning both day and night was always a pleasure to stroll round the quaint cobbled streets lapping up the relaxing atmosphere and stunning views. The boat service is punctual and reliable so this makes the trip very easy. The local bus service is handy for getting further a field - such as Pula or Porec and cheap and easy to find and use. This was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at - peaceful, relaxing and so beautiful. We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Swaddy60,

The first thing I want to say is WOW! Thank you for such an amazing review of your stay with us. If we would have to define a perfect stay in our hotel and in Rovinj, I don’t think it would sound much different than the description of your stay. We are so happy to read that you liked our little island and that Hotel Istra is one of the nicest hotels you have ever stayed at. We do hope you keep your promise and visit us soon again. We would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
264 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#16 of 23 in Rovinj
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: £62 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing