We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently returned from our third stay at Island Hotel Istra, and as always had a really lovely holiday. The only criticism I can make is that the service in the bars and also the Taverna restaurant was a little slow compared to on our previous visits, other than that absolutely perfect.
If you like a relaxing holiday than this is definitely the place to go.

Room Tip: We always book a sea/pool view, it is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear VeronicaJ4,

It is so rewarding to receive positive feedback from our returning guests. Thank you!
We are delighted to hear that you have chosen Island Hotel Istra for the third time and that you have spent a lovely holiday with us.
Your remarks about slow service in our outlets were passed on to our Food and Beverage team. We will look into ways of improving this service, thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    292
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
262
459
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and two children have just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel. We had a family 'suite' which was basically 2 interconnecting rooms(room nr. 374.1 and 374.2). The view from these rooms was fantastic-partial sea view, and facing the old chapel). Everything was excellent; friendly staff, immaculate rooms and standard of cleanliness, amazing breakfast and dinner buffet with fabulous variety to suit all tastes, all in all a great hotel. The island itself is beautiful and the boat ride to and from Rovinj added to the magic. My only slight gripe would be that sun loungers are only included in the hotel grounds(at the pool, in the garden etc). At the adjoining beach you have to pay 30 kuna for a lounger and 20 for an umbrella per day. Although not expensive, it just seems silly that hotel guests have to pay to be comfortable on the beach. I understand that since people come from Rovinj for the day to bathe here that the sun loungers are charged for, but I think it's a pity that the hotel can't allocate some of the loungers to hotel guests on a first come, first served basis). My advice to future travellers to this hotel would be that if you like to lie comfortably on the beach and are not prepared to pay for sun loungers, invest in a comfortable beach mat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank duntiblaesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear duntiblaesnob,

Thank you for choosing Island Hotel Istra for your recent family holiday and for taking the time to share your lovely review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We have received quite a few comments regarding extra charge for the loungers on the beach and will consider alternative ways to regulate this service in future. As you have explained yourself, being a public beach open to guests arriving from Rovinj, we have decided to keep this service on payment.

We are glad that beside this minor disappointment, everything else was excellent. It will be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to St Andrew’s island should your travels bring you back to Croatia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

So glad I didn't give up on Thomsons as this hotel shows what they can do when they get it right. The whole experience of an island holiday begins as soon as you board the hotels own ferry, and as the island looms up out of the crystal blue/ green waters you know that you have booked something special.
The food was always varied and well presented,and don't worry about being first there because the standard stays high from 1st in to last out
I would say, don't expect a sea view if you haven't booked one.. The view from the back rooms lets it down slightly although you won't spend to much time in the room anyway. The ferry to Rovinj is free and every hour, plenty to see and do in the old town,also bus services are cheap and easy to use, we went to Pula about £7.00 return but a must do trip.. Tip, go early there is a full days sightseeing there.
Yes I would go back, and yes I would recommend

Room Tip: Book a sea view before travelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear glenjune,

Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor, it gives us an immense joy to read your appraisal and to learn that you have enjoyed our unique island setting and all of the aspects of your stay.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Island Hotel Istra

Warm wishes from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in Hotel Istra. The weather was perfect, the hotel was set in gorgeous surroundings.

I really recommend the seafood pizza from the pizzeria overlooking the beach or the chicken skewers from the Lavenda grill!! All washed down with a cold local beer/wine.

Everything at the hotel was reasonably priced, and the staff were extremely helpful.

If you want to eat at La Lanterna in the evening make sure you book, otherwise you may be disappointed! Be sure to ask about the local Prosecco and the flambéed beef fillets for 2, it was yummy, and a great start to our holiday.

Rovinj is also beautiful, very rustic with lovely seafood restaurants. Make sure you have a cocktail on the cushions overlooking the rocks. I recommend the Monte Carlo bar for their amazing cubre libre's!

We also visited Venice for the day, but found that the day is mainly spent travelling by boat. It was a good day, but I think longer is needed to appreciate the city. Be warned, if you don't like birds, Venice is certainly not for you! The trip was running on a Monday/Friday. The cost quoted by the hotel doesn't include the tour (we were not aware of this), so if you want to do the tour it'll probably cost another 170 Euro on top of the ferry.

Definitely going back, it's definitely a place to kick back and relax! :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank palm134315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear palm134315,

Thank you for a five star rating and a wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you have spent such a fulfilling holiday with us. Rovinj is a gem indeed, so is St Andrew’s island.
We hope your travels bring you back to us again

Warm wishes from Island Hotel Istra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have recently returned from an amazing holiday at this hotel. I would of given it 5 out of 5, if it hadn't of been for the poor service from one receptionist. When we booked the only room option was a standard room, it was described on the Thomson website as having a sea or garden view. We emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a quiet room, on the top floor with a nice view as it was our anniversary. When we arrived we were happy to have been given a top floor room, however, the view was terrible. Not a garden or a sea view, simply the back of the hotel and half a tennis court. When I went down to reception to discuss this, I was basically told that we had booked a standard room and it was 25 euros extra per night for a sea view. When I pointed out the room description I was rudely told that this was the fault of Thomson and then walked away! The hotel was not that busy so I do not understand why they could not have just moved us, as other people who had booked this room type had pool and sea views. In the end we just left it and decided not to let it spoil our holiday or anniversary.
The room itself is small, but very clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the shower was a tad on the small side but the housekeeping staff kept it clean and constantly changed towels even when we told them they didn't need to. I would recommend using the air con rather then having the doors open, as with it being an island a lot of critters will fly in!
The food was lovely! I was surprised as some half board places can be a bit touch and go. Plenty of choice and the free soft drinks, beer and wine was a massive bonus. I do agree that if you are not going into Rovinj for the day that the lunch choices are limited, but we enjoyed the sandwiches from the pool bar.
The island is beautiful, stunning views, lovely walks and lovely birds and lizards, it was nice sitting in the captains bar, listening to live music and watching the sunset, sipping cocktails. It was also a bonus that the world cup games were being shown in the bar :).
We found the bar and restaurant staff to be very friendly and they even brought us a bottle of complimentary bubbly for our anniversary which was a lovely touch.
The pool area was also great, with plenty of space and no need to get up at 6am for a sunlounger!
The boat trip into Rovinj was a nice experience in itself and Rovinj is a lovely little city, with amazing restaurants, brilliant views and a good little market. The only warning I would give is that the cobbles are very slippy and my partner had to stop me from falling on my bum a few times!
All in all we would definitely return, we already miss the island lifestyle and we had an amazing and relaxing holiday and the weather, apart from one day, was glorious.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet. Not sure what you have to do to get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hayley C,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Istra for such a nice occasion, you couldn’t have found a more romantic location for celebrating your wedding anniversary.
I am sorry to hear that your first day ended up being a disappointment. Usually we keep free upgrades for our most loyal guests, members of MaiCard program, and during high occupancy season we tend to get less flexible. What concerns me is the fact that this was communicated to you in a rude manner, which is not acceptable and I apologize for that.
I am delighted to read that, besides this little episode, the rest of your stay was an amazing and relaxing experience and I really hope you will return again, maybe for your next anniversary. I invite you to contact us for all reservation related queries on info@maistra.hr , we will be glad to assist you with sea view room assignment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a fabulous ten days and wish we were back there, its on a beautiful island setting, lovely walks with plenty of benches to sit and take it all in. Enjoyed all the meals, vast choice for both breakfast & Dinner all nicely prepared and presented. The boat trips to and from Rovinj were an added bonus, loved Rovinj.The only negative was Room 259, very dissapointed with our room, it had the worst view we have ever had in over 45 yrs of hotel stays, we were told "you only booked a standard room", its a four star hotel not a two star.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnL1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear JohnL1949,

We are so pleased to hear that you spent a fabulous 10 days in our hotel, here at St Andrew’s Island. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tripadvisor and for assigning us a five star rating even though you found your room to be disappointing. We are so sorry that we were unable to offer a complimentary upgrade after you shared your disappointment with our Front Office team, due to the high occupancy of the hotel.
Still, we are glad to read that overall you had a great stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice, relaxing and romantic island. Perfect place to have a small and romantic wedding.. Hotel staff very kind and polite. Very nice place with lots of fun activities.. Clean and clear sea! Keep up a good work..!! We will come back for sure!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jasmina L,

Thank you for a five star rating and for sharing your lovely review of St Andrew’s island and Hotel Istra.
Your words of praise are a great source of motivation for the whole of our team.
We are indeed blessed to be situated on a traffic free island and as you have noticed yourself, at a perfect place for celebrating romance. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

We hope it won’t be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Warm greetings from Island Hotel Istra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Property: Island Hotel Istra
Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, wonderful beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing